We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location - Lovely Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Ranked #3 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Location - Lovely Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in March 2013. The best thing about the hotel is it's location. Right by the Restoradores Metro stop, Rossio train station and also the bus stops for Airport etc. Plus, you are literally 2 mins away from more bars, restaurants etc than you could ever wish for as well as the main central square. However don't think this means it's noisy - far from it, It's on a tree lined main street (shops like Prada, Gucci etc just doors away) and it's very quiet.
The hotel itself is small but nicely decorated and the rooms were very spacious and clean. Molton Brown toiletries a bonus!
Breakfast was extremely fresh and there was a nice selection including scrambled eggs and bacon.
Only reason I haven't given it 'excellent' is that bar prices in the hotel were a bit high which is a shame as it'd be nice to have come back and had a coffee or drink in the lounge at the end of the day but it was a bit steep compared to local bars. Also breakfast is served in the lounge area and it's quite cramped when everyone is trying to get breakfast and the chairs are more designed for 'lounging' than eating so everyone is trying to go backwards and forwards past the large chairs to the buffet while also eating at very low tables. However this is definitely not a deal breaker - I'd have no hesitation in staying there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 63 and I liked it but there is a bell tower which chimes on the hour (but this wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willow572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,150
    266
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
160
956
42
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is one of the best I have every stayed in Europe. Clean rooms that were very spacious, lovely bathroom with Molton Browne toiletries. All the staff were so friendly and helpful.
Lisbon however was a disappointment where we felt we were being ripped off at every place we went to. Food and drink very expensive and staff always trying to see something more expensive.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gaf2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay in our Hotel, which we were very happy to read.
However, we are most concerned with your experience with the restaurants that you visited in Lisbon. That is not the norm with the majority of the restaurants. Most part of them reflect the welcome character of the Portuguese people and we hope that in the future you will only have good experiences in Lisbon.
Thank you again.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed for three nights here.
Nice spacious room with bath and shower. Lovely view of the Liberdade and good noise insulation.I haven't given it an excellent is because the breakfast buffet is essentially the same every day and I thought the mattress was a bit unforgiving for the price - nothing wrong with it but I am used to a more luxurious-feeling mattress when paying this sort of price.
It is worth searching around on different websites - we found a great deal on the Heritage room by going through a Spanish website that was significantly cheaper than others.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a heritage room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Heritage Avenida Liberdade, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us and we are happy to know that you appreciated our hotel and location. Thank you also for giving us the opportunity to offer a better service and to clarify some aspects of your stay.
Concerning the breakfast we try to have local products, which vary according to the season but not every day.
Our mattresses are medium firm in order to please most part of our guests, but we have the possibility to turn them softer or firmer during the guest stay. If the guest does not like the way it is, he just has to let us know his preference and we will be glad to adjust the firmness of the mattress according to the guest liking.
Concerning our rates, occasionally we have promotions that you can always find in our website.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future and try to offer you a fully satisfactory stay.
Sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Welcome drinks (port/sherry) available on arrival, breakfast was excellent with a buffet of cereal, cooked breakfast, breads, freshly squeezed orange juice,and a choice of coffees. Room clean and comfortable with good air conditioning. Centrally located. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Heritage Hotel was a good suprise! This hotel is amazing....
The staff is very helpfull, the room very clean, with Molton brown amenities, good ropes, slipers,..
I loved the atmosphere and the decoration of the rooms, i think they done a good job.
In a great location, Liberdade avenue, you can walk to the most important points of this lovely city.
About this hotel i just want to say keep the good work...
Many thanks, we felt very welcome...

Room Tip: Higher floors are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very centraly lodated on the Av liberdade. Rooms are very spacious and clean. Staff very helpfull in recomending what you need. Although it is on a very bussy stret you sleep perfect it is very quiet due to double windows. Breakfast OK served in a lobby ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Damir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Nice, boutique style hotel in a great location with friendly, informative and polite multilingual staff.
Lovely reception area with complimentary tea/coffee and a small, attractive bar area at the rear.
Rooms.
I understand what a previous poster said about the rooms not seeming to be as he expected and I understand this because I thought the same. Having thought about it as I looked around the room I think it is because the rooms have very high ceilings and the drapes are not luxurious and heavy to give you a cocoon type feel.
The bed, which was two attached together was very comfy, though three of the pillows seemed to be filled with small foam pieces which was not so good.
Great hairdryer and nice big towels, although they were not big and fluffy. But I personally do not like heavy towels as they always fall off!
Good selection of tv channels in English and four Sport tv channels.
Large sized bath robes and slippers and nice Molton Brown toiletries,though I was surprised there was no complimentary mens razor.
Easily controllable a/c and heating and a safe with a socket inside so that you can charge up your laptop/phone whilst you are out.
No problem about missing breakfast as it is until midday. The breakfast itself is adequate with a good choice of items for a small hotel.
Parking.
If you have a car please note that the car park is not in the hotel but in a covered multi storey car park round the corner from the hotel. It is best to drop off your luggage at reception then get a map from the reception to show you how to get to the car park.At the moment it is 15 euros per 24 hours.
A good base for a weekend in Lisbon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anniefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,156 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
As Janelas Verdes
#7 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Solar Do Castelo
Solar Do Castelo
#4 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Portugal
Hotel Portugal
#12 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Avenida Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Avenida Liberdade

Property: Heritage Avenida Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade, 28, Lisbon 1250-145, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#9 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Heritage Avenida Liberdade 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage Avenida Liberdade is a small boutique hotel in the historic center of Lisbon. Located at Lisbon's main avenue - Avenida da Liberdade - this 18th-century townhouse is decorated by the Portuguese architect Miguel Cancio Martins. Subject to careful rehabilitation the hotel has come back to life by dint of a project of a unique nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Heritage Avenida Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Av Liberdade Lisbon
Heritage Av Liberdade Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing