We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Portugal by bike”

Bikeiberia Bike Tours & Rentals
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.01*
and up
Lisbon Waterfront Bike Tour
More Info
$72.03*
and up
Self-Guided Sintra E Bike Tour
Ranked #38 of 211 Outdoor Activities in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1999 ● Monday to Sunday from 9:30am ● e-Bike Tours & Rentals for all in Lisbon and throughout Portugal & Spain ● Guided Day Trips ● Affordable Shore Excursions for cruise passengers ● English | French | Spanish and, of course, Portuguese ● Private and customized Trips ● Bikes and Gear for all: City | Touring | Carbon Road | MTB | Kids Bikes ● Family friendly, safe and fun! ● Week-long Guided and Self-Guided Tours and Rentals for the adventure seeker carefully selected and put together for your unique travel experience ● A local company offering value for the money, allowing each individual to explore and enjoy it here ● High quality Bikes & Equipment by GIANT ● Second to none biking services and setting the industry standards ● Pedal Your way!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had a wonderful two weeks cycling through Portugal. Bikeiberia was so helpful setting up the bikes to our specifications and giving us great advice about our proposed cycling route. The bikes were good and the backroads were wonderful to cycle despite the lack of shoulders on the roads.( I can still smell the wonderful scent of eucalyptus & pine trees) The traffic, including trucks, was very courteous and, for the most part, gave us lots of room on the road. A great way to really see the country and meet the local people.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank igirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 258 of 543 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

The friendly service and advise about to best explore Lisboa by bike was most certainly most useful.

They could spoke English and Português which made our experience really great

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank HAMEDE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Their widely available pamphlet claims that bike toursof Lisbon every day 'No Reservation Needed, Just Show Up' .

We turned up on as promised at 09:50 on Saturday 21st September 2013, only to be turned away. They claimed to be doing a special 'architectural tour' for pre-reserved guests ...but there was no sign of such activity - no guests, no signs of bike preparation. The owner./manager made some further feeble excuse about the size of the bike market in Lisbon and what a tough time they were having.

Indeed! Treating potential customers like s**t will ensure that their tough time continues.

Instead we found the delightful guys at 'Rent A Fun' who gave us a splendid guided tour of 'their Lisbon',. It was the definite highlight of our short stay in the city.

I would not waste my time even thinking of going to 'bike iberia' for a tour. They clearly have no intention of keeping their promises. If I could give a rating of zero or less I would. Charlatans.

3  Thank LatimerAlder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bikeiberia_Office, Manager at Bikeiberia Bike Tours & Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your feedback,
As mentioned we were fully booked for the day you visited our premises,
this is very rare as usually we are able to fulfill our Guests' needs and even exceed expectations.
We do provide Customized Tours for private groups, which was the case on that particular day.

We apologize for the inconvenience.
Still it is good to hear that our suggestion to check out colleagues suited your travel plans.

Sincerely Yours,
bikeiberia Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Bike iberia were really pleasant to deal with. They are very close to a nice waterside bike lane ride that takes you from central Lisbon to Belem. I did this on a very hot day but there is a breeze from the river so it was a good idea if you are in the city in the heat of summer. Lots of cafes and very cool bars along the way if you want to take a breather and enjoy the view across the river.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank MaryD575757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really feel cheated, not only was I provided a womens e-bike that did not fit my 6' male stature, but information about the road conditions where I clearly let these people know I would be pedaling, I was not cautioned. Portugal, really does not have the road maintenance infostructure as we do in the USA. The roads where potholed and not re-surfaced in years. The roads were so bad I had to take my watch off as it would become unclasped and fall off by the jolting and what-not from the roads. I also had the mis-fortune where the disc brakes locked up on me from a poorly maintained bike. Perhaps there business is better in Spain, or if you are interested in dirt bike riding. But I would not recommend. Sorry....but I have an e-bike in the states and thoroughly enjoy mine!

3  Thank Zippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bikeiberia_Office, Manager at Bikeiberia Bike Tours & Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on our Bicycle Services;
We are deeply sorry to hear that you have not enjoy your Cycling Experience with us,
And that you were disappointing with the E-Bike.

Regarding the E-Bikes, please note that according to European Union Legislation an E-Bike is not an Electrical Scooter or Moped like in some countries outside of the European Union, instead an E-bike is a Pedalec System.

We are proud to offer quality Step Through E-Bikes by Gazelle, a Dutch (EU) and reputable long time bike manufacturer.

Although E-Bikes have been around for while we believe they still have a way to go in development and efficiency.

A Step-Through Frame (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Step-through_frame) is suitable for any gender and many will agree it is most suitable on recreational bikes.

Gazelle recreational Step Through E-bikes often have patented easy to set up systems for fine tunning and adjustments.

For Guests Renting bikes only we do not decide where our Guests plan to stay nor where they will be riding.
We can not be made liable for anything to do with road selection, unless our advice is required. Road quality varies.

A certain level of flexibility and availability to accommodate local variations is always welcome when traveling within a different region, country or continent.

That is why many people travel. It is often very hard to generalize things within a city let alone the road quality of an entire country.

It is always a pleasure when Guests visit our premises so we can meet face to face,
confirm and discuss previous email and phone communications, provide additional information and support as requested.

Upon bike delivery, especially on personalized services where our staff meets Guests
there is the chance to try gear and make any required adjustments for the perfect fit.
Eventually bike replacement could also be an option.

Often Guests receive personalized advice and tips on places to ride, to eat, to visit, things to do, etc. If available a Road map will also be provided at no cost.

In order to meet Guest's expectations and their travel experience in Portugal and/or Spain, when issues arise or develop regarding bikes or gear provided, if conveyed to us,
We have a chance to do something about it while Guest are still using our Bikes & Gear, valuing their time and experience.

We are deeply committed to provide a Quality Service, second to none,
and when appropriate ready to step forward to meet and exceed expectations of our Guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bikeiberia Bike Tours & Rentals also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Bikeiberia Bike Tours & Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing