We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant, interesting food, great atmosphere”

Clube de Jornalistas
Ranked #21 of 4,183 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $40
Cuisines: Brazilian, Contemporary, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We will be open for dinner on Sunday, the 14th of February.
Valencia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, interesting food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Booked this for my wife´s birthday September 13th 2013 during a short city break ib LIsbon. The experience was charming, attentive, and so atmospheric & relaxed. We dined in the garden area, a very romantic setting. I had the steak, whih rates in the top ten steaks I have easten in my life, and that includes travels in Argentina, Brazil & USA. A very thoughful touch the staff brought our dessert with candles in honour of the birthday girl! The wine recommened was well priced at about 20 euros, we hada beautiful ceviche stater, the price is unbeatable for class & value. Look no further, but do book!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter21C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,385
    404
    94
    35
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“In the Summer you can´t miss.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

A very well ballanced restaurant. The food and the service are very good, The atmosphere is fantastic. Either inside, either in the garden, the ambience is fantastic. But the garden it´s a paradise. Plenty of room, you are far from the next table, you can feel you´re the only table in the garden.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is a different restaurant. It operates in a Journalists club , which names the place. It is an old house with references to the profession, such as and old typewriter in the entrance lobby. Tables are in a lovely garden, candle lightened and with a very soft and relaxing music, and very apart from each other, which gives you space and privacy very difficult to find in many places. We were welcomed with a warm reception and two glasses of sparkling wine. The menu comes in an envelope, as if you were receiveng a letter. One of the options was "to Luiza", which is made by the chef to her beloved wife. Service is very polite and warm, I would be lying if I said it was the fastest on Earth, but nothing that could ruin the charming experience. Food was really tasty, specially with amazing Portuguese wines, and the dessert had one tasting menu called Sweet things, a big places with several small desserts, as a surprise. We both loved it, it is a place with atmosphere and charm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dante M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“6 years coming to Lisbon - Nowhere better than here”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

The only thing better than the atmosphere and staff attitude is the food which we have discovered comes from a man with a passion for flavour who is not afraid to try anything. Flavours that don't normally hang out together bond in a unique way to create a taste experience that brings you back if only to see what he's going to try next. His partner fronts the service end and she uses her marketing experience to ensure that the customer is spoilt. There really is a sense of membership of a club with this Restaurant. The interior gives a feeling of warmth as well as being perfect for a business meeting or a romantic evening. At this point we no longer look at the menu we simply say please feed us and they are also kind enough to select the appropriate wine to go with the dish. The only thing that surprised us was how good value it was. In Ireland we would expect to pay at least 50% more for this experience. We have booked to eat here every night of our stay. Enough said

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Loved atmosphere, service, romantic, good food”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

You have to go here. We found it on trip advisor and booked a table. We were greeted with a complimentary glass of prosecco and shown to our table. Tables are spread out well and even though there was a very large group of men it was quiet, and had a great atmosphere. We were in the garden which is very pretty.
Food and wine was great and service excellent. They arranged for a taxi when we were leaving and we alo got a lovely going away gift which was a nice touch.
Well done to the staff and thank you for a lovely night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Whe1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clube de Jornalistas also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Clube de Jornalistas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing