We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Borges Chiado
Ranked #157 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Bergen, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

A perfect hotel for a short stop in Lisbon, both for shopping, restaurants, touris, and nightlife - the hotel is so central. We stayed here twice during our trip; the first time we got a room with a view of the square, which was nice, but of course very noisy at night. The room was very big, but there was some leaking from the shower, so the carpet outside the bathroom was constantly wet.. The second time we stayed here we got a smaller but more comfortable room, with a view to the side street, which was also a bit noisy, but better. The breakfast was ok.

Room Tip: I recommend a room with a view to the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hildur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    402
    291
    107
    60
See reviews for
230
393
46
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
370 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is very well situated just steps from the metro and #28 tram, and near many main tourist sites and areas.

Considering the location, the price is very low. As one might therefore expect, the hotel is very basic.

Pros, other than location: our room was quite large, and the beds were comfortable. The room was clean. We slept well.

Cons: the room decor was very basic. The bathroom door looked pretty battered, and some other, harder-to-see items were worn. There was no electric outlet convenient to the desk. The hot water was slightly unreliable, but not enough to be a serious problem. You have to pay extra (but not much) to use the safe or Internet. The room AC worked, but was loud. The breakfast was not very good. The TV was tiny and the remote did not work.

We had a room at the back of the hotel, where it was pretty quiet. Beware the front, since street musicians often play in the plaza.

On balance, the hotel is OK considering the location and price. But don't expect more than the basics.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xman_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingle, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Basic hotel but the location is great for anyone looking to enjoy Lisbon's nightlife. Only a 5 min walk from the barrio alto and with baixa chia do metro right outside the door you have the best of everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbaek, Danmark
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My son (13 years) and I have just staied at the hotel for a week and we both liked it very much. We had a big room with 3 beds at the 4th floor at the corner, so we had 5 big windows and view at the side and back of the hotel. Our bathroom was big with both bathtub and shower. Everything was very clean, towels changed and beds done every day. The breakfast included what we like to eat in the morning, and the breakfastroom was very fine and not at all crowded. The staff at the reception desk was friendly and helpful - they even helped us to check in for our flight home. The site of the hotel is just perfect for walking to the citycentre and just beside the metro and the tram stop. And then there was a nice atmosphere in the street with happy music and funny performers. All in all it was the perfect place for our stay, and if we ever go to Lisbon again we´ll defenitely stay at Hotel Borges again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelleHolbaek_Danmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

MAGICAL REALISM

The name of the Hotel Borges was immediately appealing. Since I was assigned to this place of residence and was not paying, it did not really matter. Negative comments on trip advisor made me worried, nonetheless, so I requested the quietest room possible (many complaints of noise) and examined the room to be sure it was salubrious.

As fans of Borges, Cortázar and other magical realists know, the mixture of reality and fantasy can often go awry. Hotel Borges is no exception.

NOISE

My room was on a “quiet” side street, but the non-stop concert in front of the neighboring café known locally as the “Pessoa Café” is as unnerving when you cannot escape it as it can be enjoyable when you choose to sit near the bronze statue of Portugal’s national poet. Lying in bed trying to sleep at 1AM with the sounds of a Brazilian band mixed with an out of tune cello attempting to play all of the parts of the Ravel “Bolero” is, well, nightmarishly realistic.

CLEANLINESS

The room is clean when you move in, but they only change the sheets when you strip the beds and throw them on the floor, and you often have to make a special request at the desk to get them to clean the room at all, as I discovered during a one week stay. Even more magically realistic is having towels replaced. The sign dangling from the wire of the hair dryer in the bathroom reads: “Hang your towel on the rack if you wish to use it again.” There are no racks in the bathroom. You need to either be a small child or a contortionist to enter the shower, but once you are inside, it is quite acceptable. Similarly, the position of the sink in front of the toilet makes the act of defecation resemble a flight on Ryan Air. The bathroom exudes a mysterious smell of sewage 24 hours a day, even when it has just been cleaned. Now I know why this is called the Hotel Borges and why all of those people on Trip Advisor complained so much.

SERVICE

Portuguese people are grumpy. This exterior sometimes reveals a heart of gold, but when you are accustomed to the smiling faces of Spain, the South of France and Italy, there is something a bit “unlatin” about it. The five people behind the desk of Hotel Borges are difficult to rouse, even when they are helping noone. The seem eternally occupied with each other, the telephone or the piles of documents that are constantly strewed on the reception counter. When you finally get their attention, they are helpful, even if they apply arbitrary, unlisted charges for computer printouts and charge 5 euros a day for shoddy internet service. “Nickeling and diming” is always bad policy.

BREAKFAST

The dining room of the Hotel Borges is located at the end of a maze of narrow halls worthy of the novel Aleph. It has the hotels name sculpted in gold in a room that resembles those in a turn of the century Grand Hotel. The food is another story. I am a cheapskate when it comes to free hotel breakfasts. The Hotel Borges succeeded in driving me away and getting me to opt for a paid breakfast at the excellent Pasteleria Chiado Baixo on Rua de Crucefixion, down the hill. Hotel Borges’ breakfast rivals that of Delta Airlines for poor quality: a machine dispensing powdered coffee with powdered milk in an undrinkable mixture, supermarket breakfast pastries and mystery meat that looks like pork, but is listed as “Hallal” (more magical realism?). Free is too expensive for this breakfast!

POSITIVE ASPECTS

The room is quite large, has a functioning fridge and is very conveniently situated.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Good luck!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

First and for most - the lock did not operate properly and had to get some one from the hotel to open the door. The maid also had a did not get the door open. The lock should not have a trick to open.
Wifi is not free but we got it free due to the door. Had to argue the fact.
Outside is lively so it is good to be four floors up. It is still quit noisy but good ear plugs help.
Bed average and showers are good.
Breakfast is included and is good.
We paid $85 a night for two. A little high but if not for the door I and the poor coverage of the wifi I would feel I got good value.
The rooms were clean and nice.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angrywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

First, the good... VALUE. We stayed two nights this past weekend, reserving two rooms for a party of 4. The price was great, especially given the central location. The hotel is located right in the center of Lisbon and it was very easy to get around and see the sights. Great shopping nearby as well. Breakfast was okay- basic but nothing to complain about and held in a beautiful breakfast room. The air condition worked well and we didn't have any issues with noise (our room was in the back. The others in our party faced the street but did not have any major complaints). The rooms were basic and a bit run-down and could have used a decent cleaning, though we figured that we got what we paid for. Up until the second night of our stay, we were overall satisfied with our hotel choice.

On our second day, I had gone down to reception to request a safe key. While there, the guest in front of me was obviously distressed and complaining about "insects" in the room in broken English. The employees at the front desk treated him very poorly and basically told him there was nothing they could do and he walked away unhappy to say the least. We thought it an isolated incident until our return that night from dinner. I opened the door to the bathroom in the room on the first floor to find a cockroach on the towel. The next morning, there were two more, which also managed to escape into the room. Yet another dropped onto a member of our party when she bravely decided to shower. Our complaint upon checkout was met with indifference and a complete lack of empathy. For these reasons (cockroaches, cleanliness, hospitality), I would in no way ever return to this hotel, despite the price and location.

Room Tip: If you dare to stay, request a room in the back to avoid street noise and on a higher floor. 2 memb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kesoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel do Chiado
Hotel do Chiado
#60 of 251 in Lisbon
491 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#230 of 251 in Lisbon
496 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
9HOTEL MERCY
9HOTEL MERCY
#71 of 251 in Lisbon
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#30 of 251 in Lisbon
890 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#93 of 251 in Lisbon
1,220 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#138 of 251 in Lisbon
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borges Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borges Chiado

Property: Hotel Borges Chiado
Address: Rua Garrett 108 | Chiado - Lisboa, Lisbon 1200-205, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borges Chiado 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lisbon's Chiado Square, the Hotel Borges has rooms with satellite TV and some feature a private balcony. Facilities include a tour desk. The Fado clubs of Bairro Alto are just a short walk away. The air-conditioned rooms of the Borges are decorated with floor-to-ceiling windows, carpeted floors and wood furniture. All rooms have a private bathroom. Guests can enjoy drinks and refreshments at the Borges Hotel's terrace. Room service is available as well. The Hotel Borges's front desk is open 24/7. The hotel also provides car rental, laundry facilities, and a ticket service. The Mario Viegas Theatre and the Museum of Chiado are situated within walking distance. Lisbon Airport is a 16-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Borges Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borges Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing