We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good concept poorly managed”
Review of Bica do Sapato

Bica do Sapato
Ranked #296 of 4,112 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Graca & Sao Vicente
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good concept poorly managed”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

There was a time that this restaurant was trendy and with a very good service. Now it´s still trendy but very expensive for the service and the food that provides to it's clients.
The food is at the level of any mid price restaurant. For half the price you can eat a great meal in Lisbon's hundreds of small restaurants.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 189158Frederico_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    295
    125
    59
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Really good and pretty place”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A bit hard to find but located right on the river with a great outside patio. Excellent meal with local dishes and wine. Upscale clientele and very nice inside accomodations is weather not suitable for outside dining.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ebrampro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Classic Lisbon Mediterranean Restaurant”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Bica do Sapato is one of those restaurants you would be happy to schedule going every friday or every thursday night! The the menu is great, some dishes better than others. I personally like to ask for a very diversified meal. You will find typical portuguese food, which is great. The sushi is also quite good, and the many dishes they serve are, usually, very tasty. But, there are days and days, and it's not always the best when the restaurant is extremely full! Still, I recommend highly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoaoMBPinheiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very good Sushi, trendy, almost pedentic”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The food is good, to very good, the Sunday brunch is excellent value, and the Sushi probably the best in Lisbon.. Service has always been very friendly with us locals, but I have seen the staff treating tourists with disdains... this place is to see and be seen... so much display of snobbery is rather entertaining. Deco is minimalist chic.. very good taste. Fantastic view on the river... definitely a must try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stef1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sushi, Sunset and a Boat Race”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stopped in this trendy looking warehouse conversion quite early, around 7pm, after a lazy day relaxing on the beach after a week of walking Lisbon's many hilly streets. We were definitely not dressed for it, but the staff showed us to a great table right on the water front and were happy to help with suggestions, even bringing out the sushi chef to help as I am by no means an expert.
The food was excellent, though my girlfriend did look enviously at my frankly fantastic fried sushi roll as she chose a heavy rabbit pie, which while tasty, was a bit too much to eat on such a hot day. For me it was one of the best meals I've ever eaten.
The sun went down as we were eating, but this happens behind the restaurant, so no idillic views of the sunset. However, there was a big masted ship boat race coming in right next door as we were eating, which made the already great view of the Tejo even better.
We both ended up having a 3 course meal, with a glass of win each for under €30 each, which for the quality of food, setting and atmosphere we thought was pretty good. Have the sushi.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank pughsli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bica do Sapato also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bica do Sapato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing