We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and clean accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residencial Joao XXI
Ranked #136 of 457 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Torino
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“cheap and clean accomodation”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

perfect accomodation if You look for a cheap, clean and safe place for sleeping; I paid only € 80,00 for a 4 nights in a single room with bathroom, air conditioning, tv and free wi-fi; the breakfast wasn't included but next to the entrance there is a "Pastelaria" where You can taste typical pastries at low prices. The reception is open 24 hours a day and all the girls are willing to help You for any kind of information. I had an interior room, 310, and I suppose that in Summer You are forced to use the air conditioning night and day but, I repeat, at this rate You cannot expect more.

Room Tip: if possible, avoid the interior rooms overlooking the back stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    119
    93
    26
    21
See reviews for
47
112
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Hotel is a bit far out from the centre, but 5 minutes walk to a metro or bus stations all around (we found it easy to get to downtown using the bus rather than having to make multiple changes on the metro). Not a lot of restaurants around, but pastry shop right next door. Bed was very uncomfortable - roll together, springs digging in, and needs a new mattress. Room was a good size, there was a desk and chair. I would only stay here again if I could get a really cheap rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kelly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights. It was a well managed one though a bit old. Hot showers were available at any time and it even has a bath tube, Location was OK. 5 minute walk from the metro. Surroundings were quiet at night. The room was big but the bed was small with dilapidated sheets. Heating was available with the air-con. Very good for the price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J Hoon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I like the hostel because has a great location (15 min walking to the center), also it is surrounding by a supermarket, chinese shops and restaurants. I like my single ensuite room, it was simple but comfortable and cheap. It has a tv. Check in is at 2 pm, but they can store your bags in a secure place, also when you leave after the check out time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was there just for one night. Everything's was fine. It's very cheap, really near to the centre of the city. At evenings it's so not so good to walk around alone, cause it feels not so safe, but during the day it's just perfect as a place to start your visit of Lisbon. I had a really big room just for me, including the bathroom. All was really clean, and the staff is really kind. Just next to the hotel there's a nice and cheap cafè, for the breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli86_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Brasov, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and it was a perfect place to sleep. You can get pretty fast in the center of the city. If you like to walk it's about 30 min. close to Restauradores metro station. It's not a very touristic area so you can find cheap food and drinks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ancabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Residencia Mar dos Acores
#227 of 248 in Lisbon
272 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Grande Pensao Residencial Alcobia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#225 of 248 in Lisbon
477 reviews
Residencial Horizonte
#190 of 248 in Lisbon
281 reviews
Residencial O Paradouro
#152 of 248 in Lisbon
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residencial Joao XXI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Joao XXI

Property: Residencial Joao XXI
Address: Rua Gomes Freire 179 1, Lisbon 1150-177, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 457 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Residencial Joao XXI 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Residencial Joao XXI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Joao Xxi Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing