We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character hotel”
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #17 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Character hotel”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This little restored 18th century hotel is in the Bairro Alto district , close to tram ( Number 28 which goes up to the castle) and easy walking distance to shopping area and major squares. The hotel has a rooftop bar overlooking Lisbon and is a great venue to view the sunset. It is open to the public so it does get busy especially on Friday & Saturday nights but the staff are always happy to advise you when a table become available. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful with booking tours and providing advice on where to go and what to see. The restaurant is very good with breakfast being continental or cooked and dinner at night is a la carte or Tapas. The hotel is also close to many restaurant and tapas bars and squares which sell beer, wine or coffee.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street maybe a little nosier especially if the windows are open but the rooms and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 139daisymiller139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    290
    55
    13
    8
See reviews for
175
710
84
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

We loved the impeccable staff, fabulous rooms, beautiful views,and comfortable beds! We could walk everywhere from the hotel and loved the rooftop bar! The view was amazing! We spend 2 nights at the Bairro Alto and can't wait to go back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We spent 3 nights in corner room 110 on the first floor overlooking the square.

The room had a very nice feel. The 2 large windows made the room feel light and airy.
We appreciated that the windows were double glazed to minimise the noise from outside (the square is a hub of activity).

We had mixed feelings about the bathroom. It was very small and cramped with very limited bench space and a clingy curtain in the shower. The bathtub, however, was great (large for a good soak).

The breakfast was enjoyable, with a mix of buffet and cooked eggs.

The free wifi was a little unreliable but OK for most part.

We enjoyed drinks in the rooftop bar one night.

We also took advantage of the valet parking (EUR 20 per night).

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The hotel has a great location. The famous tram 28 runs right past the hotel. The kiosk (cafe / bar) on the square is a fun spot to take in the atmosphere. You can walk to train station to get to belén in 10 mins. The shopping area and a few tourist sights are practically on the hotel's doorstep (not to mention lots of bars and restaurants).

We would definitely stay in this hotel again on a repeat visit to Lisbon.

Room Tip: Go for the larger corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Despite the great reviews on TA for the Bairro Alto Hotel in Lisbon, we were given a personal recommendation to spend 5 days there. Of the 365 nights in any given year, I spend around 120 of those in hotels - 60 of which are at the same hotel in the same city, and yet I have never encountered such personal, genuine and attentive service in any establishment I have ever checked in to. After a rather embarrassing issue with the reservation (my fault entirely) we were upgraded to a bright, spacious corner suite. With high ceilings, wood paneled walls, immaculate furnishings, a marble bathroom with claw-foot tub, California king bed and 6 soundproofed windows, we never wanted to leave this boutique gem of the Leading Hotels of the World group. The rooftop bar is popular yet laid-back, serving traditional small-menu hotel fare; the breakfast is generous with a more-than-adquate international variety, the location is ideal (walking distance to the buzzy bar scene in the Bairro Alto, the shopping mecca surrounding the Chiado and the charming history of the Alfama districts as well as the riverfront) but the standout feature of this understated delight is it's staff.

Room Tip: Suite 206!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GibsonHyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The Bairro Alto Hotel was great; clean, fabulous location, and knowledgeable staff. They also had an excellent breakfast buffet! My husband and I had a standard room and my parents had a suite. I would encourage anyone staying here to get the suite, because the standard room only had one window no larger than a port hole, if that. Probably because the building is so old. I like natural light so this was annoying, but did not affect by stay. Just my opinion. However, the bathroom space is excellent and clean! As is the room - bed is great too!

The hotel really is in the best location. We walked everywhere! If you like shopping, it is in a great area - all types of stores. Truly excellent.

Room Tip: Get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank on2thenext1-SM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This place has had some great PR - so much that it was on my hit list of places to go. In reality, this hotel has cleverly made use of a small space on the 6th floor and turned it into a roof terrace. It's nice, but nothing to write home about. Even on the blowy and chilly afternoon we visited, we were lucky to get a small spot and then the order didn't arrive for about 25 minutes - they forgot it! However, the drinks come with welcome nibbles and it is a great people watching place - if you can fit in!

Much nicer roof terrace is the one at Hotel Altis Avenida - lovely space and great cocktails but it doesn't face the river so we guessed that's why it isn't so popular. But it will get the sun longer into the evening so my recommendation would be to try there! Cheers.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhonatempler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Really enjoyed a comfortable and luxurious four night stay at this lovely hotel.
We chose this hotel for a city break in Lisbon and were very glad we did so.
There is lot of choice in Lisbon - flamboyant, modern, high rise and so on. We wanted something smaller and not high rise, with character but not too overstated. The Bairro Alto fitted the bill exactly.
The location was spot on also - in a fashionable, older and charming part of the Lisbon within walking distance of the major sights and good restaurants. The square outside the hotel was great for sitting, chilling and people watching, but not too busy. It was easy to get buses, trams and cabs from just outside the hotel but we didn’t need to as we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go.

The bedroom was extremely well appointed with a very large and comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom. Everything was provided including a power adaptor and safe containing an electrical point for charging laptops and devices - excellent! This is the only hotel I can remember staying in that has a window in the bathroom which made it light and inviting to use (our bedroom was on the second floor). Loved the wonderful soft monogrammed towels and pillow cases. It was also very quiet because of the triple glazing. Everything in the room and bathroom was top quality which gave us the five star feeling. We loved the unique decor which was quite different to any other hotel we’ve stayed in.

The café on the roof has a glorious panoramic view of Lisbon and the river and serves tasty, if rather expensive, snacks and drinks. Excellent - not to be missed.

The staff were helpful and courteous, especially in the restaurant at breakfast. The reception staff were reasonably knowledgeable, but perhaps need to be a little more keyed up on exactly what ’s on offer. For example, we were glad to hear that we could purchase a two day tour bus ticket for just a few Euro more that the one day one but then later found out that this didn’t allow us on the tram. However, we were well taken care of from the beginning of our stay, when we were immediately shown to our room, to the end, when reception staff insisted on stopping a cab to take us to the airport. They even printed out and delivered our boarding passes to our room for us.
We didn’t eat at the hotel because we wanted to experience the real Portugal, but the breakfast was very good with hot options made to order and a very friendly and efficient waiting staff. Thank you Andria (Portuguese version- sorry if I spelled it wrong), my namesake, for making us smile each morning! The maid and turndown service was very efficient and the room spotlessly clean. We really appreciated the monogrammed chocolate and card left each night on our pillow.

We had a really comfortable stay at this lovely hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wants something smaller, older with character and a luxurious feel. It is a hotel that we would not hesitate to return to.

Oh and we really enjoyed the friendly, relaxed. multicultural and youthful buzz of Lisbon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
572 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
2,703 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#18 of 248 in Lisbon
1,512 reviews
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Property: Bairro Alto Hotel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing