We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place!”
Review of Pasteis de Belem

Pasteis de Belem
Ranked #2 of 31 Bakeries in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Belem
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place!”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A must for Lisbon! Do not miss the opportunity to go to this confeitaira which sells homemade pasteis de nata. They are supposed to be the best in Lisbon, they are very tasty (but not too sweet) and they literally melt in your mouth. Me and my girlfriend also had an espresso (bica) and a hot chocolate... both very good (we are Italians)! The prices are very good, a coffee is 0.75€, one pasteis 1.05€. The service excellent, the local is huge and really characteristic with some nice azulejos on the walls. It was nice to see also many locals going there for a coffee with family or friends!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ottoale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28,292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18,510
    7,021
    2,091
    454
    216
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best pastel de nata I ever tried”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

During my stay in Lisbon I tried pasteis de nata from different places but none tasted as good as the ones from Antiga confeitaria...
The tarts were warm and delicious and just like a tart heaven on earth. I wish they had a branch in London!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, Bucks
Level Contributor
102 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“WARNING: Do not eat all day stay hungry.”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Yes you have been warned.
Excellent place. Do not eat and save up for when you get here.

Of all the least expected places where I thought a Samosa, yes a samosa in Portugal would be one of the best eaten; is here. I must be mad :-)

The pastry was superb.

The service lacked just a bit from the waiters, they had their tables and stuck to them even though we needed a drink ! Come on guys improve it.

We preferred to eat inside.

Ps. they do have long queues for takeaway.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sidj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must stop!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Delicious! The queue speaks for itself. Served warm, so eat them right away! You can order your pasteis at the counters in the front and then walk in the back (there is so much space!) and even see the kitchen where they are churning out the tarts. Very cool.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnTheRoad4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
“Walk past the front lineups!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Ok, so this place is supposed to be the place to get a pastry and coffee according to Rick Steve's guide and others. The pastries and coffee is good but a bit over hyped.

There was a throng of tourists mobbed at the front so we wandered inside to see how busy it was and to find a table. Turns out back rooms have waiters that will cut the wait time to way less than half!

Just be careful to get a printed bill and check that only the things you ordered are on it! I went to the bathroom and the waiter showed my wife a total amount to pay. She got confused, but asked for our bill for me to pay when I returned. The printed one was less than what the waiter had asked for!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MandM2013_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasteis de Belem also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Pasteis de Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing