We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Service, But Not a Good Day for the Tiger Shrimp” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ribadouro

Ribadouro
Ranked #483 of 4,016 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Union, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good Service, But Not a Good Day for the Tiger Shrimp”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I headed off with high hopes for this restaurant. The wine, salad, bread assortment and service was great, especially since I don't speak Portuguese. The two tiger shrimp they showed me were huge (48 grams), and the way they were prepared (split and lightly grilled) should have been perfect. But they were tough and hard to dig out of the shell.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CherylR224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,068 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    438
    191
    113
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Can't Fault Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

I saw this restaurant by chance, which is close to our hotel. They held a table for a few minutes while I popped back to collect my wife. This was really helpful as it did get very busy, even though it was a Sunday evening. The service, food and value was very good. Inevitably, because it is so busy, the tables are a little crammed in and those waiting at the bar for diners to finish detracts a little. The upside is that this means a lively, cheerful atmosphere. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bobsoundgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for shellfish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great place for sampling seafood! Rakes are good, and here you get four different kinds in addition to seafood you did not even know existed! Very busy place full of locals and great atmosphere!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ramiras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We truly enjoyed the food, our server was excellent end spoke fluent English. The ambiance is fairly modest, but may be that is the idea - to create a feeling of a local cervejeria.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank dr_mypka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
343 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Shellfish bigger than you've ever seen!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Ribardouro is a restaurant right on one of the main downtown streets in Lisbon, Ave. de Liberdade. It is a characteristic restaurant with white tablecloths and a refrigerated display case showing all the fish they serve. They also have a live lobster tank. There are 3 sizes of shrimp shown, oysters, several types of crabs and crab legs. At a recent lunch we ordered garlic clams, served in a copper pan and they were delicious. We sopped up the garlic-laden oil with fresh bread and washed it down with a local dry white wine. Next, we ordered the tiger prawns. I’ve never seen shrimp this big. They, too, came in a wine infused garlic sauce. While the shrimp are indeed huge, half of each is taken up by the head so while there is ample meat to enjoy from the back, you can only get so much out of the head part. The shrimp were delicious and the wine went so well with them also. We finished with a mixed salad and espresso. The entire bill including tip was $160.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shellyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ribadouro also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Ribadouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing