We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (802)
Filter reviews
802 results
Traveler rating
684
86
22
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
684
86
22
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lisbon suites luis zuzarte zuza bed other guests castle room bairro alto private patio yogurt breakfast table each morning home away from home ham each guest flights of stairs living room rossio station beautiful city
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 802 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Luis was clearly born to run this business. The efficient booking process, the provision of all possible amenities, and the energy Luis put into ensuring my stay was relaxing and comfortable all combined to ensure that this was a fabulous trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0_Just_Laura_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Our association with Zuzabed got off to a kind of shaky start - the proprietor Luis takes a short vacation once a month to recharge his batteries, and I suspect we picked the wrong day for our initial enquiries, since he happened to be on the other side of the Atlantic at the time. Fortunately, I persevered and eventually tracked him down and got the necessary handshaking done to start the booking process.

It was worth it. And more.

I only mention this in case anyone else has second thoughts if their email enquiries don’t come flashing back in a nanosecond: this is very much a hands-on, one-man operation and Luis cannot be expected to be everywhere at once.

As for the accommodation and the services provided by Luis and his small but perfectly-formed team (including the charming Carlos, but don’t praise Benfica too much in his presence), it’s all been said before, but it is worth repeating: this is a class act, offering a great base from which to explore Lisbon and providing a relaxed and cordial ambience you will not get in most hotels.

Yes, there are steps on the Calcada do Duque outside, and restaurants with enthusiastic chuckers-in to negotiate your way past. No, there is no large neon sign above the door. Yes, there are stairs to climb (though there are willing hands to carry the bags up and down), and yes, by some standards the rooms are quite small, but these are a very small price to pay for the fact that this is an extremely comfortable and congenial crib, in a quite excellent location, a stone’s throw from Chiado, Rossio, and the nightspots of Bairro Alto.

The rooms and bathrooms are very well appointed, the wi-fi worked well, there is a comfortable lounging area with more guidebooks and maps than you can shake a stick at, breakfasts are excellent, and above all your host does everything to make you feel like an old friend stopping over for a few days (we were there for two nights at the beginning of our trip and one at the end) rather than a faceless pax in Room 401.

There have been umpteen references before this to “the mobile phone” that Luis hands out to guests - this is no simple gimmick, but an extremely useful tool, and even worked in the other direction as a packed local restaurant rang me in the street to report that a table Luis had booked for us was now available. When you have been in a strange city for less than two hours and this sort of thing happens, you KNOW you have landed on your feet.

Since he also liaised with other restaurants we had booked, and with the car rental firm we’d dealt with (a quick hat-tip here for the small firm of DSCARS on Avenida de Liberdade, who did a very good job at a competitive price), everything ran like clockwork.

Enjoy your monthly break, Luis, you earn it. And I believe it is probably the key to what keeps the operation fresh - he actually seems to enjoy what he is doing, which makes it doubly enjoyable for those who are lucky enough to get a bed here or at one of the Zuza self-catering apartments.

STRONGLY RECOMMENDED for anyone who does not regard a flashy street-front entrance as what an overnight stay is all about.

Tip: The top-floor rooms with terrace go fast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Otyikondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed four nights in ZUZA B&B and the place was wonderful! It felt like visiting someone's home. The staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent and the location great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKaisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

we recently spent a couple of days at the Zuza Bed City Break suites. We were met by Carlos who helped us into the apartment, showed us around and how everything worked. Ipod dock, cds, books, iron - there really is everything you need. There was food in the fridge, and more was delivered the next day. and he gave us a mobile phone to use in Lisbon. We needed to contact him, and he came back really quickly with what we needed. He called a local taxi firm to take us to the airport, who charged us less than the guidebooks state (a rarity).

Having just asked my partner if there was anything he didnt like - he said 'there is no lift', but as Carlos carried our bags up, that wasn't really a problem for us. The apartment was great, the service was better. if we come back to Lisbon, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank perubaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I've read the opening sentences of other travellers reviews and I completely agree with them - you are treated as a guest, not a customer. The help from Luis begins as soon as you make the booking with his welcome email - you'll have no issues getting to the place from the airport if you follow his instructions. On arrival, it's natural that you'd look and think "where am I or what have I done by booking here" but this thought will only last for a moment as once your in the building, you have access to better facilities than a 5* hotel in my opinion.

Luis or Carlos will give you a mobile phone when they check you in, which you can use that to call them at anytime and they are always happy to help. We did very little research before going to Lisbon and thought we'd go with the flow. This was fine, but when you need info regarding which tram to catch or which restaurant to eat at which isn't aimed at tourists - Carlos gave us a choice of a few as well as making the booking for us. We also called Luis to ask which tram to catch for Belem and again, he told us with no problem.

Breakfast was a great event for us, where we'd talk with Luis and the other guests and work out what else we had time to go and see. Fatima was the housekeeper who makes an excellent omlette in the morning and ensures that each night your room looks as good as the moment you arrived.

Rossio Square is 120 steps down and less than a minute after that. If you like Nandos in England, then order the chicken and chips at a restaurant off Rossio called Bon Jardim. Also for fish lovers, try Sea Me - a very clean and modern restaurant.

The bar land of Barrio Alto is 180 steps away - a must at midnight for an hour at least. You buy a drink at any bar and walk around through the rest of the area which you drinks. Very good to see as we'd never get this in the UK!! A very relaxed atmosphere here as well so no need to be concerned if you're travelling alone.

Overall, there is no point paying for hotels in Lisbon, when the best services and best location is with your awaiting friends Luis and Carlos at Zuzabed.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for the castle terrace room which is the best in the house. But even if you get one of the other 3 rooms, it's still not a problem as the location is so good.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dam4n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews