We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A group of 6 of us stayed here at this small hotel, very centrally placed. It had a wonderful 'tea bar' with delicious lemon shortbread biscuits and other pastries available all day. The breakfast (which was included in our room rate) was available until 12 noon with a good selection of fresh fruit, cereal, cheese, eggs, bacon, breads and pastries. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly and made every effort to make our stay a good one. The lounge area was a comfortable and relaxing space and there was a well stocked bar but sherry and port were provided free of charge throughout the day. There were a couple of outside bars nearby with live music which we also really enjoyed. The reasonably priced aerobus stops very near the hotel so it has good regular connections to the airport. We had a super time in Lisbon and this hotel really played an important part in making it a great city break.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie-Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

The room we stayed in (room 41) had 3 full sized (from floor to ceiling) windows. The architecture seemed a lot like Paris. So the room was really well lit during the day and from the windows you could still see the viewpoint from Saint Peter from Alcântara (near Bairro Alto) and the Santa Justa Lift.

The sleep quality was great because if you have the windows closed you won't notice a thing of what's happening outside and the bed was really comfortable. Bathroom was OK, I understand the Hotel wanted to maintain a classic style, for the bathroom, but it wasn't the style I was expecting for the price I payed.

The main lobby is the same where the breakfast is served. Many couches, no chairs and a tea counter available 24 hours a day along with some Porto wine. Breakfast was good, the fruit salad could have more fruit (didn't had banana) and there is Nespresso coffee.

Overall I felt I payed a lot more than I got. Overpriced but not bad, there's just other hotels that there are cheaper with the same or better quality.

Room Tip: We asked for a room at the 4th floor and we got the room 41 which has a window at the bathroom. We u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PedroNunesMartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed some of the features of our hotel.
The building dates back to the late XVIII century and the interior decoration was given to Miguel Câncio Martins who kept the tradition of the place but offering all modern comfort. The prices varies according to the room category, time of the year and special events in Lisbon, as is usual with most part of hotels around the world.
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I have just returned from a weekend in Lisbon with my husband to celebrate (belatedly) our 7th wedding anniversary. I stay in a lot of hotels with work and cannot usually get excited by them but I was very impressed with this little gem of a hotel. Efficient and friendly staff, beautifully decorated interior, excellent rooms and relaxing lounge area with free port and tea bar. Forgot our swimmers so couldn't take advantage of the pool area which though small looked very relaxing. The location was perfect, right in the heart of Lisbon and short walks to all the tourist destinations. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank LoopyStimlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for three nights on business.
This is a boutique type hotel, which usually means lots of character and individuality, but not as many facilities as you would expect in an international hotel. The Heritage Hotel fits this picture.
The architecture and decor are interesting. The rooms are well furnished and have a good range of fittings. There is free wifi, nice fluffy towels and robes in all rooms. The fitness room and pool are very small. There are two CV machines in the fitness room and if both are in use, there is not really space for a third person to work out.
The breakfast is a standard buffet served in the lobby/lounge area on the ground floor. The food is good but it can get busy at peak times.
One of the best features of the hotel is the staff: everyone is most friendly and helpful.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Andrew_B1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had booked through an Easyjet deal and were surprised by the quality of the hotel.

Well located and with good sized rooms with good baths and showers with the added benefit of an excellent breakfast with great variety of coffees.

An after dinner port was also appreciated.

My only problem was the firmness of the bed but on reading other reviews I learned that this could have been corrected if I had mentioned it to the management. Having just had a procedure for a problem with my beck I did not appreciate such a firm mattress. Toilet flush was also a bit unreliable but corrected this fault but am no plumber!

Friendly staff and really helpful reception staff with a good welcome.

All in all I very pleasant surprise in Lisbon

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exhotelier79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel has a great atmosphere. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful. The lobby includes a "tea counter" where you can help yourself to a range of teas, and a port table where you can enjoy complimentary port (and why not, you are in Portugal). There is also a mezanine library, inviting you to linger a little longer in the hotel and just relax and enjoy yourself. My room was lovely. Big, clean and comfortably appointed. There is a full size bathroom.
The location is good, a short walk to most things. I travel alone and its always a consideration whether I feel safe venturing from my hotel for an evening meal, and walking back afterwards. There is a street full of restaurants about a block away, with many varieties of food. A little further away and on the other side of the road is the area for Fado, many intriguing little bars and restaurants, and streets full of people enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulzE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We loved our stay in this hotel!   We were upgraded to the top floor suite and it was wonderful.  Absolutely huge with nice, comfortable furniture and nice bed and linens.  The bathroom was very large also with double sinks.  The windows afforded great views over the city.  The breakfast was great with everything I wanted as well as great coffee!  I thought the lobby decor was calm and welcoming after a busy day of sightseeing.  Everyone there was very friendly and as helpful as they could be.  My husband forgot his USB charger and the manager loaned him hers to use until we could go out and find one.  

The location of this hotel could not be better.  It is within walking distance to a lot of sights and great restaurants.  In addition, the Metro is very close, allowing you to travel to places beyond walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lv2travlChantilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,385 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,816 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,579 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $160 - $953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bridge between modernity and the past the Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel is a space that is truly urban, Lisbon and Portuguese, that enriches the city's heritage. The Restoration maintains all elements of the 18th-century facade on a project of the internationally famous architect Miguel Câncio Martins. The location makes it incredibly convenient for the old city, on the corner of the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade and the ancient Largo da Anunciada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing