We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”

Restaurante Cantinho do Aziz
Reserve with
Restaurante Cantinho do Aziz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #347 of 4,146 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: African, Indian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Description: We do deliver to your hotel room, just call us, we speak English. The best mozambican food in Lisbon and probably in Portugal, we have been open for 30 years and we do unique food. Came and try the best chamoussas in Lisbon, the Makoufe a dish that the chef recommends and the Piri-Piri Chicken without doubt the best chicken in Lisbon for sure.Wi-Fi available inside for customers
Stevoort, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Authentic family restaurant, run by second generation of this warm Mozambic family. Although the menu seems simple, it is honest, the food being prepared deliciously, with love and care. And cheap. Cool atmosphere, you feel as being in Mozambique, locals, family and friends of Adam and Minda pop in, even for just a chat or some company. We have discovered this gem in 2002, visit at least 3 times a year whenever in Lisbon, tried all the food, everything is perfect. Do not forget to try the chamusos.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank girassol10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidjabas, Manager at Restaurante Cantinho do Aziz, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much, when you are back to Lisbon please come and visit us.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    186
    71
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cool place”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Cool spot, regular customers, children playing at the entrance...
I don't know much about Mozambic food, but our chicken and scampis were well cooked, no cheap fat, the sauces nicely seasoned, and the kitchen didn't forget our request considering the amount of piri-piri. Also good indian-style rice, as much as you want. Basically we were full with 10 euro, beer included.
That being said, we came on sunday easter, 5.00 p.m., and I guess we had the "replacement team", which means the bill was wrong and the food took 30 minutes for reaching our table. Thank god there was a good tv-soap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shinken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“lucky find”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Inexpensive Mozambique cuisine incorporating coconut, peanuts, piri-piri, yucca leaves in traditional dishes. If you find yourself anywhere near the Castelo, I suggest that you stop here. Follow the signs. The Cantinho has been around for a couple decades and is well known by local residents. Open for lunch and dinner. We ate here 3 of the 6 nights we were in Lisbon and especially liked the matapa and, Saturday-only, beans with coconut. Note that the $ mark designates inexpensive, not fast food or self service. Not open Sundays.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HawkeyePilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Thanks to sites like these it's possible to find these kinds of small restaurants tucked away in an alley. It felt like a neighbourhood kitchen in a good way with simple yet delicious food (can heartily recommend the lamb). Cheap as well, so there's no excuse not to go if you happen to be nearby!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IsoElukka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“True Flavor of Mozambique (Piri Piri)”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Frustrated with Portuguese interpretations of piri piri sauce, I sought out a Mozambican restaurant at Cantinho do Aziz in Lisbon's Moraria neighborhood. Mohamed prepared our food - samosas, large tiger prawns and roasted chicken -all packed with flavor I have yet to experience at a traditional Portuguese seafood restaurant. The rice was also marvelously fluffy with a delicate hint of coconut. The service was excellent and the environment simple but extremely pleasant. The chicken was very inexpensive (5 Euros), and the prawns (16 Euros for 4 large). I have to say that I thought Aziz's was far better for seafood than the much celebrated Cervecería Ramiro.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank elana_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Cantinho do Aziz also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Restaurante Cantinho do Aziz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing