We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Ranked #7 of 241 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Helsingør, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this great hotel for a week, and we enjoyed it tremendously. The staff was pleasant and helpful, the rooms extremely clean, with big windows facing the Avenida, yet it was very quiet. The bathroom was lovely - it even had a balcony! Breakfast was really nice with fresh fruit, eggs and freshly baked bread. Best of all was the location, situated close to everything and next to a metrostation. We can only recommend this lovely place, and we would gladly stay again, if our way should come through Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dane52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,016
    247
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
151
838
35
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Highly recommendable hotel in central Lisbon! We really liked the welcoming and modern interior design, the central location (a mere 5 min. walk to the centre), the friendliness of the staff, the rich and tasty breakfast buffet (great orange juice!) and the cleanliness of the room. A really nice touch is the free coffee and tea, port and moscatel in the lobby. The only (minor) downside was that the room was a little warm at night with the AC switched off (with 10°C outside in early March!), but throughout the night the Avenida is too noisy to sleep with an open window. Still, a really nice place to stay, whether for just a night or much longer. And what really makes the difference is that the staff seems to care.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hobsbawm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Fantastic hotel. This is in a great location, ideally situated near metro, close to shops, tram 28 for old style Lisbon - watch for the local rascals hanging on the sides, tram 15 for Belem Tower, modern art exhibition etc.
Hotel is very stylish, from lift to corridors, to tag for do not disturb, to full length windows, to sound proofing, to brilliant staff, to molten brown toiletries, to great size beds, to free apples,to lighting, to plunge pool, to towels, to great coffee at breakfast. This could be the best hotel you've stayed in!!
Everything is wonderful. Avoid room 21-it's mine!! 3 balconies in one room-never had that before. Largest bathroom I've been in!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front. Sound proofing is fantastic. I'm a light sleeper and was never distur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jorges V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
227 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in mid-March. Lovely hotel right in the middle of Lisbon. Easy to walk to sites, take the metro or catch a cab. Hotel has a nice lobby and we spent some time relaxing there. Service was friendly and personable, but not flawless - had to ask for amenities to be topped up in our room, tea pots/water to be replaced at tea bar (which was a nice touch), laundry back after 8pm rather than by 6pm etc. Also, as some other guests noted, while the room was much larger than I expected (Heritage room, 51) and I did expect it to be, not luxurious per se, but less stark. Also, I'd step up the snack selection - we ordered the cheese plate and the ham & cheese sandwich - very basic, but could have been much nicer, especially the cheese plate - felt like something someone's grandma would make for an after school snack.

We both thought the gym, while very very small, fit our needs. It's rare to find gym equipment in boutique hotels in city centres, so a definite plus.

Despite not finding it perfect, I'd stay here again. Lisbon is not a big city and it's easy to get around, but I liked being right in the middle of things.

Room Tip: Heritage rooms are very large for two people - especially the corner room that we had (51). We face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rajithavinnakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us.
Whilst we are very pleased to know that you liked our location and our friendly staff, we are very sorry to learn that some aspects of our Hotel were not correct. Please accept our sincere apologies.
It is from the feedback of our guests that we try to continuously improve our service.
Thank you for your confidence on us and we are looking forward to welcoming you back and provide you a with a fully satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We chose this hotel as part of a trip organised by Kirker Holidays. (They are excellent by the way for short breaks and am happy to answer any questions about them). The receptionist was so warm and welcoming. She knew it was our wedding anniversary and we were given a bottle of sparkling wine to mark the occasion. Our room on the third floor was very light and spacious with 2 floor to ceiling windows complete with juliette balconies which opened. Beautiful hardwood floors and comfortable settee. Even though we looked onto the Avenue Liberdade we were not troubled by any noise. I echo everything which has been said about the position of the hotel regarding ease of transport. The availability of tea at anytime is also a big plus. We spent some time around the pool on one afternoon and the area has been beautifully done with comfortable loungers and soft lighting which changes colour. Even though I can't swim the availability of an area like this to relax in in a city centre hotel is very welcome after a days sightseeing. We did a walking tour of the city with Lisbon Spirit (see separate review) which I can thoroughly recommend. The hotel staff helped us to organise this. The staff were really wonderful at this hotel. Nothing was ever too much trouble.They were happy to book taxis/give directions. I had a problem printing out boarding passes for our return flight and they spent ages trying to help. We hope to return to Lisbon and will stay here again. I can also recommend Largo for dinner. Not cheap but fantastic. Again see separate review.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandCDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in March 2013. The best thing about the hotel is it's location. Right by the Restoradores Metro stop, Rossio train station and also the bus stops for Airport etc. Plus, you are literally 2 mins away from more bars, restaurants etc than you could ever wish for as well as the main central square. However don't think this means it's noisy - far from it, It's on a tree lined main street (shops like Prada, Gucci etc just doors away) and it's very quiet.
The hotel itself is small but nicely decorated and the rooms were very spacious and clean. Molton Brown toiletries a bonus!
Breakfast was extremely fresh and there was a nice selection including scrambled eggs and bacon.
Only reason I haven't given it 'excellent' is that bar prices in the hotel were a bit high which is a shame as it'd be nice to have come back and had a coffee or drink in the lounge at the end of the day but it was a bit steep compared to local bars. Also breakfast is served in the lounge area and it's quite cramped when everyone is trying to get breakfast and the chairs are more designed for 'lounging' than eating so everyone is trying to go backwards and forwards past the large chairs to the buffet while also eating at very low tables. However this is definitely not a deal breaker - I'd have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 63 and I liked it but there is a bell tower which chimes on the hour (but this wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willow572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best I have every stayed in Europe. Clean rooms that were very spacious, lovely bathroom with Molton Browne toiletries. All the staff were so friendly and helpful.
Lisbon however was a disappointment where we felt we were being ripped off at every place we went to. Food and drink very expensive and staff always trying to see something more expensive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gaf2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay in our Hotel, which we were very happy to read.
However, we are most concerned with your experience with the restaurants that you visited in Lisbon. That is not the norm with the majority of the restaurants. Most part of them reflect the welcome character of the Portuguese people and we hope that in the future you will only have good experiences in Lisbon.
Thank you again.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 2,178 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 241 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 241 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#4 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#3 of 241 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Porto Bay Liberdade
#19 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Property: Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#10 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. Subject to careful rehabilitation the hotel has come back to life by dint of a project of a unique nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing