We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Glowing Reviews are Accurate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Ranked #3 of 246 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ny
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“The Glowing Reviews are Accurate”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The hotel is well located in the old city, the rooms and lobby are beautifully restored, and the staff members are friendly and helpful. Staying here would be an excellent choice for a tourist or for a person with business downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    271
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
168
996
43
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and cannot fault it. It is in a great position with all the major fashion brands within walking distance. Had rock café about 400 yards away and lots of home grown eating places. The staff were very helpful and changed are room position from the fifth floor to first floor when I explained that my wife did not use lifts and would need access by stairs.
The room was excellent large and clean. If it lacked anything it was an outside space to chill in with a drink. Tea and coffee was free for the guests just help yourself in the foyer, nice touch!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

From check in to departure the hotel workers were amazing, nothing was too much for them. Very informative and always with a smile. The rooms are 5star.Rooms and common areas spotlessly clean. Tea and coffee available in the lounge area 24/7 and the selection of loose tea to choose from is quite extensive. Would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: We travelled in a party of 4 couples and were all on different floors, room lay out pretty similar o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We travelled through Barcelona and Portugal and this hotel was the last one we stayed in. We were really lucky with our hotels during this trip and we didn't think that this hotel will be better than the others that we were at...but this hotel surpassed our expectations and ended our trip on a positive note...

First of all, the hotel is located on a quiet, high end street and quite close to the main shopping area. The hotel itself is beautiful and very accommodating. We were travelling with another couple so they put us in two rooms side by side with a common entrance so we felt as if we were in a self contained apartment...Great start.

The rooms were quite big and spacious. Beautiful bathroom and luxurious bath products..Molton Brown...The hotel had a library/internet room with 2 super fast computers and printer. There was a quaint little indoor pool next to the gym in the basement level. The hotel also provided free porto in their lobby as well as a tea area for complimentary teas whenever you wanted....THIS was a deal breaker for us...it was great to come down to the lobby, have a drink and go off for dinner...It's the small details like this that make all the difference.

Andrew, the receptionist/concierge was a true gentleman. He was so helpful in advising which restaurants to go to and he would even call to make reservations. He is a huge asset to this hotel and he is one of the reasons that we would go back or refer this hotel to our friends....The young lady who works the evening shift was extremely gracious as well...

All in all, clean, hospitable, well priced hotel...would surely recommend this to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montrealguys4651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London,UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our Initial choice was the Britannia but they were already booked fully for two of our proposed nights.They offered us their sister hotel, the Heritage, which in retrospect probably turned out to be the better choice as it was more centrally located and it was particularly close to the Tourist Information Centre and the Hard Rock Cafe which seemed to be a major pick up/drop off point for many of the organised tours. We cannot comment on the small pool and spa as we did not use them but it all looked very clean and had 24 hour access for residents.

Our room although a loft conversion was very skilfully done offering lots of space and included a chaise lounge and writing table. The bathroom was equally large and had a good power shower with Molton Brown products and ample towels, not to mention bath robes and slippers.

Breakfast was fine with enough choice of hot and cold food but we found both the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs a little too salty for our taste and limited ourselves to the excellent fruits, cereals, breads and yogurts available. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and our special thanks to Patricia, Joao and Andrew for making our stay so memorable. We particularly liked the Library with its books, magazines and Apple I-Mac internet computer and printer and the free daily treats of port, tea and small cakes.

The Heritage is ideally situated for almost everything Lisbon has to offer from easy access by Aerobus from the Airport to designer shopping, a myriad of eating places and for those who find Fado hard going, the excellent jazz and blues singers who perform nightly at the cafes along the Avenue Liberade a very pleasant alternative, not to mention the rock bands who perform at the Hard Rock at weekends. We found the Portugese people very friendly and charming and it genuinely seemed a place where all the locals and those from their many colonies co-existed happily. Sintra and Cascais were good day trips from Lisbon for a fairy tale and beach experience. Lisbon generally seemed a very safe place even late at night despite the presence of a significant number of rough sleepers and beggars, most were non-agressive though occasionally persistent. Costs of eating out and transport including taxis seemed very reasonable in Lisbon compared to other European capitals and we intend to fully explore other parts of this lovely country on future visits.

Room Tip: We were in Room 62 on the Top floor which affords a good view of the Castle and the surrounding area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indigo242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

From the begining untill we check-out, this hotel was the best we stayed, in this trip to Europe.
the room was spacious, very well equipped, the bed was comfortable,and everything was very clean.
The staff were able to assist us with any of our questions, good restaurant recomendations, smart ideas to visit this lovely city.
Breakfast was lovely and there was a lot of variety.
The free tea/coffee with cookies is a very nice touch.
We highly recomend it, and we will came back next year.... Just wait for us. Keep the good work!

Room Tip: rooms to the back, best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madmaxsamuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Have just left this lovely hotel where we stayed for 3 nights. This was part of our 6 week tour of Portugal and Spain. We had a requested a high floor room with a view of the castle and when we checked in we were on floor 2 and at the front of the hotel! Total opposite to what we had requested. We decided to check the room out and it was lovely! Apart from the beds being 2 singles together and a very small shower enclousure we had no complaints. Location very central.Nice free secure carpark a short walk away. Small pool which we didnt use so cant really comment, but open 24 hrs. We overlooked the Avenue but the windows kept out noise. We had a little balcony which was lovely.
We did ask for a recomendation for a Fado restaurant which turned out to be awful, we fed this back to the hotel who were apologectic and compensated us with a bottle of port as they felt partly responsible. Breakfast ok. Enjoyed the complimentary port and tea. Also lovely toletries.
But as our title says, the best thing about this hotel are its staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank addicted-to-travel60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your comments following your recent stay with us. We are glad that in general you enjoyed your stay and specially our staff.
We are very sorry that you experienced some issues with your reservation . It is recommended that special requests are asked directly to the Hotel and we will do our best to meet them.
We will keep on working to improve our service all the time.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future and offer you a totally satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 246 in Lisbon
2,256 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 246 in Lisbon
551 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 246 in Lisbon
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 246 in Lisbon
798 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 246 in Lisbon
882 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 246 in Lisbon
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Property: Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. Subject to careful rehabilitation the hotel has come back to life by dint of a project of a unique nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing