We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Borges Chiado
Ranked #158 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Quite simple and basic, but taking into regard its premium location, in the heart of the Chiado district and close to the lively Bairro Alto, it must be one of the great values in Lisbon. Its two setbacks: a mediocre breakfast and, at least in the room we stayed, very poor or practically inexistent Internet connection.

Room Tip: I would think the back rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We made a reservation on their website for the Duas Nacoes Hotel (Same owners), but when we showed up they had no rooms. They didn't offer any apology or explanation as to why we had a reservation but they had no rooms. They sent us to their other hotel, Hotel Borges. So we hauled our luggage to the Hotel Borges. We had the choice of the two smallest rooms they had. Room 1 was barely larger than the bed. Room 2 was in the attic and had a ceiling height of about 6 ft. in the center. You couldn't stand up unless you stood in the center of the room. Breakfast included cold coffee. I would have told someone about the cold coffee, but I couldn't find anyone. We checked out and went to the Lisboa Tejo hotel. Better price and much better service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
borgeschiado, Front Office Manager at Hotel Borges Chiado, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Sorry, this complaint has no sense. Just because the clients moved from hotel to the other one, you can see from the client comments.
Thanks and i hope you can check that the review got just a negative classification because the clients move from Duas Nacoes Hotel to Borges Hotel.
And as you can see in the pictures and in the other recent reviews, our rooms are just perfect now.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The hotel is simple, but has everything you need. The room can be outdated, but everything works. The breakfastroom is beautifull: like a ballroom. Breakfast is very simple, but you don't need much if you are located in the best position posible in Lisbon: above the most famous coffee bar in Lisbon, near 30 meters of the metro, between barrio alto and baixo.

Hotel Borges is good for a citytrip in Lisbon. I enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOlumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Because my reservation at Avenida Parque hotel was cancelled because of trouble with the hot water equipment we were transfered to the Borges hotel. Location is excellent but the hotel is just a budget place to sleep. Breakfast is terrible, rooms are very noisy (room 101) and staff not very friendly, but the budget price and the location make it ok for a few days.

Room Tip: Room 101 is very noisy and there is no view from the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sanooknl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just returned from a very enjoyable, great value 4 day trip booked directly with Easyjet. Hotel Borges is in an excellent central location for site-seeing and city transport - metro station directly opposite and excellent no. 28 tram runs past hotel. (Handy travel tip: at metro station ticket machine buy 6 euro day travel pass + 50c for card which gives you access to buses, metro, trams and famous tourist lifts for 24 hours travel, even to and from airport.) Hotel reception area is very bright, modern and clean. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient. We were given a room on the 3rd floor (? 306) and were delighted to discover that it was spacious, clean, simple and had obviously recently undergone a very nice contemporary make-over with dark wood modern furniture, laminate wood floor-covering, wall-mounted flat-screen TV, smart curtains and good full-length mirror. The room was positioned at the back of the hotel and overlooked a quiet street. The beds (two generous singles), were firm and very comfortable. The shower-room, I think also recently upgraded, was large, spacious, bright and light with a large walk-in glass shower cubicle, simple white fixtures including bidet, large over-sink mirror, hairdrier and good under-sink cupboard space for toilet bags, etc. The shower was powerful with plenty of hot water. Again, nice hygienic wood effect floor-covering. (nb A hook for used towels/robes and a mat to step onto from the shower would have been helpful). All in all, very simple and clean and the hotel website photographs and descriptions did not do (our room) justice. Breakfast was simple and adequate self-service and consisted of a fair choice of fruit juices, fresh fruit, yogurts, cold meat, cheese, breads and pastries, hot beverages and toast-making facilities. Breakfast was eaten in a beautiful room with ornate gold-leaf mouldings, gilt mirrored walls, high ornate ceiling and glass chandelier. I would recommend this hotel and would happily return. Lisbon is a great-value city break destination with excellent restaurants, cafes, museums and transport.

Room Tip: Rooms towards rear of hotel generally more quiet and peaceful though some street noise may still be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raj678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We've just come back from the charming lisboa, staying from 25 to 30 Dec 2012 to Hotel Chiado Borges. Two doubles for my wife and me and my bro in law, wife and little child. The location is great, considering that the hotel is located in the main gathering point of lisbon's day and night life. it's just at the end of Rua Garret, the metro and the stop of the famous tram 28 is 100 mt far from the entrance and Rossio takes just a 3 minute walk.
Any more good details of the hotel? Let's say the hall is nice, all white, mirrors and nice chairs. The first time you enter you have the idea to be in a really metropolitan hotel. That's just the first time...
Other good point is that the rooms have on average a proper size, considering that you are on holiday to go out and not to stay in a hotel room.
Last good remark: the breakfast hall is really nice, well decorated and big enough to host many persons at the same time. Food is quite good (even if some items come from a supermarket behind Rossio Square...) and varies from fruit to cookies, jams, juices. Bread is very good too, though it's difficult to find a place in Lisbon where it's bad.
In the evening you can really enjoy the place, since just ahead the hotel it's plenty of small restaurants and bars where you can spend the night (miradouro de Alcantara in the morning is a good witness of the many persons having a drink in the local bars).
The last day we could leave the luggage until late afternoon for free, and believe me, it was not for granted...

After pros, let's talk about cons...
The management is quite weird. We had some problems with the rooms, which were all fixed after our requests, but they could have all been solved before assigning us that room.
First advice to remember: if you are given Room 417, pls do ask to have another room. We got it first, but the bathroom cannot be used. The basin was in the corner between two walls, and even to wash your hands you needed to squeeze between them.
Then we got a new room (changed soon after our request, to be honest), where the door of the wardrobe fell down any time we opened it. The morning after we asked to fix the hinges, which were replaced with no problems... but wouldn't it have been better to fix this before giving us the room? Last, but totally not remarkable, the TV had no remote control, we to ask for it again to the desk and it popped out soon after our demand (in the other room tv didn't work at all).
As to cleaning, the room was almost well kept when we got back in the evening, but let's say you would have some problem if you are choosy people (moquette, the curtain of the bathtub and the covers a little dusty).
Totally bad is the lack of free wi-fi. You have to pay € 5 for a 24h connection, but the login can be used for a device only (if you have two smartphones you cannot use the same account).
there is just one workstation where you can use internet (only if you pay - of course), but it's in a small corner before breakfast room... and if you decide to use it in the evening, consider that there's no light (we had to clear the online chek-in, and I was sitting and using the pc while my bro in law had to walk all time in order to make the sensors swith on the light!!!).
Remember also that the rooms have no fridge, and the safe is an option which costs € 1,50 per day.
Last tip: for water and small shops there is a supermarket just behind Rossio sqaure, you can use it to buy water (having bottles at € 0,20 instead of € 2,00, as it is in the hotel - and I assure you it is the same brand).
My overall impression is in any case rather good. It's not the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but after all it's affordable and has the right price-quality ratio.

Room Tip: avoid room 417 and ask for the higher levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peppedaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel is described in the Guide du Routard as having large, impeccable and quiet rooms with French speaking staff (which is of no interest to us).
What we had was a tiny room (we could hardly squeeze our luggage into the room), which was overlooking a noisy street. To use the bathroom, you have to have abilities of a contortionist. Cleaniness: bits of paper on the floor. In our reservation, the room had been confirmed at €105. After having seen the room, I asked how much we would be charged. We were told €85. We accepted (we had planned to stay only one night). The next morning, when checking out, the clerk insisted on collecting 105, which is totally overpriced for this room.
By listing this hotel you are not providing any service to your customers and I wonder how it ended up with a favorable review in the Guide du Routard.


« Close this window »

Room Tip: Avoid the Hotel Borges
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PeterRM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#235 of 255 in Lisbon
541 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Gat Rossio
Hotel Gat Rossio
#91 of 255 in Lisbon
1,297 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#51 of 255 in Lisbon
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Miraparque
#93 of 255 in Lisbon
1,513 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Bairro Alto Hotel
Bairro Alto Hotel
#23 of 255 in Lisbon
1,415 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel LX Rossio
Hotel LX Rossio
#201 of 255 in Lisbon
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Borges Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Borges Chiado

Address: Rua Garrett 108 | Chiado - Lisboa, Lisbon 1200-205, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $92 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Borges Chiado 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Lisbon's Chiado Square, the Hotel Borges has rooms with satellite TV and some feature a private balcony. Facilities include a tour desk. The Fado clubs of Bairro Alto are just a short walk away. The air-conditioned rooms of the Borges are decorated with floor-to-ceiling windows, carpeted floors and wood furniture. All rooms have a private bathroom. Guests can enjoy drinks and refreshments at the Borges Hotel's terrace. Room service is available as well. The Hotel Borges's front desk is open 24/7. The hotel also provides car rental, laundry facilities, and a ticket service. The Mario Viegas Theatre and the Museum of Chiado are situated within walking distance. Lisbon Airport is a 16-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Borges Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borges Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing