We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Restaurante A Casa do Bacalhau
Reserve with
Restaurante A Casa do Bacalhau is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 4,229 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us us by our hotel, who advised we book for a Friday night and kindly made a reservation for us. The restaurant isn't walking distance from the centre but it's only a 6/7 minute cab ride (make sure you take the address as even our cabbie didn't know it).

We walked in and apart from one other table the restaurant was empty so we were worried...but we sat down and got the waiters recommendations and ordered a starter of cod croquettes and cod carpaccio. Amazing...then our main meals came along with our wine. The meals were very decent portions and not expensive at all, really really tasty and our wine was so good we ordered a second.

The waiters are so lovely, and very attentive and knowledgable. You get value for money here in terms of food and experience, shame it isn't busier because they deserve to have a busy restaurant. This is a must of you are visiting Lisbon, you won't regret it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    133
    32
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Definitely the best bacalhau (codfish) ever”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The restaurant is away from the most popular neighborhoods, so be ready to use your GPS to find it, but it is really excellent. Service is fine, wine selection bery good and the main dishes are large and very tastefull. I ate so much that was unable to try the desert, so if you really want it, avoid the aptizers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VCMoreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Must go”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Best codfish I had in Lisbon. Ordered the grilled codfish with potatoes. As well as rose port wine. Food and drink both great. Service staff very attentive and helpful. Romantic interior. Hidden gem in a quiet neighborhood. Dinner starts 7.30pm

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yuccaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good - Excelent Service”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Went for dinner and had a good experience.
Of course I ate codfish. I was with 2 other persons and we all ate codfish. The best for me was the Gomes de Sá Codfish.
The restaurant is very nice and well decorated. The service is excellent. Also tried the deserts and they are quite good.
If you want to eat codfish go to this restaurant, you have so many dishes with codfish that makes it hard to choose from! You also have meat at the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rcoimbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algarve, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“For codefish lovers”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

If you like codfish (and I do) is a place you must go. The menu is composed almost exclusively by cod dishes, some more classic some more modern, but of what we experience, all good. The tongues were fabulous and “bacalhau à bras” (my favorite) one of the best I have ever eaten (and I've eaten a lot throughout my life). My husband ate cod with bread crumbs and was also very good. Excellent desserts.
The atmosphere is a bit exquisite; the room retrieves the old stables of the king, vaulted ceiling in bricks, large room, white tablecloths and competent service. Try it

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MEAFaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante A Casa do Bacalhau also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante A Casa do Bacalhau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing