We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We hate tourism tours but we LOVE them.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Armazem Geral

Armazem Geral
Ranked #28 of 174 Shopping in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: A shop, that is not really a shop, where a group of Lisbon locals and non-creative people gather to talk about everything you can imagine in life, always over some food and drinking some good wine. Like an unofficial tourism office, you can always find important tips and information about the city, some art, surfboards, rent electric bikes, work using the wi-fi or spend the afternoon talking and having drinks with some locals. Armazém Geral is a reaction to the souvenir shops. In this place you will get a real feeling of what life in Lisbon is.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We hate tourism tours but we LOVE them.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Two years ago I visited Lisbon for the first time and luckily we booked a trip with WHTT. We hopped in Bruno's jeep and we fell in love... (with the city and almost with Bruno, as he was the best guide we ever had!). Now, 4 years later, I arrived in Lisbon again and this time, WHTT had a little shop/office, so my friend and I past by. The shop is funny, original, a little bit cuckoo, just as the people from WHTT :). We booked a trip again and this time Tiego took us in his van around Lisbon. I discovered new places and realised again why I like Lisbon so much. After this, we went back to the shop to buy some souvenirs, but especially to say thank you again to the WHTT-guys/girls. Because what they do REALLY makes a difference. Ofcourse it's their job and their way of making a living, but they do it with passion, with love for the city they live in, with warm hearts! So please, get over there and support them, you will not regret it! :)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Jelene-Rune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    4
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“EXTRAordinary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

We Hate Tourism Tours + the shop. A warm and beautifull welcome to Lissabon! Even when you already know the city. Being an undercover tourist in one of their cars was unforgettable! A mix of typical and non typical touristic places with plenty of information and answers to all your questions. Food and drinks which makes you smile and when you pass by the shop, for sure you will understand why these Tourism Tours Haters are EXTRA and ordinary!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rune T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We Hate Tourism Shops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

If you know We Hate Tourism Tours and like... love them!... Armazem Geral is just the place to be! No need to define what kind of place it is. Not much more to add to WHTT spirit and authenticity.
Armazem Geral is brought to us by the same team. So, be prepared... to be surprised!
No spoiler here!!! ;)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank asfix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“MUST!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is by far one of the best tours I think I have ever had, anywhere. The guys are so incredibly nice and really know so much about the places they take you! I felt so incredibly safe with them and also felt that they truly and sincerely wanted to give us the best experience possible in Lisboa, which they exceedingly accomplished. The guys really try and get to know you and make sure that you feel comfortable with everything planned for the day! They take you to AMAZING spots and let you walk around and experience the country just as the natives do. Even after the tour they are so helpful! Our tour guide wrote out many different things for us to do, to eat, and to drink while still in Portugal. This is an AMAZING company and highly recommend it to anyone. Definitely worth every dollar spent and I will definitely be back in Portugal because of "we hate tourism tour" company.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marielle d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Best Tour Company in Portugal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

My friends and I heard about the We Hate Tourism Tour from fellow students who had taken the tour the year before and said that it was an absolute must... upon taking the tour, we all totally agreed. We loved the laid-back style of the tour, the food was other-worldly, the vantage points of the city were unbelievable. We could not have asked for a better day. Although we sadly didn't get to go to the store, we are absolutely planning on coming back in a few months. After spending easily our best day in Lisboa with the friendly tour guides, how could we not? Taking a tour, visiting the store, or both are a necessity for any trip to Portugal.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Renatta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armazem Geral also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Armazem Geral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing