We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine place, nothing special”

Santo Antonio de Alfama
Reserve with
Santo Antonio de Alfama is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #672 of 4,049 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
k.s.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fine place, nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

The location is convenient. The place was packed, the service was rushed. The food was decent - can't complain, but it also wasn't anything wonderful. Fine place to go if you are in Alfama, but if you want a special dining experience, I would go somewhere else.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slowmosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    209
    115
    37
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice terrace and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you eat he, try to get a table outside. Our experience was nice. The food (sea bass and mushroom pasta) was great and the service good. All in all a very pleasant evening. I would recommend to make a reservation in advance, because the restaurant was packed even on a monday night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rosmo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service, overpriced cold food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We went for dinner at 19.30 on Thursday 18th July and sat outside. Got the usual bits that we didn't order and sent them back. Starters arrived after about 10 mins and were ok, but rather expensive. We had to wait another 45 mins for the main courses during which time other people had arrived and finished theirs. When ours came they were cold. Again the quality of the food was barely acceptable. We had considerably better food at less than half the price at several other restaurants. Our waiter still had 't woken properly from his siesta. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank oceanwide_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We went to this restaurant for dinner during our visit to Lisbon. Although it was the time of the San Antonio festival and all the restaurants were packed, the staff was nice and the food was great. They also have a few vegetarian items on their menu. The eggplant and the mushrooms that we tried were good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ritu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Average at best...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had "dinner" at this rest tonight. I generally try not to eat in tourist filled areas but I thought I would try this place due to the reviews. We arrived at 9:30 and were seated promptly. The patio was fairly full. We ordered apps to stat as a tester...glad I waited as I did not bother to order the main course. We had the prawns 6 for 15 euros. They were beyond over cooked and salted. Tasted like rubber with salt on top. We also ordered the mushrooms with brie cheese for 8-9 euros. The shrooms were watery and there really wasn't anything special about this dish. Any amateur can make it at home. Lastly we had the goat cheese salad raspberry jam which is actually 3 pieces of bread with too much cheese and smuckers style jam on top with a few pieces of lettuce in the middle. Also the damn area is crawling with vendors that walk up to the table to sell you crap....of course the servers do nothing nor say anything to them. We had at least 6-7 approach us. Needless to say we thanked the server for the terrible food and ran away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank d g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santo Antonio de Alfama also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Santo Antonio de Alfama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing