We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy, comfortable and central”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel
Ranked #3 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel was perfect for us during a very hot four days in Lisbon. The air con worked perfectly, plus there were large calm bedrooms with internal shutters that also kept out the heat and light. We stayed In a superior room with twin/ double bed, this was comfortable and the room had sensible lighting. It was a double aspect room, always a bonus.The bathroom was spacious and airy and had internal shutters too. The 18 th century town house conversion into hotel was well done with decent decor and well maintained. It was not over fussy.The staff were helpful and efficient. Breakfast buffet was excellent. The location was good, next to a taxi rank, near the tourist office and bus stop for the Red Bus tours. We also found the post office nearby and good places to eat, excellent sea food
and people watching. When we came back after dinner it was relaxing to sit in the lounge with a
glass of port, provided free of charge on a serve yourself basis.
Two things; the bus from the airport is recommended but the stop is NOT the Avenida stop as you would think, but the next one, so get off after the Avenida stop. And the hotel has two entrances, one with steps and one at the side with a ramp. The step entrance needs a hand rail.we looked at the hymn and pool,but did not use them, all seemed clean and inviting.
As OAPs we were able to obtain a better inclusive rate on our stay which means you must stay three nights or more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RiberacHermitcrab2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We would like to precise the name of the bus stop you refer to, which is Restauradores. As we are located in the lower part of the fashionable Avenida da Liberdade, it is more convenient to use the Restauradores bus stop. Restauradores is one of Lisbon’s main squares in the historic center at the end of Avenida da Liberdade and adjacent to Rossio and Baixa. The Restauradores is also the square where is located the Gloria funicular which will take you to Bairro Alto in literally 2 minutes.
Thank you again for your help. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,615 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here end of July after a few days in Cascais. The hotel is in a great location. It is near two metro stations and elavators to bario alto. 5-10min walk to shopping streets.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel is decorated to a high standard and very clean. Rooms are lovely and comfortable. It is literally a boutique hotel as only a few rooms on each floor and breakfast, bar, reception, lobby etc are all the one area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whe1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Second time here. Staff delightful room vg .great location. Its a true boutique hotel charming .
Breakfast is superb small choice but Portugese custard tarts to die for !!!!!!
Great area for exploring the city trams and finiculaire.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDERSON51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had two rooms here early in August at the start of our Silver Coast holiday travelling with two teens, the staff and rooms were fantastic. Contemporary decor, spotlessly clean and with the most glorious bathroom in one of the rooms with french windows allowing the light and fresh air to flood in.

A very convenient location for some heavy duty sightseeing and the hop-on/hop-off buses were easy to access as was the Metro station. We managed an early morning trip to El Corte Ingles on our last morning and that took 12 mins door to door via the underground.

We had a hiccup with not being able to lock the safe one day and instantly the duty manager and a maintenance colleague arrived to sort the situation. It was handled beautifully and we were free to go off knowing that the manager was in charge and she re-set the machine in our absence and we were handed a sealed envelope on our return with the new code.

Breakfast quirky and accessible on ground floor, plenty of tables to sit at casually too.

The pavements in Lisbon took a bit of getting used to and I hardly dared look up at the sights for fear of falling into a crater or over a broken cobble but I adapted after half a day.

Wonderful welcomes, easy smiles and genuinely decent service from this hotel. We do recommend it and enjoyed our short visit.

Room Tip: Great little pool down in basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Av Liberdade for 5 nights earlier in the month. It was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. We were celebrating a special occasion - so they upgraded us to a suite - it was amazing. It was the perfect mix of old world charm with every modern convenience imaginable. I could not have wished for more in a hotel.

The room was spacious and immaculately clean. The decor was so stylish. We had free wifi, powerful air con, huge bathroom, gorgeous furnishings/fitting and toiletries (I adore Molton Browne). We got a bottle of Champagne in our room - and on the other evenings it was no trouble for them to bring buckets of ice to our room.

The location was perfect - so convenient to everything. Staff were lovely - really helpful. I loved the tea bar in the lobby - it was such a welcome and different feature. they also offered wines and ports - which we didnt try.

We did try the plunge pool - which was most welcome after a long day sight seeing. It is small but we always had it all to ourselves.

We didnt have breakfast - but it looked lovely - great variety. If I did have a tiny criticism it would be the lift - which is very slow. Small thing seeing as we only had to go to 1st floor.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (not always available). Ask for an upgrade - they will oblige if they have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I returned yesterday from 4 night stay in Lisbon at this hotel. I will second all the other positive reviews. The hotel is very comfortable, well located and with excellent staff. We had room 16 on first floor on the rear corner of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly particulary Andrew that seemed to be on duty each day we were at the hotel. The room was good size, well equipped, clean and with a very good double bed.

We had no complaints about anything and normally I can always find something in a hotel that I don't like but I am struggling this time. If I was to suggest an improvement it would be to replace the shower curtains. They were in keeping with the design of the rooms but a glass shower screen would be an improvement.

There are lots of goods aspecst to this hotel so I will list ones not mention elsewhere in other reviews. The WiFi is excellent and free. Worked easily and without fail and did not require a new log in every few minutes as I have just experienced in Paris. The hotel is on the Aerobus route from the airport which runs every 20 minutes throughout the day. The nearest stop is a simple 5 minute walk so you can get to and from hotel for less than 6Euros per person. The provision of free tea (huge choice of various teas), coffee and port was a great touch.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is really a wonderful hotel. The hotel is small and in a great central location. It is very near a couple of metro stations so it is accessible to many parts of the city. It is also very close to the Rossio station with the trains to Sintra. We stayed for 9 nights. The room we had was large and cozy, with very high ceilings and large windows. The bed was a bit soft for my taste and the hotel really needs to invest in some light down comforters and better linens (the scratchy blanket was needed, but very uncomfortable). The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast is well worth the cost and the tea bar (which needs some basic black teas) and port in the lobby was a very welcome touch. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words about our Hotel. We are most grateful for your feedback which help us to monitor and improve our service continually.
Concerning the bed being a little soft for your taste, we have the possibility of changing the firmness of our mattresses during the guest’s stay. You just have to let us know if you don’t like the way it is and we will happy to adjust it to your preference.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Lisbon and provide you with a totally satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
611 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,385 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#5 of 255 in Lisbon
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,818 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,579 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 255 in Lisbon
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $160 - $953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bridge between modernity and the past the Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel is a space that is truly urban, Lisbon and Portuguese, that enriches the city's heritage. The Restoration maintains all elements of the 18th-century facade on a project of the internationally famous architect Miguel Câncio Martins. The location makes it incredibly convenient for the old city, on the corner of the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade and the ancient Largo da Anunciada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing