We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but a bit pricy”

Restaurante Gambrinus
Ranked #159 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Description: Situated in the heart of Lisbon, Gambrinus is a reference point in Lisbon's Cuisine. Over the past 78 years, national and international personalities, artists and politicians have met to enjoy meeting places. The Restaurant has maintained a comfortable environment, with high quality products and service of excellence, since the remodelling done in 1964 by the architect Mauricio de Vasconcelos. The same artist was also responsible for the decoration.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice but a bit pricy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I went there for lunch on my own and had the lobster pie. It is nice but the price is a bit high. I could buy half lobster with the price and still have more meat than the pie. Service is good and people are helpful. But it is a bit old fashioned.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jiajia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    216
    67
    43
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Top-notch traditional restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Pros:
- Excellent service
- Excellent cooking
- One of the two best places to eat sea food in Lisbon
- Just order anything you like, even if it's not on the menu: in principle they know how to cook it and you'll be surprised by the quality of the ingredients.
- Private parking in the backyard

Cons:
- Expensive
- Dark wood décor

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiago A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A mixed experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had dinner once and had a mixed experience...The staff were delightful, very helpful and attentive without being overly so. We were made to feel very welcome. The restaurant is well laid out, nicely decorated, has good lighting and fittings. There's also an extensive wine list with something for all budgets.

Unfortunately the food wasn't as good as either we had hoped, or expected given the concierge's recommendations, the surroundings and price. The roast suckling pig (a speciality) was a bit of a disappointment. I've had it elsewhere with far fewer bones, a lot meatier and with more flavour. The fish casserole was a bit light on fish content. Maybe we were there when chef had an off night. Who knows? It wasn't an unpleasant experience, just not a memorable one. While I'd not rule out the possibility of returning, we won't be rushing back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

In our opinion this was the best restaurant in Lisbon . We spent only three nights in Lisbon and did follow the hotels recommendations for restaurants. Interestingly enough, Gambrinus was not mentioned by the hotel (no kick back maybe??) anyway, it was far and above any other place we dined. The two restaurants the hotel recomended were very touristy and not all that great! We happened upon Gambrinus by chance and had a lovely evening. The food was superb, the atmosphere lovely--best night we had in Lisbon!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Flower030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torslanda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“One very good fish restaurant in Lisbon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

When staying in Lisbon - try this very good fish restaurant Gambrinus! A bit pricey but well worth the money! Food, wine & service was a very nice experience, excellent products and excellent cooking! Even my husband who is not particularly excited about sea food agrees that this was a very good restaurant!
Ulla-Carin

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulla-Carin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Gambrinus also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Gambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing