We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“BEAUTIFUL STEAKS!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe de Sao Bento

Cafe de Sao Bento
Reserve with
Cafe de Sao Bento is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #60 of 3,652 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $62
Cuisines: Gastropub, Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Portuguese restaurant specialized in steaks (steakhouse) . Known as the Best Steak in Town ( by Time Out , " vox populi" and other magazines . You can have lunch in working days and dinner everyday until 02 AM.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL STEAKS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

If you are one of those people who try steaks at every restaurant, then you have to go to Café de S. Bento! They are tender, tasty, have a delicious creamy sauce and come with the most adorable french fries! And don't forget their buttered toasts before the meal!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank DRINHAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    540
    201
    55
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Delicious steak and incredible dessert: Tarte Tatin (Hot Apple and caramel pie served with vanilla ice cream). Fantastic Service. Recommend it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank isidroalvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster England
Level Contributor
246 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A very fine meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having read so many reviews about this restaurant, the vast majority being first class, my wife and I booked online for a Saturday night just in case it was busy (it was)

Our taxi driver knew the street but not the restaurant, never mind we had the address to hand (isn't Trip Advisor a wonderful thing).

The restaurant is open from 7.30pm to 3am!! and is easy to recognise by the square flourescent purple light in the window. Remember to ring the bell to the right of the door!

We were greeted by smiling staff, in nice uniform and ushered to a small table near the bar. Not a problem as we felt comfortable from the moment we walked in and it was a friendly , personal atmosphere. The restaurant reminded us both of a gentleman's club, very plush and all male, middle aged waiters.

The menu is tiny, but for good reason, they really specialise in what they do.

Starters are mild, soft goats cheese from the northern mountains or smoked salmon. Warm, delicious, fresh toasted bread and butter is also served. The cheese comes with crackers and tomato jam, the salmon with salad. Both delicious.

They do have a steak sandwich option and another dish that slips the mind.
Mains are steak, 3 choices only. Steak with a cream sauce served with a fried egg, creamed spinach, salad and hand cut fries. The second choice is with a brown onion sauce (excellent). Lastly is simple steak and chips.

Don't be put off by the limited choice. We were very impressed and despite having eaten fillet mignon all over the world this was up there. Ignore the photos on Tripadvisor, the meals look far nicer in real time. The salad with Sun dried tomatoes was lovely.

We enjoyed a top vinyo verde, coffees and a 20 year old lbv port for £125 and it was worth it.

In fact we were so impressed we returned the following night. They had moved us tables and had our places set, they even put a spare table next to us so nobody else would be sat next to us, a really nice touch seeing as the Sunday was as busy as the Saturday. David, our waiter on both evenings was exceptional. Not only did he remember how we liked our steak cooked he also recalled what we had eaten also. He took the time to chat, despite the fact they were busy, the place really benefits from experienced staff, so rare these days.

There is an upstairs too (we did not venture up there) but smoking is permitted downstairs (the extractors are excellent and we could not smell stale smoke when entering).

I highly recommend this restaurant and we will be returning as soon as I can book a flight back to Lisbon.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sunseasandtequilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Easy to get to but outside decor is like a hole in the wall. Need to ring the bell. Average decor inside with 2nd floor reserved for non-smokers. Seat about 20 on each floor. Steaks are spectacular, ordered the Sao Bento special steak which sits in a special sauce. Prices are reaonable

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MeatnPotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

The steak is Very Good, one of the best places to find it in Lisbon. It has a limitation: the menu! If you are going with someone that doesn't eat meat, they are going to leave hungry.

Helpful?
1 Thank Raúl G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe de Sao Bento also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cafe de Sao Bento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing