We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveler rating
680
86
22
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
680
86
22
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslisbon suitesluis zuzartezuza bedother guestscastle roombairro altoprivate patioyogurtbreakfast tableeach morninghome away from homehameach guestflights of stairsliving roomrossio stationfive nights
Filter
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 798 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at the ZuzaBed B&B, and had a wonderful stay in Lisbon. We couldn't have asked for a better location (in Chiado near Barrio Alto) or for a better host, Luis. From the minute we arrived he made us feel welcome....carrying our suitcases up to our rooms, giving us a welcome drink of port and coffee, and helping us feel right at home in Lisbon. As many folks have mentioned, it was wonderful to have a cell phone to connect with Luis (and Carlos) whenever we had a question. Carlos and/or Luis showed up each morning to help us plan our day. They helped us organize our itinerary, plan our transportation, and came up with great places for dinner and lunch. Luis even bought our train tickets for our trip to Porto. For our trip to Sintra, Luis recommended our visiting Quinta da Regaleira (which turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip) and even provided the flashlights so we could better explore the caves and grottoes. I stayed in the Castle Terrace room and loved sitting on the deck in the morning, sipping coffee, watching the sunrise over the city. As mentioned by a few others the stairs are steep up to the rooms and the shower stall is small but the rooms are nicely decorated, all the amenities are provided including an espresso machine and hot pots that you can take to your room. I loved the option of having coffee or tea whenever I wanted. There was strong Wi-Fi in the rooms, and a computer in the main living room/dining area for guests to use. We enjoyed the breakfasts of pastries, meats, cheeses, juice, fruit, yogurt, and eggs upon request. Luis even baked us a wonderful cake one morning. As many have said before, it is Luis (and Carlos) that make this place so special. Their love of Lisbon and Portugal is shared with their guests, and they have the special ability to make everyone feel comfortable, at home, and like you've been friends for years. I highly recommend ZuzaBed if you are planning a trip to Lisbon!

Room Tip: If you don't mind an extra set of stairs, go for the Castle Terrace Room.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SeattleTraveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

this review is really long over due..apologies luis for not reciprocating to all the love that you gave us while in lisbon..
it is indeed luis that makes this place so special..both my husband and always look for b&b's that are loaded with warmth and love and we picked on zuzabed after reading all the reviews..
landed in lisbon early morning and there he was the magical man standing at the window and as we walked up the stairs i heard him call out my name..
the stay was fabulous ,zuza bed is really not all fancy and full of luxury but it is warm and positive..the place is kept spotlessly clean and not to miss the scrumptious breakfast ..luis even baked us a cherry chocolate cake one morning..
he recommended some really nice places to eat at ..the location tops it all ...and luis is all to help at any point of time,,,he went out of his way to get train tickets for us and got them delivered and after all this he insisted on buying us a couple of margaritas,,,this man absolutely rocks!!!
we enjoyed our stay at zuza bed and highly recommend it ..this place is not a hotel it is his lovely little home and hence that is what you need to expect..

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ShreedevSusmitha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The pluses are all accurate and Luis is great company and a very professional host. However, all should know that the actual rooms in the B&B are tiny and the cupboard bathrooms terrible. They are the worst bathrooms we have had in 4 annual 5 week trips to Europe. The balcony is wonderful and the views a great bonus. But the rooms...........
I am sure that the suites and apartments are far superior which is why the B&B must be seperately reviewed.
Another drawback is the long and very narrow staircase that will make it difficult for the older travellers and those with relevant disabiities.
But Lisbon is a fascinating city and the ambience of the area around the B&B is a great experience

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pies2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

My husband & I spent 3 wonderful nights in a Zuzabed apt (Casa Balthazar) and found Lisbon to be the most liveable large city we've ever visited, with amazing history, art and museums. We arrived early after an overnight flight & were generously admitted once the apt was ready. The refrigerator was stocked daily with fruit, cereal, vogurt, coffees & tea; the kitchen was amply supplied; and fresh, warm bread and pastries were hung daily in a cloth bag on our door. We had a terrace view overlooking old town Rossio Square with views to the Castelo Sao Jorge, romantically lit at night. The apt was comfortable, secure & well appointed, with modern furnishings & a 5 minute walk to all services including the handy "hop on & off" bus. While Luis was hospitalized and we never met him, he made sure that everything was well covered. One tip, the exchange rate changed about 10% between Friday in NYC and Monday in Lisbon, so exchanging some money in each location was a handy "hedge." The location was difficult to locate, but well worth the effort. Small cafes open at night in the alleys around the area and provided excellent and reasonably priced food. We would happily return!

Room Tip: The terrace was well worth the slight increase in cost. The "elevators" and trams wer fun and reduced the walking in the wonderful surrounding hills of beautiful Lisbon. January weather was wonderful: 60 degrees with sun most days and mid-40s at night.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llamajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We love staying in B&B's in Europe so that we can truly get the flavor of the country and meet other European travelers. This last trip to Lisboa was so memorable, I couldn't wait to get back to the states to praise the wonderful B&B that we stayed in there. From the minute that we booked the stay on line to the time of our arrival, Luis Zuzarte, the owner was more than accommodating and hospitable. He had a wonderful manager, Carlos who met us at the taxi, saw to it that we had our luggage taken to our room, introduced us to the facility and let us hit the ground running with great suggestions for touring and eating. The city view from our room was breathtaking and the breakfasts were more than generous. They even made sure that we had a cell phone so that we could contact them with any questions or concerns that came up while we were there in Lisboa. Their attentiveness was more than we've ever had staying anywhere else in B&B's.

Room Tip: The view facing the castle, was magnificant, though small.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews