We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel
Ranked #5 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Heritage Av Liberdade for 5 nights earlier in the month. It was absolutely fabulous from start to finish. We were celebrating a special occasion - so they upgraded us to a suite - it was amazing. It was the perfect mix of old world charm with every modern convenience imaginable. I could not have wished for more in a hotel.

The room was spacious and immaculately clean. The decor was so stylish. We had free wifi, powerful air con, huge bathroom, gorgeous furnishings/fitting and toiletries (I adore Molton Browne). We got a bottle of Champagne in our room - and on the other evenings it was no trouble for them to bring buckets of ice to our room.

The location was perfect - so convenient to everything. Staff were lovely - really helpful. I loved the tea bar in the lobby - it was such a welcome and different feature. they also offered wines and ports - which we didnt try.

We did try the plunge pool - which was most welcome after a long day sight seeing. It is small but we always had it all to ourselves.

We didnt have breakfast - but it looked lovely - great variety. If I did have a tiny criticism it would be the lift - which is very slow. Small thing seeing as we only had to go to 1st floor.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor (not always available). Ask for an upgrade - they will oblige if they have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,644)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

744 - 750 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

I returned yesterday from 4 night stay in Lisbon at this hotel. I will second all the other positive reviews. The hotel is very comfortable, well located and with excellent staff. We had room 16 on first floor on the rear corner of the hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly particulary Andrew that seemed to be on duty each day we were at the hotel. The room was good size, well equipped, clean and with a very good double bed.

We had no complaints about anything and normally I can always find something in a hotel that I don't like but I am struggling this time. If I was to suggest an improvement it would be to replace the shower curtains. They were in keeping with the design of the rooms but a glass shower screen would be an improvement.

There are lots of goods aspecst to this hotel so I will list ones not mention elsewhere in other reviews. The WiFi is excellent and free. Worked easily and without fail and did not require a new log in every few minutes as I have just experienced in Paris. The hotel is on the Aerobus route from the airport which runs every 20 minutes throughout the day. The nearest stop is a simple 5 minute walk so you can get to and from hotel for less than 6Euros per person. The provision of free tea (huge choice of various teas), coffee and port was a great touch.

I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is really a wonderful hotel. The hotel is small and in a great central location. It is very near a couple of metro stations so it is accessible to many parts of the city. It is also very close to the Rossio station with the trains to Sintra. We stayed for 9 nights. The room we had was large and cozy, with very high ceilings and large windows. The bed was a bit soft for my taste and the hotel really needs to invest in some light down comforters and better linens (the scratchy blanket was needed, but very uncomfortable). The staff is very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The breakfast is well worth the cost and the tea bar (which needs some basic black teas) and port in the lobby was a very welcome touch. Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crucifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words about our Hotel. We are most grateful for your feedback which help us to monitor and improve our service continually.
Concerning the bed being a little soft for your taste, we have the possibility of changing the firmness of our mattresses during the guest’s stay. You just have to let us know if you don’t like the way it is and we will happy to adjust it to your preference.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Lisbon and provide you with a totally satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a small hotel in the heart of Lisbon. It is comfortable, reasonably priced and the staff are extremely courteous, knowledgeable and friendly. I may forget a name or two but Carlata, Patricia, Josef and Katia come to mind. The breakfast is excellent and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. And even though it is on the main street the rooms are quiet. My wife and I would not hesitate to stay there on our next visit---Nazir

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazzoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel was just lovely. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed and treated very well. The central location allowed us to experience the best of Lisbon in the small time we had there. There's a tea station in the lobby which was a lovely touch with a selection of loose leaf tea at any time of day! The pool area was lovely and clean with the jet pool and nice loungers. The staff helped recommend bus tours and booked tickets for us which was helpful as well as always being able to recommend locations to visit or restaurants to eat at! The whole family had a great stay, all three rooms we booked were tidy, spacious and had brilliant bathrooms. Would definitely recommend and rebook if visiting Lisbon again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My mother and I have a Mother/Daughter Trip ever year and this year we decided to visit Portugal. In Lisbon we stayed at the Heritage Av Liberdade. We were both very, very pleased with the decision. Overall, it is a gorgeous, quaint hotel situated in a PERFECT location. It was close enough to all of the action and sights to be seen, but far enough away not to encounter the noise of what I would call "downtown" Lisbon. We were able to walk just about everywhere! Even when the staff recommended that a taxi might be best, we still walked to most places within reason.

The staff was great! Extremely nice and helpful and spoke English very well. Upon walking around the city for 3 days, we decided we were happiest with the location of our hotel. There are a number of hotels right in the heart of the action, but with the late nights in Lisbon, these tended to be very noisy areas. For a young group of friend or a younger couple, those might have been more ideal...but not for us. Particularly since we were literally a 5-10 minute walk from these areas.

The one complaint we had was the functionality of the AC in our particular room. We were in room 62, which again, was a very nice gorgeous room with great views. However, it was on the top floor, in a corner with a lot of sun exposed surface. The room did not get very cool. The temperature in Lisbon is nearly 100 in the month of August, so walking in to a warm room was very uncomfortable. Unfortunately, there was nothing that could be done to the AC, as it was on as high as possible. The staff provided an oscillating fan that worked wonders. We kept the bathroom door closed (it was quite a large bathroom) as to not attempt to cool unnecessary space. At the end of the day, it worked out. The fan worked just fine.

We opted out of the Breakfast option at the hotel, which was 14 euros a day, per person. There are so many small cafes that serve such great pastries and other options, that we were able to eat much cheaper every morning.

If visiting Lisbon again, I would absolutely choose this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone going!

Room Tip: Not sure if all of the rooms on the 6th floor have the same issue, but room #62 has vaulted ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We actually booked twp nights in one of their sister hotels in Lisbon, but when we arrived , they were oversold and asked if we would be willing to stay at Heritage Av Liberdade with same conditions. As they were right across the avenue, we agreed. The staff at Heritage Av Liberdade welcomed us very warmly, and to our surprise, the lovely assistant manager, Katia, upgraded us to a penthouse suite! The room was amazing, overlooking the city and the Castle Sao Jorge. The bathroom was immense, complete with bathrobes and slippers. Everything spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Complimentary porto and apples in the room. Air conditioning was just right. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful with so much choices, even pasteis (traditional little custard pies.) The front desk staff were always very helpful, every one of them. The location is within walking distance to metro, bus and tramway stations, and funecular to Bairro Alto. A very good seafood restaurant just up the street (Qebra Mar.) Check-out at noon is also a plus, as you can take your time. We didn't have to leave for the airport until 4pm, so they kept our luggage for us the last day after checking out and even let us take showers downstairs in the gym area before heading for the airport. The staff at this otel really made us want to come back again, which we will definitely do next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willowcat95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
Britania Hotel
#4 of 255 in Lisbon
2,428 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#2 of 255 in Lisbon
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#3 of 255 in Lisbon
893 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Martinhal Lisbon Chiado Family Suites
As Janelas Verdes
#8 of 255 in Lisbon
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel

Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $155 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a bridge between modernity and the past the Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel is a space that is truly urban, Lisbon and Portuguese, that enriches the city's heritage. The Restoration maintains all elements of the 18th-century facade on a project of the internationally famous architect Miguel Câncio Martins. The location makes it incredibly convenient for the old city, on the corner of the exclusive Avenida da Liberdade and the ancient Largo da Anunciada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing