We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok meal but expensive way beyond value.”
Review of Alfaia

Alfaia
Ranked #3,363 of 4,229 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Copenhagen
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Ok meal but expensive way beyond value.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Dinner starts with usual scamlike serving of bread, olives, dry ham ( should not have BEEN dry ! ), couple of cheeses etc with "pay as you eat" condition - this runs up to over 25 euros alone for 4 adults. Main courses was ok - black rice pork quite nice - chicken with rice was dry - steak was nothing special. But total over 100 euros for 4 people simple lunch is way over the value of the place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClausJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    206
    148
    98
    147
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avoid at all costs”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is one of the worst that i have ever had the unfortunate experience of having had a meal at. Do not eat here under any circunstances, i am portuguese and had the worst suckling pig ever here, just bits of fat, badly prepared for 12?. We went in there for a late lunch because everything else was closed and we were starving and all the food we ordered was horrible. For less money and much better quality there are dozens of better places withon 50 meters of it. Avoid at all costs.

Helpful?
Thank Joaodsantos
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Monroe, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If you are in the neighborhood ...”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

... better restaurants are closed, and you are hungry ... very hungry ... good place to stop for lunch. Huge portions of traditional dishes, nothing extraordinary, but competently prepared. Not bad at all, but not a venue i would go out of my way to visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RSD2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A serious contender for a serious meal.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

During the last 10 days we have been here twice. The first time somewhat confused after a long flight, the last as our final meal in Lisbon. This is a traditional and thoroughly professional place. The service is on a high level and so is the food and the wine list must be one of the fullest in town. On both occasions we had among other dishes suckling pig, leitão, which was delicious and full of delicate teste. We were very glad, and still are, that we rounded off our trip with dinner at the Alfaia. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thauken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Service and food really good... typical food, outdoor siting, good wine as well. Right in the center of night live lisbon

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anacpires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfaia also viewed

 

Been to Alfaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing