We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Aldeia da Mata Pequena
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness center
Hotel Camarao(Ericeira)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Nova Sintra(Sintra)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
89
10
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsaldeia dathe cottagesfreshly baked breadevery morningold villagesmall villagebreakfast itemsliving roomseafoodpreservesspent six dayssurrounding areacomfortpigcenturyattentionana
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 100 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed at Aldeia Mata Pequena for a family reunion - there were nearly 30 of us and all the little cottages provided a perfect setting, as well as plenty of opportunity to have some quiet time for those that needed it! We loved all the little touches in the cottages and the proximity to attractions, especially the beach at Ericeira where the surfing was superb. We opted to eat at the Aldeia every night, a good choice as the food was homely, plentiful, local, fresh and tasty - Cristina and Felipe were very accommodating chefs as well as charming hosts. We also appreciated the fresh, warm bread, left at our door every morning and the wonderful home-made jams - certainly a highlight!

The only thing that could be improved is the housekeeping, which was only one day during our stay, and perhaps offer some sort of laundry facility, especially if travelling with children. Also the provision of beach towels would be a nice touch. This is by no means a complaint, just a suggestion, as overall we all had fantastic fun and hope to return.

We could not recommend it enough for something authentic and cosy.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingLN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We loved this place! Very unique and unlike anywhere we have been before. I joked around referring to the cottage as our own little hobbit hut. You could tell that much attention was paid to the details as they built, remodeled and refurbished these houses to retain much of the region's style.

Our cottage was built primarily out of stone. Had a living room, kitchen, bathroom and upstairs bedroom. The house came stocked with great little breakfast items and the ability to cook at home if needed.

Easily one of the most amazing things we have ever had at a hotel...putting a bread bag outside our door at night for it to be refilled each morning with homemade bread fresh from a wood-fire oven!!

Diego was very helpful in providing information of the surrounding area and some secret spots that we would not have found otherwise!

Stay here if you are looking for something outside of the big city. Quiet. Unique. A great way to see some of the more rural area outside of Lisbon!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
4  Thank blairandlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

It was authentic from the moment of our arrival. We passed the reception house and one of the locals walked us back despite the fact she did not speak a word of english. We then walked into a happy outdoor bar/restaurant to entire village watching the Spain vs Portugal match. They dropped everything to settle us in our beautiful home.

It was huge and every attention had been paid to restoring it to its original country beauty. Latter we found out that Dieogo had collected the antiques in the area and restored the village on the memories of the villagers.

However, it was not the perfect village or house that made me fall in love but Dieog's family and friends. We arrived very tired and hungary-after settling in-they made us the best dinner I have had in Europe--and we have been living in Europe as Americans for more than two years. Best of all, my children played and petted animals while we enjoyed the sunset. Everyone felt at home in the company of our inn keeper.

If that is not enough, it was an easy day trip to Sintra. We enjoyed ridding donkey with the kids on site and petting all of the family animals. It was sunny everyday and we looked over the lovely fields as we enjoyed the local bread and preserves brought to us each morning. This place is so great..I have been using trip advisor for years but this is the first time I have written a review. I love this place that much.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunnydayseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews