We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, food, and a beautiful baby grand!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa do Leao

Casa do Leao
Reserve with
Casa do Leao is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #980 of 4,047 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food, and a beautiful baby grand!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Loved the view, interior and the food! But what made it stand out was the ever so friendly staff - and that beautiful baby grand piano in the middle on which I was allowed to play the few tunes I know!! They have my recommendations for sure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stina2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    77
    30
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

This restaurant offers both an attractive setting and excellent food. This was our second visit to Lisbon and we loved our first trip to this restaurant so much that we booked a second time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Best Tables

Helpful?
2 Thank LauraBermondsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jewel in the Castle crown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The spectacular walk from the old gates of Castelo Sao Jorge to the restaurant distracts you from the long incline to the Restaurant Casa Do Leao within the castle. Views over Lisbon basking in the golden pink of sunset are unforgettable. Signposting to the restaurant could be improved: we were heading off through a gateway to another part of the fortress until we realised that it was a dead end.
However the restaurant is worth these minor aggravations. I am surprised that it is not better known or visited; there were three tables occupied in the large arched brick room the evening we were there. it has wonderful windows over the city and a quaint old-fashioned sensibility with beautiful blue azulejos around the lower walls.
The service was very attentive and unobtrusive - knowledgeable and professional. the wine list is extensive and our choices helped greatly by the Maître D'. The food was of a high quality and plentiful and we let the evening slip into the night very comfortably! Highly recommended. A real jewel in the castle crown.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Best Tables

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorcan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The location is really unique because it is in the ancient castel at the top of the hill in the center of Lisboa. We tasted a good risotto with black pork but it was a little bit expensive. Basically the quality price ratio is not optimal but the place is really nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank viaggiandoemangiando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great views; good culinary experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Within the Castelo de S. Jorge lies this green canopied restaurant. After flogging round the castle on a cool, drizzling day chanced upon the restaurant. It has outdoor seating -no doubt a bonus in the hot summer months. A large interior dining room which was practically empty when we entered but later filled up reassuringly. A good choice of Portuguese style food and delicious Portuguese wine with a helpful sommelier who didn't try to flog the most expensive wine but took care to match different palates eating different food with the most harmonising wine. Service unobtrusive and efficient. A leisurely meal, well cooked and tasty. Also open in the evenings when the castle itself has closed. Just imagine how lovely it must be gazing over Lisbon.I will return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa do Leao also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Casa do Leao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing