We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little spot for locals”
Review of Ze Varunca

Ze Varunca
Ranked #2,540 of 4,183 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $15 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely little spot for locals”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I read about Ze Varunca in Travel & Leisure and it sounded wonderful - not touristy, very authentic, simple, yet excellent food. It was all that and more. So charming, with Portuguese ceramics adorning the tables. Our only mistake is that we went at 8:30pm (on a Monday), and it doesn't fill up until after 9pm. But we didn't mind being the first ones there - there are only 10 tables, so we were assured of a reservation.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GMM0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    57
    26
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
watsonville, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just right if you want to feel like a local -- and eat like one!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a small not very expensive restaurant with an Alentajo menu. The staff speaks some English but basically this place is not for tourists. To the reviewer who felt the staff was rude, they had tables they were reserving for neighborhood folks and didn't want to give them to you -- you might not like that but the neighborhood folks come back and you are just passing through. I had a reservation and although I was on my own and occupying a table that couldn't had two, they honored the reservation and were perfectly polite to me.

The service was slow; I think they were cooking each dish individually. I was happy sipping my wine and eating my yummy appetizers and watching the families at the other tables. A mellow evening with good food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best meal of my stay”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Got a recommendation from a local friend and was more than satisfied. Went back in 2012 so I can't remember exactly what sort of grilled meat I got but it was succulent and memorably flavored. The server was a very sweet young woman who spoke enough English to figure out what we needed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nycron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great little place”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is my 2nd time here as a tourist to Lisbon. This time for lunch and the food is very good albeit a bit expensive for a simple lunch. The portion size I noticed is smaller than when I went for dinner but I guess that's expected. Family run restaurant which is always a plus!

Anything is better than the tourist themed restaurants not far from this place.

Book in advance if you can as it's really small.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LondonMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“rude”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Small place, maybe 10 tables, so we knew that we might not be able to get a table. A couple of tables with people, a couple of tables with 'reserved' signs, so I ask the server/host for a table for 4, and she spits out "NO" accompanied by a cutting motion with her hands.

Thanks for the heads up on how you treat customers. We were happy to walk out, and have a lovely evening at the nearby Quebra Mar restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lomimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ze Varunca also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Ze Varunca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing