We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location,location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bairro Alto Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bairro Alto Hotel
Ranked #17 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Location location,location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel was in a nice central location in the heart of the shopping and dinning.It also has a beautiful roof top terrace,although the service up there was very very slow.They also let non-hotel guests up on the terrace so it is hard for the hotel guest to get a table.The lobby has no place to gather or sit.The hotel rooms are quite small and not somewhere you want to spend a lot of time, and the wood platform bed was not comfortable. As for the "20-something" aged staff, no one was there when we arrived, and we struggled just to get the hotel door open and our luggage through. The square is full of drug-dealers and pickpockets, and the police don't seem to care.The front deck staff upon check in was some what condescending,and so was the staff on the terrace. This place is more for the younger set, who don't care if it takes time for service, because they are just so happy to be in Portugal. As far-more experienced travelers, we care about service with a smile, not snide little commits.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcdh4561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    268
    49
    11
    7
See reviews for
152
641
75
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourdeaux, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We didn't like the area, but is close to every place in town, We walked everywhere except Belem. netx time we'll prefer to stay near marques. The main reason were the constant drug sellers that are in Chiado and baixa

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

but if you'e over 40-45+, then I believe the Four Seasons Ritz would be a better choice. I thought the Ritz was in a poor location but seeing it on tour made me realize, we would have been happier there. This hotel was geared for a younger crowd and while the young staff seemed eager to please, there were occasional comments that they may not have appreciated sounded snide to someone over 40 (or perhaps they were aware of it and really are aiming to attract the under 40 set). Unlike what we read in other reviews, there was no one to greet us when our cab arrived and we struggled to get the luggage into the hotel. The room smelled musty and was on the small side. The platform bed was not kind to those with back problems. We loved the rooftop terrace bar but it was always crowded and is not reserved for hotel guests. Moreover, the service was slow but the views are nice although I agree that they could get rid of the music. I didn't find the hotel noisy and it is in a great location if one wants lots of nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCViator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel. Very centrally located. Comfortable and well decorated rooms with large windows, great beds and crisp linens. our bathroom was terrific too....a big clawfoot tub, a separate shower and separate toilet cabinet...all beautifully tiled. Roof terrace has great views but be advised it can get crowded at times. We will be back next year for a few days...Lisbon is fun!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugalex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed in Lisbon for 10 days. We moved hotels so that we could learn and explore another neighborhood of the city — Bairro Alto. We stayed at a boutique hotel on the top of Rue Garret in Chiado across from Praca Luis de Comões and called (appropriately) the Bairro Alto hotel. I would absolutely recommend this hotel. It is much smaller than our previous hotel, the rooms are nice, the service fantastic albeit with less staff, and the view from the small rooftop bar over Lisbon is one of a kind.

see http://dainehring.com featured posts for more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

of course the location is right in the center of the city and the roof terrace is amazing. The staff is perfect. Cool and helpful at the same time. The breakfast was very ggod and up to highest expectations. But some negative aspects still. First, the rooms are very nicely decorated but they are small. We were in a superior double room. It looked over the street. No view, a feeling of narrowness which doesn't help you to feel like staying in the room more than necessary. Furthermore, you don't really know where to relax in the common areas of the hotel. No space to chill out downstairs. You don't want to stay at the bar too long because it's small and kind of uncomfortable. So the second option is to go upstairs on the roof but there it might be hard to find a seat because there are lot of people from the hotel but also from outside and they put a horrible lounge music which damages the tranquillity of the terrace. You wish there were no background music to enjoy the view quietly. Plus, the wifi was expensive, irregular and very hard to connect to. To sum up a fine experience but a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leonard75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Hotel was amazing. Nicely decorated, friendly staff, perfect service, great location. The windows manage to block out much of the noise at night allowing for a good night sleep even in this prime location. Front desk staff was more than willing to help with directions, dinner reservations, etc. Breakfast is also lovely. Roof top terrace has a lovely view but go early- before 5pm, or be prepared to wait. Hotel guests are not given seating priority. Great place to stay- would go back in a moment!

Room Tip: Corner room has terraces overlooking square. Great breezes when doors are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
Britania Hotel
#2 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olissippo Lapa Palace
#9 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pousada de Lisboa
Pousada de Lisboa
#24 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bairro Alto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bairro Alto Hotel

Property: Bairro Alto Hotel
Address: Praca Luis de Camoes 2, Lisbon 1200-243, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#54 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Bairro Alto Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fashionable Bairro Alto district, the traditional heartland of intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries, Bairro Alto Hotel is Lisbon's first contemporary boutique hotel.Capturing the indomitable spirit of exploration that pervades Lisbon, a city long associated with explorers, traders and settlers, Bairro Alto Hotel both embraces the Portuguese architectural tradition, while respectively turning it on its head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Bairro Alto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bairro Alto
Bairro Alto Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing