We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
795
26
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
795
26
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a small swimming pool perfect location bed and breakfast top floor perfect stay bairro alto every morning restaurants and bars exploring lisbon breakfast is served sara hosts rui porto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 824 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2019

We stayed at Casa do Barao for a week in late March in the third floor suite. We were upgraded to the suite and it was lovely. The suite is spacious with a sitting room off the bedroom and a second sitting room off the terrace. A carafe of port was provided and refilled daily. The terrace had a spectacular view of the river and it was very pleasant to sit out there with coffee (also provided). We cant say enough about the staff. Sarah and her colleagues were always helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.
Overall, we would highly recommend them!

Minor problem is that Uber sometimes has difficulty getting to the hotel because of traffic and construction. Not their fault!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indianapolis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2019

Dear indianapolis1,
thank you so much for your time in writing such a kind review.
We are really pleased to read that you had a beautiful stay here at Casa do Barão and that you have appreciated the comfort of your room and the service of our staff.

We send you our Best Regards and look forward to see you again-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

You had the great pleasure of staying here for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our hosts Sara and Roberto couldn’t have been nicer. The common roooms were so cozy and had sweets plus a carafe of port and moscato! What a lovely touch. Our room which was upgraded to a suite also had port. Awesome.
Needless to say everything was wonderful. Spacious room, lovely garden, and while there were stairs, and lots of them it got us in shape for the hilly terrain. Sara whisked our suitcases up the. 3 flights without us even realizing it while we sipped some of the aforementioned port.

Room tip: No problem with noise if you close the windows. No elevator so if that is an issue specify a lower level room.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler612653
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Dear Traveler612653,

first, we would like to thank you for choosing Casa do Barão and for sharing this beautiful review here on Tripadvisor.com.
We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay here and that you have appreciated so much the service of our Team, the central location of the house and its charm.
We look forward to see you again and, until then, we send you our kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2019 via mobile

Very nice small hotel in Barrio Alto.
Friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast with homemade cakes and pies. Great room/suite on the 3rd floor with several small rooms and a great terrace overlooking the river.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank rllbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Dear rllbol,

we are delighted to read that you have deeply enjoyed the time spent here, especially our staff, the homemade breakfast and the comfort of your room.
We have been glad to share our House with you and we look forward to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019 via mobile

Not only the location itself but also the team of three lovely cousins and their colleagues there is a very special experience. But not enough with that: it’s in the best area of Lisbon where you can reach everything with a beautiful walk. Another plus for design lovers: the hotel is designed with a beautiful and consistent mix of traditional antique and new modern interior.
We definitely want to come back to Casa do Barao!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank nuviama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2019

Dear nuviama,

we are really delighted to read your wonderful review and to know that our Casa do Barão is one of the best places where you have stayed in.
We are glad to know that you appreciated our Team, the central location of the house and its design.
We look forward to have you here again and we send you our kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

Beautiful Historic BnB. Extremely helpful and attentive owners. Clean. Great breakfast, always sweets in evening. Coffee & drinks available all day. Incredibly decorated. Beautiful balconies. Great location to trams, cabs, trolleys.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alan48Amy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Dear Alan48Amy59,
we really appreciate the time you took for writing this lovely review: thank you!
It's great reading that you had a very good time here and that you have enjoyed the service of our staff, the cleanliness of the house, its decoration and the central location.
We look forward for hosting you again in the future and, util then, we send you our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews