We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Lisbon Destination Tours
from $39.46
More Info
from $39.46
More Info
Pub Crawl
3 Reviews
from $18.04
More Info
Street Art Tour
6 Reviews
from $28.18
More Info
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
72
16
1
0
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
72
16
1
0
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunset destination hostel walking tour historical sights cabo da roca flea market alfama neighborhood fun guide fado music small group great tour beautiful city ze art culture manuel coastline knowledge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 93 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2019 via mobile

I can’t say enough good things about these tours! We were fortunate to stay at the Lisbon Destination Hostel a second time and this time we took the opportunity to join in the tour offerings(which are also available if you are not staying there). Zé was our guide for all
three and you won’t find a friendlier or more knowledgeable guide! I will also add that we traveled with our two teenaged children (age 14&17) who also thoroughly enjoyed each tour.
1. Our first was the Belém tour which was free/tip based. Our family had visited the area previously but this visit Zé gave us wonderful information about the history that we didn’t know as we traveled between each place. We had a small group that took the train together(Zé helped everyone purchase a €5 public transport card which got us to and from Belém and had enough for an additional ride which came in handy later in our trip)from the Sunset Destination Hostel to Belém and we visited the famous Belém pastry shop and walked to Jerónimos Monastery, Belém Tower, and the Monument to the Discoveries. After the tour was completed he left us at the Discoveries monument with lunch recommendations and directions on how to return so we could continue to explore the area.
2. Alfama/Old Town- We we’re delighted to find that Zé was our tour guide again. We had another nice small group for this free/tip based tour leaving from our Lisbon Destination Hostel. We had also previously tried visiting the Alfama area but always seemed to get lost on our own. Going with this tour was great, he led us through these neighborhoods adding historical information and showing us an elevator to skip a couple hills. This tour is A LOT of walking and ALL hills, make sure you choose your footwear well. It is a beautiful area that seems frozen in time. Zé took us to beautiful viewpoints and we made a brief cafe stop for a treat. On days that the flea market is open it is a part of the tour as well, but it wasn’t open on our day. The tour ended at the top with recommendations of lunch spots and other viewpoints to check out.
3. Fado walking tour €29 per person. This was another tour with Zé as our guide. We met at the Lisbon Destination Hostel Bar where we had a glass of sangria before starting the tour. The cost of the tour included our guide, our meal(including our drinks), and a nice walk(hills) through the Alfama neighborhood to the restaurant. Although we had previously traveled through this area on our earlier tour, Zé shared more information as we walked, this time focused on Fado history. Our destination was a simple, but nice restaurant and our group had the upstairs to ourselves. We were treated to a delicious typical Portuguese meal(our family had chicken, pork, and codfish-everyone was happy) and we enjoyed beautiful Fado music. The performers came through our area 4 times and performed 3-5 songs each visit. We had a male performer who had a wonderful voice and Tina Santos. After we were done, Zé led us back to the hostel. For an authentic Portuguese meal that included starters of cheese, bread, presunto, a pitcher of sangria, my pork dinner, amazing Fado music and a guide, it was €29 well spent.
We were very sad to leave Lisbon. I will be planning our next vacation soon!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank sumcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationHostels, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Lisbon Destination Tours, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2019

Wow! We couldn't be happier with your review! What a lovely experience you had in Lisbon -and we're glad to be a big part of this (specially Zé!). You and your family are always welcome here, and you still have a lot to explore! Sintra, Fátima, secret beaches, street art, exotic portuguese cousine... we can't wait to know what tours you'll be choosing for your next visit :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2019

Lisbon Destination Tours provides you with a full day of site-seeing in Lisbon, as well as lunch!

The tour started off a little bit late, but we were soon on our way to Sintra. There was only 5 of us in the group so it was fairly intimate. Our tour guide was outgoing and did well making everyone feel comfortable. He was more than happy to answer any questions!

Sintra and Cabo da Roca are beautiful so well worth viewing. This is an affordable way to view all - Sintra gets very, very busy so trains/buses experience lots of queues. At least this way, you get private transfers between all.

Good walking shoes are recommended and a jacket as it can get quite chilly in the wind.

My advice for LDH would be to just include the 'regional products' in the tour price/maybe charge a couple of euros more. It seemed awkward forking our a few euros for a coffee and a pastry, when perhaps not everyone knew about it.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank FionaWhtlw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationHostels, Manager at Lisbon Destination Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2019

We are really happy that we help you getting the best from Lisbon during your short stay! This is what give us energy to keep our work, thank you.
You are now part of the Destination Family!
Thank you for the recommendation. We like to leave the option of tasting the regional products for each person to decide according to his diet restrictions.
Thank you again and see you in a next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

There are some times when the hostel you stay in is so good with the great vibes, that going out for dinner is not as good as staying in the sun on the roof, eating a great bbq. Great bean salad, tasty meat and lots more, not to mention the sangri which is included for the 9 euro.

It was good and the I promptu salsa dancing by friends made the perfect evening.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank soundchaseruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

I showed up for the “free” 10:30 a.m. walking tour. I was early, so had a cappuccino while I waited. I told two hostel employees I was there for the walking tour, and they said, wait right here & the guide will make an announcement when he gets here.

By 10:35 a.m., still no guide, so I asked a 3rd employee who said, oh, he called in sick, so there won’t be any tour. So, why didn’t someone tell me or make a general announcement? Sounds like a lack of coordination & communication. Very flaky & amateurish.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Jeanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DestinationHostels, Manager at Lisbon Destination Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019


Hello,
We are very concerned about your comments, as we care very much about feedback.
The free walking tour does not required any payment for joining in. As a courtesy we have allowed you to wait in the in the lobby bar, so that you could be comfortably waiting drinking a cappuccino, and not in the street.
Although there was an unpredictable situation it took 5 minutes to inform you about the situation which we believe is a reasonable time, and an alternative walking tour was recommended so you could do the tour that morning.
We do everything in our power to make sure our clients are satisfied.
Kind regards
Lisbon Destination Tours


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019 via mobile

Had an amazing day with guide Joao! He knows a lot about the history, is friendly and flexible (we wanted to see the Pena palace. Although it was not included in the tour, Joao took us there). The tour is with a small group (max 8 people) all day. Definately book it with destination tours!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank ellenklh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours D, Gestor at Lisbon Destination Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

We are really happy that we help you getting the best from Lisbon during your short stay! This is what give us energy to keep our work, thank you.
You are now part of the Destination Family!
See you in a next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2019 via mobile

I had not originally planned to take this tour, but I am so glad I did. It took us off the beaten track to what can are 2 fantastic community art installations.

Manuel was the guide for the tour; he was well researched and very friendly.

There is a lot of walking and bus time, so I wouldn’t recommend going with small children or anyone who is frail.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank DerekD_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours D, Gestor at Lisbon Destination Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2019

We are really happy that we help you getting the best from Lisbon during your short stay! This is what give us energy to keep our work, thank you.
You are now part of the Destination Family!
See you in a next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews