We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for 'People Watching'”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bica do Sapato

Bica do Sapato
Ranked #273 of 4,049 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Graca & Sao Vicente
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good for 'People Watching'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

I ate here with my Mum back in April on her recommendation. She had been previously with my sister and mentioned how trendy it was with a good atmosphere. I have to say that I am surprised by the average reviews that I have read here. The restaurant was buzzy with a good vibe and a great mix of different people. I didn't notice anything negative with regards to the service and although perhaps a little pricey, I thought the food was great. I would eat here again if back in Lisbon and would recommend to others visiting. Slightly hard to find - we jumped in a cab.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    288
    123
    57
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good concept poorly managed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

There was a time that this restaurant was trendy and with a very good service. Now it´s still trendy but very expensive for the service and the food that provides to it's clients.
The food is at the level of any mid price restaurant. For half the price you can eat a great meal in Lisbon's hundreds of small restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 189158Frederico_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really good and pretty place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

A bit hard to find but located right on the river with a great outside patio. Excellent meal with local dishes and wine. Upscale clientele and very nice inside accomodations is weather not suitable for outside dining.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebrampro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Classic Lisbon Mediterranean Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Bica do Sapato is one of those restaurants you would be happy to schedule going every friday or every thursday night! The the menu is great, some dishes better than others. I personally like to ask for a very diversified meal. You will find typical portuguese food, which is great. The sushi is also quite good, and the many dishes they serve are, usually, very tasty. But, there are days and days, and it's not always the best when the restaurant is extremely full! Still, I recommend highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoaoMBPinheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good Sushi, trendy, almost pedentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

The food is good, to very good, the Sunday brunch is excellent value, and the Sushi probably the best in Lisbon.. Service has always been very friendly with us locals, but I have seen the staff treating tourists with disdains... this place is to see and be seen... so much display of snobbery is rather entertaining. Deco is minimalist chic.. very good taste. Fantastic view on the river... definitely a must try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stef1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bica do Sapato also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bica do Sapato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing