We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Lisbon”
Review of Tavares Rico

Tavares Rico
Reserve with
Tavares Rico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,453 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $50 - $100
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best place in Lisbon”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Gilted dining room,the best in Lisbon.Sophisticated food,especially the fish dishes.Expensive,so better try the set menus.Also it is worth the time to take a stroll in the picturesque surrounding area of Bairo Alto.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angelo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    49
    52
    20
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience of artistic proportion”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We chose this 200 year old restaurant for our 25th wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. Each food item was an artistic presentation and very unique in flavor and texture. You need to be a bit adventurous with their menu however the service and atmosphere was quite special and we enjoyed the meal tremendously.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiria District, Portugal
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went there once and I had a fish which is very hard to cook and the chef cooked it to perfection.

Its one of the old classic restaurants of Lisbon, its worth the money.

Helpful?
Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
454 reviews
381 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Very good value for money but restaurant quite empty”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant has 1 Michelin star and rightfully deserves it.

I took the 6-course menu at 76 euros. There're many things to choose from. You can compose your own menu. You can even skip the sweet courses.

I chose 2 desserts but I later changed my mind and wanted to change the chocolate dessert to the ox tongue. In the end, I got both the ox tongue and the chocolate dessert at no extra cost because the manager said they'd already started to prepare the chocolate dessert. How nice!

I initially thought the portions would be small. However they're quite substantial. So it's a lot of food for me. Every dish was of high quality. Delicious and nicely presented.

The service was attentive. After all, there're only 3 tables of customers including my table and I was on my own.

After adding the mineral water, a glass of Port wine and a glass of white wine, the bill was only 100 euros. Not cheap for Lisbon but very cheap for what I got:))

I'll go there again when I visit Lisbon next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Egon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“terrible experience”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Set menu for valentine day,dislike every part of it, fish and fish and shell on shell, a pigeon hard as rock, bread served on a "terrine dish?", one poor tulip looking like nothing, a choice of music going on our nerves,people next by us left the place after the first course,we were sharing desesperates glances with other custumers,staff over stressed apologising non stop,maitre D not knowing where he was...so so desapointed went straight after to another place for proper food.Complete disater for a huge bill.
Never ever again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavares Rico also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Tavares Rico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing