We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Rabbit”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sinal Vermelho

Sinal Vermelho
Ranked #292 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good Rabbit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Ate here last night after stumbling across it while looking for Artis Bar, which had been recommended to us. Turned out they are affiliated with Artis. Reason we ate here was the tripadvisor certificate which they had displayed. Service was very attentive and good English. We ate the rabbit and the char grilled chicken. Bread and cheese was good as was the white port, vino and beer. Not super cheap at 115 Euro for 4, but certainly not expensive. A good first night experience in Lisbon.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    309
    91
    52
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Got a tip from a taxi driver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

...and really enjoyed our meals there. Clean restaurant and very tasty dishes. Especially rabbit stew.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank seth0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Food is good, but they are dishonest in pricing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I went there last week and had a great meal, with salad, bottled water, and an espresso. Total was around 14 euros. Went back today, ordered the identical thing, and the bill was 20 euros, showing prices for the salad, water, and coffee at double the correct price.

I called them out on it and they returned - without apology - with a properly priced bill. Dishonest. Ugly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stumbled upon this restaurant while walking through the Bairro Alto, and ordered different kinds of Bacalhau (grilled and cooked). Service was friendly, but neither of us were impressed by our Bacalhau. My wife (who loves the Dutch kabeljauw) never wanted any Bacalhau after the experience. I got much better ones later during our stay in Portugal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excelent and affordable Portuguese cuisine in the center of Bairro Alto”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I am a regular client. Here you can find typical portuguese cuisine, very well cooked and at affordable prices. With the plus of being in the center of Bairro Alto - a neighborhood of amusement and night life in Lisbon.
They also have a good choice of wines, and you can just ask for a glass of wine. But he distinguishing aspect is the portuguese cuisine. Try the "Iscas" (liver) , the "bacalhau" (codfish) or the traditional sardines. Finish with, for example, "farófias" (ccoked egg whites with a sweet cream).
At lunch, you can have a a business lunch. DInner is more full and probably better to make a reservation.
The service is also very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TelmoB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sinal Vermelho also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Sinal Vermelho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing