We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residencial Sul-Downtown
Ranked #177 of 274 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Positive: Pleasant room decoration, Wireless internet included in the room price, Employees were very nice, Excellent location, Comfy bed, Luggage room.

Negative: There´s no elevator, so it can be complicated to reach the second floor with heavy luggage.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veco84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

The only positive thig about this hotel is the locations.
When first arrived,we have been offered some oweful rooms,we had to insist to get another ok,otherwise we had to run away from there.
Impossible to sleep at night ,from 5am it look like there is a market going on down your window,is terrible,trolley up and down the street.
Pay some more money and get something worthy it your staying!!
The guy though at the reception was very kind and helpful with everything,luckily on that!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gen474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This place is located on a busy square in the center of Lisbon - great location - but it is so old and run-down, I don't think anyone should stay here, unless they only want the place for an hour. It has that hooker motel vibe to it. I actually hate to say this because the staff - there's one person at "reception" at all times - was mostly very kind and very helpful, as much as they could be. The rooms were clean but so old that the windows couldn't even close. The bathrooms feel like you've walked into a scary horror movie. The only good thing I can say is that the towels were unusually plush, especially for Europe. If you want to feel safe and if you want to get some sleep, this is NOT the "hotel" for you. I don't think it should even be called a hotel. It might rank as a "residencial" or some other category. The first room I was given, when I arrived late at night, was on a back street which was so noisy, I couldn't even sleep with earplugs in. The night guy was kind enough to offer me their only other room available, up a flight of windy, haunted-house stairs. He was right - it was "not fancy." I was basically in the attic with a tiny, maybe 1foot-by-1foot window that lead to the interior atrium - i.e., where every throws their trash. The smell of trash and the rampant mosquitos made me close the small window, which in turn made the room sweltering hot. My recommendation for staying in Spain or Portugal is: make sure there are air conditioners in the room, not because I'm spoiled and need a freezing cold room, but because if nothing else, you can avoid bugs and reduce noise (giving you just the white noise of the A/C).

Room Tip: My recommendation for staying in Spain or Portugal is: make sure there are air conditioners in the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NikkiHooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

This is the 4th time staying at this hotel and would stay here again. On the plus side, double rooms at the back, single rooms at the front are bright and airy. The front side has views of the square and the castello (up on the hill). Rooms are very clean. There is free wifi as well as access to computers. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about Lisbon and surroundings and getting around. Hotel is located near Rossio metro station and Restauradores metro (a few minutes a way). There is a train station around the corner which in the direction of Queluz and Sintra. The airport bus drops off right in front and there's a taxi rank across the square. Walking distance to shopping, tram 28, the waterfront. Some of the best pastries can be found next door at Cafe Gelo.

On the down side, inside rooms are dark, there are a lot of stairs to climb (no elevators) but that's Lisbon anyway, and quite cool during winter months, back side rooms can get quite noisy with garbage trucks, street cleaners, etc.

Room Tip: Rooms facing square are less noisy, bright and have good views but are double bed or single bed room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2011

This is a rather interesting hotel in that you go through a souvenir shop & up stairs to the hotel. The staff is wonderful & they gave me a very quiet room and they do have alot of rooms that overlook the incredible main square of Lisbon that is absolutely gorgeous! The staff was wonderfully friendly & caring to a weary traveler!!!

Room Tip: The quiet room is the one that does not have a view, which was fine with me as I wanted to rest &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christinabridges88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2007

The hotel is well situated: in the a main square and close to underground. On another hand, is really noisy from very early in the morning till late in the night.
Rooms are quite little, with little bathroom.
We had many problems with hot water (sometimes was not available), and the bed was not very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Silvia75Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: As suites dos cantos são amplas e soalheiras"
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazermar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Hotel Dom Afonso Henriques
#158 of 255 in Lisbon
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#76 of 255 in Lisbon
2,113 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,931 reviews
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#137 of 255 in Lisbon
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Sul-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Sul-Downtown

Address: Praca Dom Pedro IV, 59, 2 Esq, Lisbon 1100-200, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 274 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Sul-Downtown 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencial Sul-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Sul-Downtown Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing