We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but not great”
Review of Bota Alta

Bota Alta
Ranked #457 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Price range: $28 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Rekem, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“OK, but not great”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We made a reservation to Bota Alta because of all the good reviews it had. So we went there with quite high expectations. I don't know if it was the flavor of the typical Portuguese cuisine or the way it was cooked, but the cod we ordered did not really impress us. The "Royal cod" recipe had too much boiled onion that we did not like, so we had to take it aside from the fish, which gave a very messy look to our plates. The atmosphere was nice and cosy, although you could feel the pressure of the people queuing up at the entrance, waiting for a table to be freed up. Not the place where you can enjoy a nice quite long dinner. All in all, a good place for an OK dinner, but don't expect anything special.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TeoBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    307
    132
    51
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bota Alta steak stole our hearts”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Hidden in a corner in Bairro Alto, cosy and peculiarly decorated, this tiny restaurant is often full, so it's good to book in advance. We tried several courses and everything was nice, but Bota Alta steak cooked in port was just amazing. Also, the waiters are very kind - while ordering we forgot to mention we wanted the steak well done as one of us is pregnant, and after we returned the steak to the waiter asking to have it cooked it a bit more, we were given a brand new one. Also, they were of great help when we couldn't make our minds about desserts. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zofia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous lunch!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I had the pleasure to have lunch at this somewhat off-beaten path restaurant. Tucked away in a corner of the Bairro Alto, not on the main touristic roads, this restaurant is excellent! Everything we had, from appetizer to desert was very good. The freshness of the ingredients and a simple but excellent cuisine makes this place special.
A real hidden gem!
Obrigado Bota Alta!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J_Legal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“"Bacalhau Real" is the best choice”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent location in the Bairro Alto.
This restaurant offers a local specialty "Bacalhau Real", a cod fish cooked in Port whine.
They have a large selection of other local and tasty dishes.
Nice atmosphere, all tables are almost joint together, a bit noisy but very pleasant to be there.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DomenicoLF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Busy, cosy and great”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

An unassuming front in the trendy Bairro Alto district hides a distinctly un-trendy looking restaurant with a quirky, delightfully old-fashioned sense of decor, with models, prints and paintings of boots all around - and a giant one on the counter.

We were fortunate to happen across the place on a Friday evening, walk in and get a table straight away, but the place was otherwise packed and it's probably best to book if you can.

The waiting staff were very busy but unflappable, unfailingly friendly and even took my laboured attempt to order in Portuguese in good humour.

As other reviews have mentioned, the restaurant crams the tables in and it can be difficult to cut a steak without elbowing your neighbour in the ribs, but this somehow acted as part of the charm as different tables get talking to each other and we watched a honeymooning Hungarian couple trading banter with a table full of Portuguese teachers - in English of course!

We both decided to try the Bacalhau - salt cod - which is a local institution. I had the Bacalhau a Bras, shredded cod, potato and onion, stirred through with egg and garnished with olives. If I'm honest, I found it a bit tough going, but I suspect that's me not particularly enjoying the chewy texture of the cod than any fault in the restaurant kitchen. Certainly my wife's Bacalhau Bota Alta (the house special), a piece of cod cooked in a white wine sauce and smothered in onions, served with potato cakes, was absolutely delicious.

Two mains, house wine and a selection of the "couverture" bread/butter/cheese/olives placed on the table when we arrived set us back around €45, so again good value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bota Alta also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bota Alta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing