We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food and beer in a wonderful room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cervejaria Trindade

Cervejaria Trindade
Ranked #630 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $0 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Chiado & Carmo
Description: The Trindade Beer Hall, the oldest and most beautiful beer hall in Portugal, was created in 1836, in the space which had, since the 13th century been occupied the Santissima Trindade Convent. In what used to be the monk's refectory, amongst the 19th century painted tile panels, the exceptionally good beer, and the best dishes of traditional Portuguese Cuisine and the freshest of seafood, you will discover why our costumers feel so well looked after at Trindade.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food and beer in a wonderful room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

The main dining room is lined with historic tiles from the convent which were the origins of the Cervejaria. The octopus salad was wonderful; the crab pate a bit watery. We shared a salad and some bread, cheese and olives all washed down with some refreshing beer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank richardmbsw19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    602
    1,071
    629
    323
    202
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reisterstown, MD
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and decor.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We wandered in here for a late lunch and ordered from the fixed price menu. I had the roast duck with rice dish and my daughter had a pork with sauce and fries dish. The food was delicious. We had flan for dessert and it was wonderful. This restaurant is in a building that once housed a convent - it is a structure that survived the 1755 earthquake. Good meal and reasonable if you order of the fixed price menu; otherwise, it can get a little pricey.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelhappylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Level Contributor
193 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great beer, great tiles--not so great food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

This place is famous for it's tile artwork and it was very interesting to see. We went there one afternoon to have a beer (excellent) and to see the tiles. We were impressed with both. So we went back in the evening for dinner. The beer was still good, and the tiles were still pretty, but the food was just average (and maybe a little less than average). Sagres beer in Portugal is equal to the best I have ever had. And the beer is relatively cheap. You pay about the same for beer as for soda. So enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gsm1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
149 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant was recommended by a colleague and so I looked forward to trying it out.

It is very large inside and quite noisy, which gives the place a good atmosphere.

The food was overall ok, with modest portions and fairly high prices by Lisbon standards. You can get much more for your money elsewhere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not bad, but very touristy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

This place is enormous and accommodates a ton of people. The food was fine - comfort food, good beer - but if you're looking for a small, authentic experience, this is definitely not the place for you!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MollydeA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cervejaria Trindade also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cervejaria Trindade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing