We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Lived up to the hype!!”
Review of Pasteis de Belem

Pasteis de Belem
Ranked #2 of 31 Bakeries in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Belem
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Amazing! Lived up to the hype!!”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

After seeing the reviews and hearing friends recommend this place, we made sure to stop by on our trip to Lisbon. I was wondering if it was just another hyped up place, but it was sooooo worth it!! It exceeded my expectations.

There was a long line out the door, but it was for takeout. If you want to sit down, just go inside and find a table (among other people looking for tables). We sat down and ordered two cappuccios (which weirdly were topped with whipped cream) and an order of pasteis (one order is 4 pieces).

I thought 4 may be too much because we had a giant lunch next door at Os Jeronimos (delicious!). But we ate them up quickly! The pasteis were so delicate and light custardy, melt-in your mouth heaven. The crust is thin, crispy, and layered. There is a crunch when you bite through and I like that the crust has a very subtle saltiness that compliments the delicate custard inside.

My boyfriend doesn't like eggs or eggy things too much, but he LOVED them. We ended up going back after dinner and then got some to take home too. AMAZING!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelBuggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18,969
    7,214
    2,155
    472
    222
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The home of the Pasteis de Belem or Pasteis da Nata everywhere else”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This is where the pasteis de belem or da nata as they are know everywhere else was invented according to all the guide books, so it is a must for all tourists. don't be put off by the long queue outside, that is for the take away counter. There is table service inside and it is very deceptive as the dinning area is huge and goes back for several rooms, so go in through the table service door and find a table. The staff are not overly friendly but are efficient and extremely busy, so that's probably why. They know that most of us are here to try one thing and very kindly point you in the right direction if you appear to be ordering the wrong cake!!! We only had a pasteis and a coke so can't comment on the taste of the rest of the menu but the food that went by us looked mouthwatering.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I'm not a big fan of pastry but this one.. mmm”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Looking at the line of people to get to this place it wasn't very inviting but we decide it must be worth the wait and boy we were happy with our decision. The best in Lisbon by far

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Valur Heiðar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The must do!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

It was recommended in our travel guide and once we have arrived in Belem we walked by straight away. Lots of tourists were waiting so we avoided the place for a couple of hours and came back for lunch. It was amazing! One of the best tomato mozzarella sandwiches I have ever eaten and the tart was to die for! On top great service and fair prices! Don't miss it when in Lisbon!!!

Helpful?
Thank dhtt29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Totally lives up to the hype”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

With all the rumours of long lines and considering how obviously popular this place is, I thought for sure this wouldn't live up to expectations. Like Pancakes on the Rocks in Sydney. but boy was I wrong. The lines can be long but they are fast, with the counter service being very frenzied and erratic but it's all worth it for that little pastry cup. It is absolutely mouthwatering. Impeccable. I went there twice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarKnightofCydonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasteis de Belem also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Pasteis de Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing