We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Epic stay! This is the only place to stay in Lisbon! ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #17 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Epic stay! This is the only place to stay in Lisbon! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

What can I say-- best location, amazing staff --Numo was fabulous and rest of front desk, staff for breakfast, crystal on roof top bar! All lovely and memorable. Rooms were perfect -- spacious, charming, great mattresses! Location is ideal for bairro alto, chiado, water front, shopping, eating, drinking and they make great recommendations! So nice, smiling, helpful! Boss should give them a raise! Seriously we just had best weekend! Roof top bar is cherry on top!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    268
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
152
641
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The room was very comfortable, and beautifully decorated. The bathroom was small but very well designed so that it was easy to get ready in. The staff were very helpful and came up with great suggestions for where to eat in Lisbon. The roof terrace has fantastic views, and we enjoyed a casual lunch and good wine whilst taking them in. We also had a delicious meal at the Flores do Bairro restaurant attached to the hotel one evening. I would definitely return to this hotel if in Lisbon again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NonsuchMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mettmann, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed together with my wife from 30.12.13 - 01.01.14 at Bairro Alto Hotel and we treated ourselfes to a nice suite, considering the special time of the year. We have been impressed by the genuine friendliness of the hotel staff which helped us in the most courteous and professional way to find a dinner reservation in a nice seafood restaurant at New Years Eve. It is important to realize that a lot of restaurants don't give reservations for this time of the years as it's first come, first serve only. The hotel is very centrallly located in the heart of the Bairro Alto district, walking distance to bars, restaurants and Fado places. You can also walk to Tejo and Praca do Comercio in less then 15 minutes. Valet parking service will take care of your car or you can use the public underground parking across the hotel. The roof top terrace of the hotel gives you a spectacular view of the Tejo and the surrounding Bairro Alto. Friendly staff always around. The room has been very nice and comfortable, also extremely quiet despite the central location and the old, electric street cars passing by. The interiour designer of the room did a bang-up job creating a pleasant, detail orientated style in the room which mixed contemporary and styles of the past. Price: A bit on the high side but it reflected the time of the year, I guess. Again, staff friendliness has been outstanding and I will always come back once I stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estrangeiro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
278 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

An incredible location, beautiful hotel, great food, excellent service and fantastic rooms. Breakfast is delicious and attentive, the front desk staff are knowledgeable and keen to assist. And don't get me started on the roof-top bar... heaven!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terrymlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

For a five star property I was surprised how small the hotel was
however it made up for it in service, and room comfort.
Having stayed in 5* I would not agree with the rating, this is a good 4* property
Location is superb, rooms are up to usual Portuguese standard, not big, but not small, bed comfy, staff very friendly and helpful, breakfast very good.
If you are looking for a city break this could be a good one on your short list

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richiev2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Factory, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is great for traveling couples or groups of adults who are interested in urban life in a nicer, historic part of Lisbon. Although a bit pricey, they have excellent service, decent to above average amenities and a good breakfast spread.

The rooftop bar is a must. A bit overpriced but the view is great. The club in the basement has good bartenders but it's usually embarrassingly empty.

Some people commented about the staff being rude to the olds, but my wife and I never received that. Then again, we're not old yet. Hopefully it's not true.

HOWEVER, MY WIFE AND I WERE OUTRAGED WHEN WE FOUND OUT THAT PEOPLE HAD SEX IN THE HOTEL.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

I'd been expecting to be underwhelmed by the size of our room, based on reviews here, but our superior room was actually a fine size for our four-night stay, plus it was nicely decorated and extremely clean. The room was surprisingly and blissfully quiet given the hotel's location right on the busy square (we actually faced the side street Flores ). The bathroom was large and featured beautiful yellow marble. There should have been more bathroom storage space, however.

The hotel's location is outstanding, especially if you plan on spending time in Bairro Alto and/or Chiado, which are pretty central for most tourists. Service was great, and the front-desk guys were jovial and fun. We used the ground-floor restaurant for breakfast only, which was fine but nothing spectacular. Didn't make it to the rooftop bar. The ground-floor bar has an odd split-level layout (which resulted in a bartender assuring us that he'd bring drinks to us upstairs and then forgetting us for a half-hour).

There were a handful of other minor service hiccups, plus the lobby is quite small and the check-in desk is tucked back in a corner hallway. But those are minor issues. We'd definitely stay here again on a future trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank denver_mg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Property: Bairro Alto Hotel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing