We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a b&b is should be.”
Review of B&B Zuzabed

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Zuzabed
Ranked #19 of 265 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

After a harrowing taxi ride from Lisbon Airport--up and down and around narrow streets, before squealing to a stop in front of Zuzabed, my first thought was: oh no, what have I done?" We were barely out of our cab, in front of a narrow rowhouse, when we were greeted, our luggage carried up a flight of stairs, deposited in the breakfast-dining room, and a pot of tea set down before us. The rest is just one lovely story after another, from the breakfast room with its aqua-painted tables and chairs, to the upstairs sitting room--interesting, compelling art on the walls, a chaise-lounge, television (which we never watched) dvds, books, and best of all, the "meeting up" with our fellow guests--an artist from the Netherlands, an accountant (really a poet, she said, and I believed her) from Venezuela, and two women from Canada. The breakfasts were good coffee, cheese, ham, yogurts, croissants, jams. There was a computer to use, free WIFI. And then there was the neighborhood, Baixa-Chiado, convenient to trains, metro, buses, an organic grocery, cafes, shopping high-and-low, bookstores, restaurants everywhichway, the famous five-story elevator, and at the corner, the magnificent Ruinas do Carmo, a church and convent built in the 1400s, now a local archaelogical museum, its arches open to the sky, the walls destroyed in the great Lisbon earthquake of 1755. We had one of those serendipitous moments of grace, listening to an acapella choir singing hymns in Latin and Portuguese, ending with "Somewhere over the Rainbow" in English. Next door to the church is the headquarters of the Republican Guarda, once home to the late dictator Salazar's henchmen. We met us with proprietor Luis on our second day, as warm and accommodating as Lisbon itself. And Carlos the omniscient staff member....we seemed to bump into him around every corner, and his tips were excellent--the concert, how to see the hills from a cafe, instead of the crowded-wait-in-line five-story elevator. Our reason for being in Lisbon was to attend a Leonard Cohen concert, easy to get to by metro, and although it was nearly 2 am when we got out, and the metros were closed, we got on a couple of buses and just "asked" our way home. The night was balmy, Lisbon friendly, the concert magnificent, and the next day we packed and walked the few blocks to the train station, and headed to Sintra. Highly highly recommended, everything you'd need or want in Lisbon, and then some.

Room Tip: We had a front bedroom, overlooking the street, the noises of the street drifted up like background...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motownsuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 763 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

At Zuza's you are treated as a good friend and given all the service and good advice you could ever dream of. Luis and his team are incredibly charming, helpful and personal in their attention to every detail. On arrival you receive a cellphone and encouraged to contact Luis or his staff whenever needed.
The rooms are not big, but the interior decoration is high quality and everything works splendidly. You have to be able to negotiate some flights of stairs, but you are sure to be helped with your luggage.
The breakfast is gorgeous - fresh bread, cheese, ham, freshly squeezed juice, freshly made eggs, yoghurt etc. And Luis likes to bring a surprise to the table - one morning he had baked a wonderful cake The terrace room's view of the city is unbeatable. The location right next to Rossio and halfway up to Bairro Alto is very convenient - and in spite of this, there is no noise from trains or traffic. A haven indeed.
We spent just two nights, but we will certainly be back! Thanks a lot to Luis and everybody at Zuza's.
Per and Hanne, Denmark.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We were welcomed by Carlos who arrived exactly at 1:00 and showed us our little apt. in Lisboa. He was fun, warm, welcoming, and informative. The apt. fridge was stocked with fruit, milk, eggs, butter, jam, bread, ham, cheese, and yogurt and we had an nespresso machine as well. Wifi worked well and the apt. was well equipped and comfortable. We had absolutely everything we needed and the location was great (as long as you're up to hiking up a pretty hilly cobblestone street.) The only negative was the corner location which was clearly a hot spot on Friday nights. (The partying noise could be heard until VERY late.)

We met Luis one night at a spontaneous gathering at his B&B location and enjoyed meeting his other guests who all raved similarly about their experience at his other locations. Luis is a gracious host and manages to be really responsive and warm to everyone. He is a social media expert so soon he will be FAMOUS! - the happy host and spokesperson for Lisbon.

Ditto on the comments about other friendly guests. This seems to be a self-selecting group of outgoing spontaneous people from around the world. Definitely a place we would recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babznlulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We spent 4 nights at the Zuzabed Chiado studio apartment, and were pretty thrilled at how central it was (literally a 3 minute walk from the Metro Baixa-Chiado). We were able to go to many great restaurants, bars and shops without even getting on the Metro.

First, thank you Zuzabed for welcoming us on Wednesday night even though we arrived on a late flight. Luis was responsive via email, and gave us exact details on how to get to the apartment, which made our trip much easier. The apartment is located on the first floor of a lovely old building. Easy to get to. It is clean, modern and the bed is very comfortable. The open plan is spacious, but the small bedroom apart provides privacy.

Zuzabed stocks your fridge with all you need for breakfast, and a Nespresso machine comes in handy too.

The area is perfect for an active and lively visit of Lisbon. The only potential drawback is the noise of Chiado - there are people in the streets, making noise, at all hours. It did not really bother us too much,but it is loud and you have to be willing to accept it. The central location is so perfect that we were fine to make that trade off!

There are two affordable restaurants nearby that I would like to recommend - each are within a 5 minute walk away, maximum. The first is Tartine (Rua Serpa Pinto, 15), which is great for lunch - roast beef, parmesan and roquette tartines - and excellent for simple breakfasts. The other is KaffeHouse (Rua Anchieta 3) for excellent coffee, cakes and a Sunday brunch to die for.

Zuzabed, we will be back the next time we return to Lisbon. Great stay all around! Many thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Zuzabed and breakfast is one of a kind. Luis has an excellent team that help you get the best experience possible. They arrange for airport p/u and greet you at the door. This place is charming, most comfortable, the food is excellent and they somehow have extremely interesting and friendly people staying with them, that become part of a special family from the first day. We would never have found the wonderful local places we experienced without the daily help of the Zuza team. The location is central to all transportation, restaurants, and just wonderful walking and observing the local culture. What sets this B&B apart from all others is the unusual commitment of the team. You are given a phone to use anytime you have a question, and we had them. "Carlos where can we eat at 5:00 p.m. when most of the retaurants don't open until 7:00. No problem I will take you to a good one" And I mean take us there. Once they opened for us.Luis had a cocktail party in the street outside of a nice restaurant that catered it. We were able to meet new friends from his other locations. This was a trip of a life time. Thats Zuza. Many thanks and much love to Luis, Carlos, Ana and Fatima.
We hope to return.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Zuzabed and Breakfast is located in the best part of Lisbon, a perfect location for exploring this great city. We stayed five nights in a great room (with the most comfortable bed in Europe) with a balcony overlooking the castle. From the moment we arrived until we left we were treated like family. The Zuzabed Team was wonderful. Ana was very helpful. Carlos met us when we arrived, briefed us on what to expect, gave me a cell phone so I could call him when we got lost or needed a restaurant recommendation. Carlos appeared out of nowhere on a couple of occasions and escorted us to wonderful restaurants. But Luis was the best. He met us each morning for breakfast and helped plan our day (the daily breakfast was excellent). He held a cocktail party for all the guests on our 3rd night. He gave us a short tour of the city while driving my family to Expo 98. I could go on and on. My wife and I have traveled all over the USA and Europe and this was without a doubt our best experience. Thanks to Luis.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay! Location is excellent, next to Barrio Alto and train station (absolutely no noise from the trains though). Warm welcome by Anna and Luis, they are very knowledgable and always there to help with anything (restaurants, train rides, calling taxi's, places to go and what to visit). Rooms are well equiped, though our bathroom was somewhat small (2m2). Not too much of a problem for us, but someone else might find that annoying. Great balcony with wonderfull views over the city.
We were staying at the B&B and enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning. Sitting together with the other guests and talking of Lisbon and many other things, this is an important part of the true travel experience at a B&B for me! All in all, I can absolutely recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimMaastricht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 265 in Lisbon
858 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Tesouro da Baixa by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 265 in Lisbon
502 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#10 of 265 in Lisbon
726 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Zuzabed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Zuzabed

Address: Calcada do Duque 29 20, Lisbon 1200-155, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 265 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $75 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a genuine and welcoming Portuguese way of living don't look any furhter. At ZUZA we proudly love to show our city and to help make you feel at home is indeed our goal. Anyway, this is not an hotel, ok! :) This is a B&B for relaxed people that consider comfort and prime location together with a local home service and company the most important thing to have when on holidays. While here you'll find the rest of the small luxuries we have for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuzabed & Breakfast b&b, Suites And Apartments Hotel Lisbon
Zuzabed & Breakfast Bed And Breakfast, Suites And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing