We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad breakfasts”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Avenida Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Avenida Park Hotel
Ranked #182 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Kielce
Level Contributor
387 reviews
241 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Very bad breakfasts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Hotel Avenida Park is close to two subway stations, allowing for easy communication. Lobby small, pleasant, helpful staff. Very small elevator. Standard Room, featuring unfortunately not very comfortable beds. Furniture old and need replacement, but kept clean. Bathroom with bath - pure. Bathroom Equipment in basic hygiene. In a small TV room. View not very pleasant - the yard. (room 206). Since the Lisbon rained, we asked the hotel about umbrellas - unfortunately they did not have them in stock. Free WiFi, got logins and passwords for the two devices. Very poor breakfast, bad rolls and cakes. Yogurt with fruit aroma. Practically there was nothing to choose in addition served only from 8

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    132
    106
    43
    20
See reviews for
71
166
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
873 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 853 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in December 2013.

The location although outside the main City Center is only a 5 min walk from Parque metro Station (although it's up a bit of a hill) and 7 or 8 from the Marquis de Pombal Metro station so if you intend using the Metro a lot the location is ideal.

Our biggest gripe was the wifi. We chose this hotel as the webpage on Hotels.com stated it was free wifi in the lobby - in fact it's 5 Euros for 24 hrs. Wifi is free in McDonald's and Starbucks etc etc and yet Hotels cling onto charging for this (And even worse lie in their advertising).

The room was ok - beds a bit hard and decor a tad spartan - but for the price this is what one would expect. Excellent TV - loads of channels - CNN, BBC news, MTV, VH1 etc etc. Bathroom was basic again but the shower was superb - never ran out of hot water and there was a bath as opposed to a shower cubicle.

One huge benefit - there were shutters which retain pitch darkness in the bedroom until one opens them in the morning. Room was cleaned while we were out for the day.

Breakfast was quite disappointing - pretty aggressive coffee from a machine, pretty poor reconstituted orange juice from a machine, bread rolls and cheese and some small cakes. OK I suppose but it's quite dull.

All in all the location was good and the room was ok. Breakfast poor and wifi costs.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for four nights in mid November. We had a twin room on the second floor, which turned out to be no problem at all. The beds were great, and had a basic bath/ shower with toilet. The only thing I didn't like in the room was that they was no facilities to make tea or coffee. But the hotel staff were good in that we could use the hot water of milk from the downstairs kitchen, but the walk down was a bit annoying. We had a buffet breakfast each morning which filled us. It was a continental breakfast, breads, croissant's, cheese, cold meat, all types of hot drinks etc. The hotel is a less than 5 minute walk away from Parc metro station. The walk down town is approx. 20 minutes or you can take the metro which is about 10 minutes.

Overall I had a fantastic time in Lisbon and recommend to everyone, the location of the hotel contributed to my amazing experience. I will defiantly visiting Lisbon soon and when I do I will be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Love2travel898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Especially TOP FLOOR rooms were great !! Amazing views !!!! Breakfast was good. Situation is truly convinient. Good value. Metro behind the hotel (MetroStop Name: PARQUE. LineColor:Azul. metrolisboa.pt

Room Tip: Try to get a TOP Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the highlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

most of the rooms are small, however they were clean and the furnishings seemed to be quite new. plenty of channels on the tv in English. some staff friendly, others quite ignorant. breakfast very basic but adequate. location - about 20 minutes walk to centre and the hotel is easily reached from the airport metro redline direct to sao sebastiao. the gulbenkian museum and the casa-museu Medeiros e almeida ( mini stately home) are both only 5-10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great location - about 15 minute walk to downtown/historic area. Close to metro, bus to airport and bus routes. Very clean with friendly, helpful staff (except for our check in - the man behind the desk was not a good representative to have to welcome guests). We were on the 6th floor (they call it the 5th) with a terrace overlooking the park. Breakfast was good - simple, continental style. We felt we stayed at a great place for a great price and would recommend it.

Room Tip: The top floor requires a walk up the final flight of stairs - elevator only goes to the floor below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinnickinnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

On the whole, the hotel was clean and tidy and the staff generally were friendly and helpful.

- The breakfast was good:
Pastries, croissant, cornflakes, coco pops, juice, coffee, bread, cheese, ham, yoghurts, jam and marmalade. However, avoid the cappuccino machine, the taste is dreadful! The filter coffee is good enough.

- The hotel is next to a couple of good restaurants if you feel like staying close for the evening and close proximity to the Parques metro gives good access to the city centre.

- They've got brand new air-con units that would be very effective in summer.

- There’s a good variety of English language TV channels.

On the downside….

- The rooms vary in size greatly. You can see this from the emergency exit plan on the door. We had the smallest, room 2, and it is too small frankly to call a double. Keep this in mind when considering the price on offer.

- There’s nowhere to put your things in the bathroom apart from a postage stamp-sized shelf under the mirror and there’s no extraction for an otherwise good shower.

- Some guests still think it’s OK to smoke in a non-smoking hotel. It was reported but we can’t tell if any action was taken. The occasional smell of smoke drifting into our room in the evening and first thing in the morning was disgusting.

Maintenance problems:

- Grout missing from some tiles.

- The main door did not fit the frame making it awkward to close and opening a big gap at the top of the door.

- The sound proofing is poor but I guess it depends who’s next door.

- The window was difficult to open and stuck one morning. It was reported to the desk but there was no proper fix forthcoming.

- To use the safe (in Room 2 at least) it’s 1.5 EUR per day. Would it really hurt to be free?

Room Tip: Avoid Room 302, 402 etc. if you have the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HardyK186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.9 mi away
Fenicius Charme Hotel
Fenicius Charme Hotel
#175 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.9 mi away
Empire Lisbon Hotel
Empire Lisbon Hotel
#164 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel AS Lisboa
Hotel AS Lisboa
#153 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#193 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Jorge V
Hotel Jorge V
#183 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lisboa Central Park
Lisboa Central Park
#191 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avenida Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenida Park Hotel

Property: Avenida Park Hotel
Address: Avenida Sidonio Pais 6, Lisbon 1050-214, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avenida Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avenida Park features air-conditioned rooms and buffet breakfast including coffee, juices and jams in a sunny breakfast room. The hotel is 170 yards from Parque Metro Station. All rooms are simply furnished and feature large windows, some of which feature panoramic views of Parque Eduardo VII. Each soundproof room has air conditioning and satellite TV. Avenida Park's multilingual staff can arrange car rentals and tours to nearby attractions. In-room dining can also be organized. Avenida is a 10 minute walk from Marques de Pombal Square and its trendy shops. Lisbon Airport is a 15 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avenida Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencia Avenida Park Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing