We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B ZUZABED

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B ZUZABED
Ranked #11 of 231 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
willoughby
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A Delight”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

One can only concur with the mass of reviewers who praise this B&B. It must have the best location in Lisbon, serves a great breakfast and is clean and comfortable. It`s USP is Luis, the proprietor, whose helpfulness and general enthusiasm is quite something. He encourages socializing amongst the guests, so much so that several evenings began with an impromptu drinks party on the street, before folk went off to their various restaurants. The terrace outside two of the rooms is a wonderful place to relax and admire the cityscape. Only possible reservation would be the difficulty very large visitors or those with heavy luggage would have with the steps outside and the narrow steep stairs inside.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterthegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    616
    78
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
85
449
36
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at the Zuzabed&B!!! The location can't be beat! It is convenient to a lot of great places to eat/drink, and to a number of transportation means. Luis provides all of the information you need to get to the B&B before you get there. We recommend taking a cab from the airport if you have luggage (be sure to not pay more than about 15-17 Euros though, if they try to charge more, threaten to call the policia).

Both Luis and Nuno were very helpful and gave us lots of recommendations on where to go and what to do. They were so nice and treated all of the guests like great friends. They were so hospitable and we really felt welcome there.

Breakfast was great--cheese, meat, bread, juices, yogurt, some sweets, made to order eggs. They have a computer w/ internet that the guests can use as well.

We stayed in the Vintage Room during our stay and it seemed to be on the quieter side of the place. If you want a patio/deck to sit on, then reserve one of the other rooms. The room and bathroom are small, but clean and well-decorated. The bed was comfortable too.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Vintage room is quieter. The room on the same floor as the common area would be loudest in the morn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandoratx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Never in my life have I felt so welcome to stay in a foreign country. Luis was over the top kind and truly wanted my girlfriend and I to have the best stay in Lisbon.
The care that they provide is second to none, everything from stocking the fridge with food to the daily portuguese breads.... made me feel like I was home.

Looking forward to getting back soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycgottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Suite apartment, about a block away from Camões Square. The apartment was EXTREMELY good value. Particularly loved the bright and airy living area with its balconies. The apartment had everything we needed - we particularly appreciated having guide books, a little laptop, free wifi, mobile phone and a very well stocked kitchen (fruit, bread, museli, chips, jam, eggs, juice, milk, etc). Location was perfect - a short walk to Barrio Alto with all its restaurants and bars (but far enough away not to worry about the noise at night!) and shopping in Chaido. Luis and his staff were so friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Really can't stop raving about our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellsofsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at Zuzabed for the first time in July 2006, and six years on, the place hasn't got a wrinkle. Amazing views, beautifully decorated, fantastic breakfast, and the best part, the very friendly and helpful staff and the landlord, Luis Zuzarte. I'm a big fan… :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakoly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Last year a friend and I spent 4 days in Lisbon in the apartment of Luis Zuzarte in Bairro Alto. We looked for a nice but not too expensive place and we found Zuzabed on the internet. Communication by email with Luis Zuzarte, the owner, was perfect: he gave us all the info we needed. Our expectations were completely fulfilled when we saw the apartment; a small door in a typical Portuguese street, the place was very cosy, nicely decorated, perfectly clean and it had all the comfort we needed: a bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, living room, tv, internet, small terrace,... we could've stayed there for more than a month if we had wanted to. Luis and his friend were most kind, enthusiastic and warm, we felt as if we were home in a foreign city. Once we got the key, we could come and go whenever we wanted, we could eat in a restaurant or order pizza in our own apartment, it was just great! And we could call Luis any time we wanted with every question we had, so we weren't feeling left alone at all. My friend and I had the most wonderful stay and we would recommend Zuzabed to everyone who wants to actually feel what it's like to live in Lisbon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSW1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed at the Bed & Brekfast. Warm welcome. Comfortable and clean rooms, great breakfast, extremely helpful staff!! Very central location. Would definitely stay there again. Steep stairs to rooms makes it less suitable for families with small children and disabled.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
2,548 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
516 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Casa Balthazar
Casa Balthazar
#4 of 231 in Lisbon
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Casa do Barao
Casa do Barao
#1 of 231 in Lisbon
391 reviews
Casa Amora Guesthouse
#2 of 231 in Lisbon
757 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
Teatro Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 231 in Lisbon
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B ZUZABED? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B ZUZABED

Property: B&B ZUZABED
Address: Calcada do Duque 29 20, Lisbon 1200-155, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Chiado & Carmo
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a genuine and welcoming Portuguese way of living don't look any furhter. At ZUZA we proudly love to show our city and to help make you feel at home is indeed our goal. Anyway, this is not an hotel, ok! :) This is a B&B for relaxed people that consider comfort and prime location together with a local home service and company the most important thing to have when on holidays. While here you'll find the rest of the small luxuries we have for you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuzabed & Breakfast Bed And Breakfast, Suites And Apartments
Zuzabed & Breakfast b&b, Suites And Apartments Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing