We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in new part of Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Ranked #87 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel in new part of Lisbon”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've stayed for 3 night during a seminar.
Excellent accommodation, friendly staff.
For longer stays maybe the lack of a swimming pool might be a minus but it's well compensated by all the other facilities.
Definitely top pick for further trips to Lisbon either for business or leisure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    437
    86
    22
    6
See reviews for
202
238
43
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was influenced by other travelers' opinions when I booked this hotel. It is very close to the train station and convenient to the airport, which was what we wanted. Since the Oriente is a newer area developed for the 1998 Lisbon World Exposition, we were looking forward to our stay in this area and in this hotel. I agree with other reviewers that the staff is very courteous and that the lobby area is well appointed. But that's the best I can say. Our room fell way short of expectations. The furniture was worn. The carpet needed cleaning. The bed sheet had a hole in it. Those are things I did not expect based on other reviews of this hotel. And then there was the issue with ice. There was a small ice tray in the mini-bar, but it was mostly water with a few slivers of melting ice. The top of the tray had mold on it which I cleaned off. When we asked reception for ice, we were told the cost would be €5,00. Needless to say, our experience with this hotel was disappointing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JKPhilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando C, Gerente at Hotel Olissippo Oriente, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Mr. JKPhilli,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Olissippo Oriente. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Olissippo Oriente we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

FC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I stayed in this hotel overnight before an early flight home to England from Lisbon Airport. The hotel was immaculate and the staff very friendly and helpful. Great room which was very well equipped with a lounge and separate bedroom each with their own big television. The bathroom was superb. Food in the hotels restaurant was first class and I only wish I could have stayed longer. Would definitely recommend this hotel but as for the price I couldn't comment as it was a business trip and I didn't pay. I remember the bill was a big one though :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

An ideal hotel for proximity to the airport, only 10mins taxi drive (9euros), or 3 stops on the metro (1.90euros each way) and a 5 mins walk to from the hotel. Good value, we paid £72.94 B&B. Rooms are excellent, quiet, spaceous, everything you would expect in a modern hotel, and everything worked. Breakfast was good overall but totally automated so that, for example, the coffee was from a large urn, not very hot, very murky, not very nice. If the policy is for no waiters and total automation, something as important as coffee at breakfast must be from a modern machine using freshly ground coffee. It was the same with the orange juice, some diluted concentrate, not the real thing so disappointing. A pity as the breads, pasties, etc .... were all very fresh even on the Sunday morning when we were experiencing the breakfast.
Location is 5/10 mins walk to the waterfront and a great view of the Vasco Da Gama bridge and the Burj Al Arab 'lookalike' hotel. It is a pleasant walk along the promenade with numerous restaurants, cafes, themed garden areas and a large indoor, air conditioned shopping centre.
It is NOT a hotel if you want to wander into the old historical quarter of Lisbon which is many miles away, hence the lower pricing. However the wonderful metro system so close to the hotel makes that part of the city very accessible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pensionerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We arrived at Lisbon Oriente rail station late at night, tired, with no onward travel plans and hungry. Luckily for us, a very friendly off duty receptionist from this hotel saw us on the street looking rather bedraggled and asked if we needed any help. On telling her we required accommodation she said that her hotel did have rooms a while ago. She pointed it out and wished us good luck. We were very lucky that the hotel did have rooms and at a very reasonable rate. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. I did hear a couple in a room nearby in the morning but I think they were shouting!
On checking out, the lovely helpful girl from the night before was on duty and we thanked her for her concern the previous night. A good hotel to stay at if travelling to/from Lisbon Oriente train station with very good bus/Metro links too and the airport is only 3 stops away on the Metro.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very large and confortable rooms, nice hotel.
Good location and stay especially for work, and quite near to the airport.
Lots of places to eat nearby (especially good fish restaurants), offices and a shopping center as well.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 250jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I´ve stayed for 2 days with my wife on this hotel and i was very happy for my choice.
We had room 730, with a double bed and a nice view to the river. Rooms are large and very clean, such as all the decor on the hotel very nice.
I booked the hotel directly and also due to the hotel´s nice position on Parque das Naçoes (EXPO98).
Everything is near by such as the huge shopping center Vasco da Gama, train/bus stations/metro and taxi ride of 7 euros to airport.
I would like to recommed the sushi restaurant near by,called Nagoya, delicious!!
A little tribute to the all reception desk in special (Catarina Tito) for their kindness and attention, the breakfast in the hotel is also very good and good quality. On my departure we left the hotel at 05:45 and they have arranged us some breakfast boxes to take with us, a very nice detail.
Next time to Lisbon, will book the same hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadeiraIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Olissippo Castelo
Olissippo Castelo
#42 of 248 in Lisbon
412 reviews
Parque das Nacoes
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
Tivoli Oriente Hotel
#106 of 248 in Lisbon
3,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parque das Nacoes
TRYP Lisboa Oriente Hotel
Parque das Nacoes
Ibis Lisboa Parque das Nacoes
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Olissippo Oriente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Olissippo Oriente

Property: Hotel Olissippo Oriente
Address: Avenida Dom Joao II N0 32 | Parque das Nacoes, Lisbon 1990-092, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Parque das Nacoes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#48 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#70 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Olissippo Oriente 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Olissippo Oriente is a modern four-star property located in Lisbon`s former Expo 98 site, which is now known as the Parque das Nações. Accommodation at the hotel comprises 182 rooms, including 14 suites and 1 room specially adapted for handicapped guests. On-site facilities at the Olissippo Oriente include a restaurant, bar, coffee shop with esplanade, wi-fi zones, garage parking and 5 meeting rooms. One major feature is the hotel`s very close proximity to the Lisbon Oceanarium, FIL fairground, Vasco da Gama shopping centre and the city`s new casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Olissippo Oriente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olissippo Oriente Hotel
Olissippo Oriente Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing