We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine if you know what you're getting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Ranked #139 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fine if you know what you're getting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We've stayed here three times over three years and would do so again. Once for three days,twice as a one night stopover.

What you're getting is: 1.Great location. Right in city centre. Sights, shops, trams, buses, metro, restaurants, cafes... Within five minutes of main airport bus drop off. 2. Relatively quiet (unless you've very talkative neighbours) even though trams pass door. 3. Very clean 4. Cheap, particularly for location. 5. Generally helpful

Downsides 1. The lift (referred to in almost every report). I'm fairly fit but the stairs are a huff and puff 2. One or two have expressed concern over security in the area. It's a backstreet, yes, but scruffy rather than in any way threatening. Always people around and it's just 100 metres from main square. But I'm not a woman travelling
alone 3. Rooms vary. On a recent visit 301 had a bath the size of a large sink. a hold- it- over- your head shower with collapsing screen and a view over the backside of buildings. On our return trip room 307 had a spacious bathroom and a view up to the castle 4. I'm still spitting out the coffee we had at our last breakfast there. Maybe it's improved since then but there's plenty of top notch places to enjoy a proper Lisbon breakfast within five minutes.5. Was that drainage I could smell as I went upstairs?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cribmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    269
    90
    24
    6
See reviews for
81
201
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

the hotel is cute but it's definitely not a 4 star...it's located in the centre of the city so it's close to the shops, buses, etc.
me and my friend saw a beetle in the bathroom and on the ceiling....
as other users wrote, the problem is that the elevator is on the 1st floor so you gotta climb 2 stairs before reaching it....
anyway the maid managed to keep the room clean.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ariannawellmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

I booked Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia 3 months early than I went to Lisbon. I got a very good price. Even the room was not big but very clean. Also, I had my own balcony. The buffet breakfast were all with good taste.

Downside :
1. Lobby was at 2F without elevator. I should carry on my heavy luggage went upstairs by myself.
2. Elevator was very small. If you bring big luggages, you should go and back more than one time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

I am on the fence about this hotel. I think had we not stayed on the 2nd floor (1st floor of rooms) I may have liked it better. And if the heater had worked better in our room I may have been more excited about this place. It just happened to be our heater that was weak, and they were at full occupancy while we were there so we did not change rooms.
The location is extremely convenient. A very short walk to the Rossio metro. Several bus and trolley stops all within a very short walk. Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance.
I found the staff to be nice and helpful.
There is not an elevator for the 1st 2 floors. If you travel with a lot and/or heavy luggage you will need to carry up 2 flights of steps.
Breakfast was included, basic but quite a few choices of breads, cereals, cheeses, meats, yogurt, coffee and tea.
The rooms are very minimal. Good size room and bathrooms. The beds are old and worn, same with the bath towels and the pillows.
Some of the rooms do have some pretty views depending on what floor you are on.
We stayed on the 2nd floor (1st floor of rooms), and it was very loud.
At different times of the day the sewer smell in our room was quite strong.
The breakfast room is on the same floor and in the mornings the dishes clanking and the guests walking/talking up and down the hall is very loud.

The rooms are the hotel itself were very clean. There is a little bar/coffee area near the desk checkin. The wifi worked in our room but did not work in different parts of the hotel. There is a computer with internet for use near the check in desk.

With all that said, the hotel is in such a convenient spot, and the staff friendly.
The location may outweigh all the other nit picky points.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Location is great, room is basic, everything you need is there and it's very clean. Breakfast is ok, more extended than we expected in a Mediteranian country and there's also more than enough. Two subway stations very close by, major sights are within walkingdistance. And yes, you have to climb three stairs with your suitecase and the elevator is small, but it gives charme to this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Curiositeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This pension has spacious and comfortable rooms, but do be aware that there are stairs to carry luggage up. The lift is on the first floor and is very small. It was accommodation as part of a tour that I was travelling on so I am not sure about value for money. However, it was close to the major sights in Lisboa and to the Metro.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Serendipitous02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Good location, walking distance to almost every place. Good enough breakfast (Coffee and white bread). Room was nice and big, We could see Castel Sao Jorge from our window, very nice especially late in the evening.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJohannaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
Hotel Lisboa Tejo
#134 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Praca da Figueira
Pensao Praca da Figueira
#62 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Portuense
Hotel Portuense
#143 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Pensao Londres
Pensao Londres
#129 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Albergaria Insulana
Albergaria Insulana
#171 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Flor da Baixa
Flor da Baixa
#161 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia

Property: Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Address: Poco do Borratem 15, Lisbon 1100-408, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia Hotel Lisbon
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing