We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place and people, all superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Ranked #3 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Place and people, all superb”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We bookended our tour of Portugal with two days here to start and two to end. This worked magnificently. Our rooms, both facing the side-street, were roomy, clean and comfortable, with an unfussy contemporary look (without that sleek effect some hotels foist on you). Staff very nice and helpful in minor and major issues. Excellent selection at breakfast (fresh juices, v. nice croissants and buns, fruit, coffee with hot milk, cereal, eggs and bacon if desired). In the evening, there are decanters of port for you to unwind with, on the house. Nice. Another nice touch: in-room safes with power outlets, so you could lock up electronics while charging them.

The only change I would ask for is the removal of an utterly dreadful piece of "artwork" in the lobby – it looks like the cover of one of those s-f novels where people fight aliens while riding on dragons. Sell it to a comic-book store.

Other than that, it will be my first choice for a repeat visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the side street offer a good balance of quiet and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidww1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,208
    273
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
170
1,000
44
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Party of 6 guys celebrating friends 50th. We had a splendid time and were central to all the sites and fun. We all said it was a perfect hotel to stay in and would all come back with our families separately.

Room Tip: They were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sssurri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at this beautiful boutique hotel last week and from the minute we arrived until we departed it was a complete and utter joy. How often can you say that about an hotel.
We arrived at 11 a.m. and after a wonderful greeting and going through the very quick and efficient checking in process, we were offered a late breakfast! Also as our room was unavailable until 3 p.m. we were offered use of the wet rooms in the basement which were furnished with a large supply of towels etc. There were ample seating areas in the reception area, and 24 hour access to the "tea and coffee bar". Bowls of fruit were always on hand as were decanters of port - all on the house!
The position of the hotel was superb and only a stroll from the centre of this part of the city.
Our room was big and airy and the bathroom fully stocked with Molton Brown toiletries. Clean towels were provided every day and if there was anything you were wanting, it was just a question of asking the staff and it would appear!
I cannot speak highly enough of this wonderful hotel. My friend and I are planning to return next year to this beautiful city, and will be going back here to stay.
To say that the hotel itself and the staff left a lasting impression is an understatement.
A lot of the bigger hotels around the globe could learn a lot from the Heritage.
If possible I would give it 10 stars!! So go there if you can. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Second floor at the side of the hotel. We were not disturbed at all by any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay. It's a beautiful old building right in the heart of the city. Easy walking distance to windy old streets and restaurants nearby.
The rooms are spacious, clean and beautifully decorated. Clean and modern design. My room looked straight out onto the Avenida. The service was very friendly and breakfast was good. I only wish I could have stayed there for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliverhalliwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay with my elderly Mum at this hotel. From the minute we arrived the staff went out of their way to help us. A simple thing like carrying our bags from the taxi, and changing our allocated room to a room that was ready because we had arrived early at 12am.
We stayed on the first floor, facing the main road, however our room was very quite and we heard no road noise at all.
The little touches like fresh biscuits and cakes in the lobby beside a range of fresh tea leaves so guests could help themselves to some fresh tea or coffee during the day was a lovely touch. As to was the wine and port that was available from 4pm on the lobby, again for guests to help themselves. Although I have to admit when we came back from sightseeing during the day I would make a pot of tea for mum and bring it up to our room instead of having it on the comfy couches in the lobby. Yet again the staff always lent a helping hand by offering to bring the tea up to our room or since my hands were full they would call the lift for me and enter my floor number for me.
The staff were always on hand with maps and directions and money saving tips on tram tickets and to make reservations.
On the day we were leaving I had problems with my airlines website and was unable to print our boarding passes, the reception staff asked for my booking reference and when we finished breakfast they had managed to print our boarding passes. Now that's service!
Highly recommend this hotel both for its location and staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishskibunny23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in great location. Very clean hotel and friendly helpful staff. Very spacious rooms for a city hotel. Loved the facility if the jet pool in the basement. Enjoyed the complimentary port and tea in the lobby area. When visiting Lisbon in the future I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkPoole2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

What a nice hotel in a great location ! Close to old town and right on the Avenida da Liberdade. I had room # 35 which was perfect. I had a great view of the funicular and even saw the flags on the top of St. George castle. The room was quiet as it was in the back of the hotel. Nice bathroom too. Breakfast downstairs was nice with enough variety of foods. I really liked the concierge services. Special thank you to Andre who helped me arrange private excursion for me and my parents. Really great experience overall and I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Take # 35. It is in the back of the hotel on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karikonrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
2,267 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
802 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 247 in Lisbon
1,496 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Property: Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. Subject to careful rehabilitation the hotel has come back to life by dint of a project of a unique nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing