We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do as we did”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pasteis de Belem

Pasteis de Belem
Ranked #2 of 31 Bakeries in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Buffet, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Belem
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Do as we did”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We took Tram 15 into Belem around 10:30am. The pastry shop is on the RHS, between stop Belem and the stop Monasteries de Jeronimos. As we trundled past the shop, we noticed that there was no queue, so when we hopped off the tram, we immediately headed back to the shop.

It was very empty. Heaps and heaps of spare tables. We loitered around looking at the place for about 20 minutes. By then the tour groups/ people from the tram had arrived and the tables were quickly filled. We queued to buy our tarts to eat at the counter - the line is not slow, but it doesn't move all that fast either. We generally have coffee/snacks at the counter so that we can watch the staff prepping the orders/ people watch.

We tried the egg tarts in a few places in Lisbon, and this has to be the nicest. However, it was different from the portugese egg tarts we've grown up eating in Malaysia/Singapore/Australia as the pastry used in Lisbon is more akin to phyllo than puff pastry. That said, I think the chinese egg tarts you get at yum cha places beats portugese egg tarts!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ybibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27,123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17,724
    6,751
    2,006
    435
    207
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“I still dream of these pastries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fresh from the oven, the warm custard tarts are not to be missed!! I was tempted to return at night, because one is just not enough. Have one before visiting the nearby attractions, and have another on your way back. The tram stop is just across the street.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Overrated!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I am Portuguese, and a great fan of pasteis de nata, the pastry for which this house is famous: it invented them in the 18th or 19th century. What I have to say is this: there are, by far, better pasteis de nata elsewhere. My favourites are in Pastelaria Cristal, Rua Buenos Aires, but there are dozens of better places. Having said that, I do have fond memories of coming here for coffee and warm pasteis... But those memories are long, long gone! The place has become such a tourist destination that there are huge queues year-round, both for finding a seat or simply for buying take-away pasteis. It is always packed, and the lovely old dungeon-like rooms no longer afford you a quiet, pleasant coffee and pastry: it is hectic, loud and with people on the look-out for the second your table available...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“When in Belém, you must try these”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Don't be daunted by the line, it moves very quickly. The pastéis were freshly baked, still warm and good but nothing to write home about. One of those "must do" things to do in Belém.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tesoroSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A sweet must!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This sweet experience is a must in Lisbon. We didn t really try other Pastei, but these definitely worth their experience. This place is usually crowded (not so much space to relax on a table), so we just took some take away Pasteis and some baked salty snacks, which were very tasty as well. The creamy Pasteis are very tasty when eaten warm with sugar and cinnamon. And their price is definitely reasonable. For 12 Pasteis, 2 quiche and a piece of pizza we paid around 18 euros. In addition, it is definitely a beautiful neighborhood to visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PizzaWithFeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasteis de Belem also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Pasteis de Belem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing