We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Ranked #3 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great staff and ideal location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This hotel was just lovely. From the moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed and treated very well. The central location allowed us to experience the best of Lisbon in the small time we had there. There's a tea station in the lobby which was a lovely touch with a selection of loose leaf tea at any time of day! The pool area was lovely and clean with the jet pool and nice loungers. The staff helped recommend bus tours and booked tickets for us which was helpful as well as always being able to recommend locations to visit or restaurants to eat at! The whole family had a great stay, all three rooms we booked were tidy, spacious and had brilliant bathrooms. Would definitely recommend and rebook if visiting Lisbon again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    270
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
165
967
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

My mother and I have a Mother/Daughter Trip ever year and this year we decided to visit Portugal. In Lisbon we stayed at the Heritage Av Liberdade. We were both very, very pleased with the decision. Overall, it is a gorgeous, quaint hotel situated in a PERFECT location. It was close enough to all of the action and sights to be seen, but far enough away not to encounter the noise of what I would call "downtown" Lisbon. We were able to walk just about everywhere! Even when the staff recommended that a taxi might be best, we still walked to most places within reason.

The staff was great! Extremely nice and helpful and spoke English very well. Upon walking around the city for 3 days, we decided we were happiest with the location of our hotel. There are a number of hotels right in the heart of the action, but with the late nights in Lisbon, these tended to be very noisy areas. For a young group of friend or a younger couple, those might have been more ideal...but not for us. Particularly since we were literally a 5-10 minute walk from these areas.

The one complaint we had was the functionality of the AC in our particular room. We were in room 62, which again, was a very nice gorgeous room with great views. However, it was on the top floor, in a corner with a lot of sun exposed surface. The room did not get very cool. The temperature in Lisbon is nearly 100 in the month of August, so walking in to a warm room was very uncomfortable. Unfortunately, there was nothing that could be done to the AC, as it was on as high as possible. The staff provided an oscillating fan that worked wonders. We kept the bathroom door closed (it was quite a large bathroom) as to not attempt to cool unnecessary space. At the end of the day, it worked out. The fan worked just fine.

We opted out of the Breakfast option at the hotel, which was 14 euros a day, per person. There are so many small cafes that serve such great pastries and other options, that we were able to eat much cheaper every morning.

If visiting Lisbon again, I would absolutely choose this hotel again and would recommend it to anyone going!

Room Tip: Not sure if all of the rooms on the 6th floor have the same issue, but room #62 has vaulted ceilings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarcelles, France
Level Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We actually booked twp nights in one of their sister hotels in Lisbon, but when we arrived , they were oversold and asked if we would be willing to stay at Heritage Av Liberdade with same conditions. As they were right across the avenue, we agreed. The staff at Heritage Av Liberdade welcomed us very warmly, and to our surprise, the lovely assistant manager, Katia, upgraded us to a penthouse suite! The room was amazing, overlooking the city and the Castle Sao Jorge. The bathroom was immense, complete with bathrobes and slippers. Everything spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. Complimentary porto and apples in the room. Air conditioning was just right. Breakfast the next morning was wonderful with so much choices, even pasteis (traditional little custard pies.) The front desk staff were always very helpful, every one of them. The location is within walking distance to metro, bus and tramway stations, and funecular to Bairro Alto. A very good seafood restaurant just up the street (Qebra Mar.) Check-out at noon is also a plus, as you can take your time. We didn't have to leave for the airport until 4pm, so they kept our luggage for us the last day after checking out and even let us take showers downstairs in the gym area before heading for the airport. The staff at this otel really made us want to come back again, which we will definitely do next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willowcat95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

A most lovely hotel, superior in every way. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, the service, the ambience and the peace and quiet were of the top order. The welcome we were given on arrival set the tone for our stay. The room was super, clean and tidy, with a very comfortable and spacious, spotless bathroom and a lovely little balcony. The free tea in reception was a revelation with a fantastic choice of types (the port was pretty good to) . The little gym and pool area was very relaxing and a good place to start the day.
We were room only so cannot comment on the food but would expect it to be pretty good, in line with everything else in the hotel that we experienced.
As for Lisbon, what a great city. Great buildings, good bars, smashing restaurants with good prices if you get off the beaten track and some very interesting and diverse museums. All in all, a great stay at a top class hotel in a top class city.

Room Tip: They are all good, just upgrade to the best you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

i spent two nights in the hotel in august 2013... I was with a small group of 7 people; our plane was late, we had a special request for a children etc...The service was nearly perfect, nothing wrong to say, they helped us far beyond what you can expect from an hotel... Very comfortable rooms, from the breakfast to the kindness, everything was perfect (or near)... they pushed the service to offer a apple and a pc for the guest...
With 7 people and 7 different requests we pushed a little bit the hotel and i have only one thing to say ... Bravo, they smiled all the way, we felt a real professionalism; and all this with a true smile...
The situation is perfect (close to almost everything), it is a luxury hotel, sure you can find cheaper, but with a small pool, a perfect location, fantastic beds (rooms with a true charm), a so good service etc... it is one of the best quality price i have ever found..

Room Tip: don't hesitate to ask for a room on the first floor they have a very good isolation
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gvincke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife to celebrate her birthday.
Very good position and very friendly and welcoming staff.
Rooms a good size with lovely old fashioned bath room.
I am a port lover and they were giving it away for free what a bonus.
On our last day my bag was stolen in a restaurant just up the road about 30 minutes before we left for the airport.
I reported this distressing matter to Carlota on the reception who has been exceptional. She even went to the police station to report the crime on my behalf. Service above and beyond the call of duty.
Lovely hotel but I'm afraid never again to lisbon

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed five nights in this beautiful hotel. Upon entering, once gets a sense of opulence. The reception area has been well planned, with a self service tea bar resembling an old fashioned shop for guests, adjacent to a luxurious lounging area. Walking through one arrives at reception, which has another lounging area adjacent and where breakfast is served.

There is nothing missing in this hotel. Friendly, helpful staff, with lots of advice about tours etc.
Breakfast is a great selection on a buffet, with freshly squeezed juice and local specialities included.

Our room was huge, with a sunny outlook to the street. The bathroom was large and accommodating, and air conditioning worked well.

This hotel has been the best that we stayed in during a trip to Spain and Portugal. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francolearner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,193 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#8 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Property: Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. Subject to careful rehabilitation the hotel has come back to life by dint of a project of a unique nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing