We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern hotel for a good price but there are issues ...”
Review of Zenit Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Zenit Lisboa
Ranked #115 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed here for one evening during a business trip to Lisbon. From the outside, it looks more of a historic hotel than a modern one, but that changes when you enter the main lobby.

NOTE -- there are stairs leading down to the main lobby (about 6) and there is a small lift to the left of the entry way. However, there are no bellmen to assist you with your luggage (at least the evening I arrived and the morning I departed). Having just come off of foot surgery, the stairs were a little challenging. The front desk clerk assisted me when I was checking in, but when I departed the next morning, no such luck since the clerks were busy with other guests.

I guess for 4-star hotel, I was expecting bellmen.

Check in was smooth and quick. My room was on the 7th floor near the elevator. Like many European hotels, the lights are motion-activated to conserve energy, although it can be a little disconcerting to step off the elevator into near darkness.

The room itself was a standard-sized room for a European hotel. The bed was comfortable and, what I really liked was that each nightstand had an outlet. For a business traveler with lots of peripherals to plug in and recharge, this was especially nice. The desk area was small but functional, and there was an outlet close to it.

The bedding was comfortable although I could have used a few more pillows. The bathroom was clean and well lit. The amenities nice as well -- including a toothbrush kit. There was also an additional outlet in the bathroom besides the one for an electric shaver. I didn't notice any mold or cracks in the vanity or tub.

There were no washcloths or bidet towels, and the holder for the toilet paper was loose. I didn't call down for washcloths or bidet towels because I was only there for one night, but it was a disappointing oversight from housekeeping.

My biggest issue came in the morning, while I was trying to get ready. Apparently, if you are inactive for a while and your key is still in the "power" switch, the electricity shuts off in the room. I woke up once to find the AC off, which made the room stuffy. Yet in the morning, when I went to turn things on, the circuit breaker flipped. At least the room had the breakers in an easily accessible part. It took about 10 minutes before I got things working again. When I mentioned it while checking out, I was dismissed as an American who didn't know how the European hotels worked.

As noted by other reviewers, the wireless internet access is spotty. I wasn't given the codes when I checked in, so I had to go downstairs for them (my hearing is poor so calling for them over the phones would have been too frustrating). I was able to get on to some sites, but not on others. It frequently timed out. As a business traveler, this was frustrating since I was trying to do emails, etc. I was surprised that the codes were not offered when I checked in.

There is a "business center" in the lobby, which are two computers.

I had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant, mostly because I was too tired from my flights to venture elsewhere. The three-course dinner was very reasonably priced at 20 euros excluding wine. The meal was very good and the service was good as well. Then again, I was the only person in the restaurant. However, I was there at 8 PM, which is an early dining time in the city.

Breakfast was kind of disappointing in the selections that were offered. There was a decent selection of fresh fruit, but the potato gratin was served cold and the scrambled eggs looked very wet. The staff was constantly refreshing the breads and pastries since those were the most popular. The orange juice I had was, while fresh, watery as if they had diluted the freshly squeezed juice. The breakfast was included in my room rate but listed as 17 euros. I would take your 17 euros elsewhere.

Overall, it was a nice stay for just a single night. A few minor things, but overall pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belasaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

203 - 209 of 808 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

Neat and tidy. Rooms very comfortable. Bathrooms very clean. Close to Rossio Square. You can either take a cab or a bus.

From the airport you can take the Aerobus which drops you veat the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CDP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at this clean and modern hotel one night during our vacation in Portugal. The rooms are not very large but large enough to be very comfortable. The furnishings are contemporary and pleasing to the eye. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are spacious and offer great amenities. The air-conditioning worked great and the rooms were quiet. Parking was easy to find on the streets surrounding the hotel although the hotel also offers garage parking. The location of this hotel is quite convenient and the area appears to be safe. Service was very good and the staff was helpful and friendly. This hotel is definitely one that we recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mianne109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

I chose the Zenit Lisboa because of the location and the free wifi they provide and it turned out to be an excellent choice. The hotel is located just outside of the city center, in a quiet avenida, and the city center and main sites are on walking distance. The Saldanha and Sao Sebastiao stations - both convenient metro line crossings - are around the corner.
The first night they had a problem with my room, so they moved me to the Vila Rica hotel 2 kms further out of the city on the same avenida. This hotel did not match my expectations. But on my request, the Zenit's kind staff compensated this inconvenience adequately with a free diner and a 50% discount on my first night's rate.
The room was quite small, but comfortable and of good value. I did not use breakfast in the hotel (12 euros is too expensive for generally cheap Lisbon) but for diner, I really would like to recommend the hotel's restaurant. It's located in the basement and therefore not very atmospheric, but the food was of good quality and prepared very carefully.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stijnv71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

What one has to say about a hotel that will not honour a reservation? On July 16th I made a reservation for a double room in the Zenit for August 13th (number 1689018). I paid € 17.52 IN ADVANCE "as a deposit" through their website which redirected me to CentralR.com. Nonetheless, when I arrived there, the hotel clerk (named Carlos) said that "unfortunately" a family couldn't leave because of a medical emergency and that I would have to move to another hotel. He offered to pay a taxi to the VIP Grand / Villa Rica where he had "everything arranged" and asked me to spend the night there and GO BACK to the Zenit the next day. I explained that this was EXTREMELY INCONVENIENT, but he insisted, stressing that it was not the Zenit's fault (well, maybe it was mine for choosing them). All the while he tried to convince me that the hotel had no
responsibility at all for the payment made to CentralR.com, although I was redirected there THROUGH Zenit's website. After a while I gave up and went
to the VIP Grand, where first they didn't have any information about Zenit's reservation and then asked me to PAY for the room there! I had to call Carlos and threaten to go back to the Zenit before he agreed to arrange things properly this time.

When we finally checked in the new hotel it was 8:30 pm. My wife was leaving a day before me early next day so we had to RUSH to at least have a dinner together in Lisbon. Well, the Vip Grand at least had the dignity to accept me for two days,
but Carlos nor anyone from the Zenit NEVER called me again to apologize or give instructions. However, they did remember to charge the full fare for the two days on my credit card, simply ignoring the time lost and the stress I went through because of THEIR fault.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Bebadosamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a business hotel in the business district, about a 15-20min walk to the Old Town. The rooms are nice and modern, and it is good value. We were first put in a smoking room, and the staff were happy to move us. There are a number of little cafe's nearby for breakfast, but not so many options for dinner. The metro is nearby. I probably would have preferred something a bit closer to the centre but you can't fault the value for money. A nice experience.

Room Tip: Request non-smoking with your booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spring_Chick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We spent one night in the Zenit Lisboa Hotel before returning home to the United States. The location is halfway between the International Airport and downtown Lisbon, in an upscale neighborhood with excellent shopping facilities including the modern mall El Corte Ingles. Also close to the famous Gulbenkian Museum. The staff were very friendly and the room was very clean. As is the custom in Europe, the room was very small but it is fine for a short stay. The hotel is relatively new and shows no signs of wear and tear. It is also only a few blocks from the Metro which gives rapid and inexpensive access to the tourist attractions in downtown Lisbon. We felt safe walking around the vicinity of the hotel even in the evening. Recommended.

Room Tip: The hotel is located on a fairly busy road but we were on the top floor and we had no problems with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyMobile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.9 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#166 of 255 in Lisbon
526 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
NH Lisboa Campo Grande
#94 of 255 in Lisbon
961 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#75 of 255 in Lisbon
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olissippo Saldanha
Olissippo Saldanha
#33 of 255 in Lisbon
678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Principe Lisboa
Hotel Principe Lisboa
#56 of 255 in Lisbon
1,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Real Parque
Hotel Real Parque
#128 of 255 in Lisbon
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zenit Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zenit Lisboa

Address: Avenida 5 de Outubro 11, Lisbon 1050-047, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#71 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#87 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#89 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $61 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zenit Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Zenit Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zenit Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Zenit Lisboa Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing