We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (824)
Filter reviews
824 results
Traveler rating
795
26
2
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
795
26
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed and breakfast top floor perfect stay exploring lisbon breakfast is served the location is perfect sara hosts rui porto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
129 - 134 of 824 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2019

This property had just the right balance of historic charm and modern amenities. The breakfast provided daily was ample and quality from the cheeses and freshly baked goods to the espresso and freshly squeezed juices. The nightly port and sweets were a delight. There should be a cookbook as I would love to purchase those outstanding cake recipes! The bed was comfy and my street facing room was quiet. The host was helpful and knowledgeable and the location was perfect for setting off on any adventure. Nice restaurants and shops were also nearby in this upscale area. I traveled alone and felt as safe as at my own home. You really cannot go wrong with this property!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Traveler50A81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Dear Traveler50A81,
it's with pleasure that we read your review and that we know that you have enjoyed so much your stay in our House.
We have been delighted to have you with us and we are particularly happy to read that you felt as safe and comfortable as in your own home.
All our staff send you their best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019

Casa do Barao is a beautifully renovated townhouse in the classy central neighbourhood of Chiado. Our stay there was a pleasure from start to finish. There's a lovely library with Port and Moscatel to sip and delicious cakes and biscuits in the dining area, which opens onto the garden. Rui, one of the owners, was very welcoming and took his time to explain to us how to get the most out of Lisbon. Being low season, he upgraded us to a fabulous room with a large enclosed balcony looking onto palm trees - heaven in the heart of Lisbon! Would certainly stay there again!

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adventure298946
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Dear Adventure298946,
first, let us thank you for choosing our House during your stay in Lisbon and for sharing these lovely words on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you have especially appreciated the atmosphere of our house and of the social areas, our tips to enjoy th city and the room you had.
Thank you once again and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2019

Casa do Barao exceeded our expectations. When we arrived, we were warmly greeted and given individualized info to make our first time in Lisbon a success. We were not rushed off to our room, but invited to sit, have a tea or coffee and ask our host any questions about the place or Lisbon so that we could make the most of our time. The setup of the sitting room and dining area feels so comfortable and inviting, not like you are in a hotel, but at home. So even if you get a smaller room, you have other wonderful areas to enjoy. The garden outside was beautiful. So many positives: clean, smells great, good music, great location, superb staff, delicious breakfast, lovely interiors, soft sheets, etc. We will definitely be telling our friends and staying again on our next trip to Lisbon.

Room tip: You may hear some street noise for rooms on that side.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank notagnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Dear notagnat,
all our Team thank you for this kind review.
It's great reading that you had a beautiful stay at Casa do Barão and that you have particularly appreciated the concept of our bed and breakfast, with its social areas that make it similar to a proper house rather than an hotel.
We look forward for having you here again and we alls end you our warmest wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2019

Ok..... Literally perfect. From top to toe and start to finish. A gem in Lisbon. Everything comes off as effortless - but don't let that deceive you, every single little detail has been meticulously thought about! Seriously impressive how such a fine balance has been achieved. All the little personal touches such as hand written notes, fresh daily hand baked goodies and the female hostess (Sara?) being gracious, friendly and so very welcoming - there to help with any request you might have! The interior design is elegant and achieved by someone with a keen eye, the female lady who assists at breakfast is so obliging - really everything is so well orchestrated! Not only that the rooms are unique and sublime, the house itself is gorgeous - and it's in a perfect location to stay in.....ok...BASICALLY....WHEN CAN I MOVE IN???!!!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adamas09
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2019

Dear Adamas09,
your comment made us so happy and we truly thank you for sharing it with the TripAdvisor community.
We are delighted to read that you have appreciated the design and decoration of our house, the comfort of our rooms and our service.
If, in the future, you will come back to Lisbon we will be very pleased to have you with us again.
Until then, please accept our Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2018

What a fantastic B&B / Boutique hotel. The owners were so welcoming and gracious. The common areas were beautifully decorated and very inviting.
The location of the hotel was very convenient to shopping, local transportation and local restaurants. Both Sara and Roberto were always helpful in making great recommendations.
The rooms were also beautifully decorated and the beds were truly comfortable. The great attention to detail made the spaces feel refined and luxurious.
The breakfast had a lot of options and was a lovely way to start the day. The dining space opened up to lovely private garden patio and pool.
We spent almost two weeks in Portugal and by far this was our favorite place. Thank you for the kind hospitality and great personal service.!! There is no doubt that we will be back and this is the place to stay in Lisbon !!!

Date of stay: December 2018
1  Thank P_Albertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Barao E, Proprietário at Casa do Barao, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2019

Dear P_Albertson,
fist, we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Lisboa and for taking time to write down this lovely review.
All of us are glad to read that you had a special stay at Casa do Barão and that you have enjoyed the service of our staff, the charm and decoration of the social areas of the house, its central location, the comfor of our rooms and the fresh daily homemade breakfast.
It has been great sharing our house with you and we do hope to see you again in the future.
Until then, please accept our kindest Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews