We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
Review of Pasteis de Belem

Pasteis de Belem
Ranked #2 of 33 Bakeries in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Belem
Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is simply one of the best places to go in Portugal.
There are lots of shops selling "Pasteis de Nata" but this is the best and probably the oldest.
I have to say nonetheless that the service has some room for improvement.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27,697 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18,116
    6,879
    2,049
    442
    211
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best place in the world to get the Pasteis de Belem”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Pasteis de nata which originated in this cafe in Belem are ubiquitous, but there is no comparison to the original. Take the time to stand in the inevitable long line and try them there. You´ll never regret it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Must eat!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

One of the best cuppycakes of the world - pasteis de nata! Totally worth spending 5 minutes in queue. Very fresh and delicious cinnamon flavored.

Negatives: restaurant inside is not clean and very crowded. They do not show names or prices in the show - window.

Even though, we went by luck and showed the cashier what we wanted. Everything was delicious and fresh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brightie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
281 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
“Divine”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Well worth the queue. The nicest 'custard tarts' we had in all the holiday. It was bliss sitting in the sunshine eating the still warm delights. We couldnt get a seat inside unfortunately. They have 2 queues - one to pre pay and the other to collect your order. It is done badly as - once I paid I spotted so many more items I would have liked to try - but I couldn't.

We loved them so much we drove by on our way to the airport on the way home and bought 30 of them. We prayed 'Security' at the airport wouldnt have a hankering for them!!!!! We got through with them no problem. Absolutely delis!!!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The one and only Pastéïs de Nata”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Probably the best place around for the traditional Portuguese pastéïs de nata. You can buy them everywhere in Portugal, but here you can eat them where they are made. Do'nt be fooled by the long queue outside opf people wanting to buy something in the store. Walk right past them to the back of the store, where there are plenty of tables, and sit down for a bica and a pastel. The waiter will be happy to help you get some as a take away too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GerardNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasteis de Belem also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Pasteis de Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing