We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bairro Alto Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corpo Santo Lisbon(Lisbon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,417)
Filter reviews
1,417 results
Traveler rating
1,011
321
60
16
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
321
60
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barbairro altocamoes squareleading hotels of the worldboutique hotelbusy squareoverlooking the squareperfect locationhotel guestssuperior roomoutstanding hotelrooms are smallbars and restaurantstagus rivertop floora wonderful staybreakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
721 - 726 of 1,417 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lisbon in April was a fantastic break from the snow and rain in England! Weather was fab and as soon as we were in a cab driving through Lisbon en route to bairro alto I knew we were going to have an amazing stay. The hotel roof terrace us an absolute must, and breakfast in the restaurant was also perfect. Only thing I mark them down for is that wi-fi is an added extra, and there is no pool! However we will be returning ASAP!

Room Tip: Fourth floor! We had a little balcony!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charliefarley99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel one night - the last of our stay in Portugal - but we loved this hotel. It's beautiful! The rooms are spacious and modern. I can't say enough about our bathroom and shower, they were exquisite (and we stayed in a standard room). We didn't eat at the restaurant, but the rooftop bar has amazing views and decent bar fare. It does fill up fast, so go early. But having drinks on the rooftop was the perfect end to our stay in Portugal.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, even as we were leaving at 5 am to catch our flight. The location was perfect, it's within walking distance of bars, restaurants, trams and the metro. My only (very minor) complaint is the 30 minute limitation of free wifi in the business lounge. Bottomline, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Camoes Square may get noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisabee39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to Lisbon for the UEFA semi finals to support our team so only stayed in this beautiful hotel for one night. But the location, incredible staff and the magnificient terrace bar really got us. Also the rooms were very nice and cute, nothing was missing. I highly recommend this warm and beautiful hotel if you are going to stay in Lisbon.

Room Tip: 5th floor is the best.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ogunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Bairro Alto Hotel as the name says is located in the top of the hill at Camoes Square at the Chiado area of Lisbon. Very good location at a walking distance of the historic center and other relevant touristic areas of Lisbon. You also find nice restaurants and cafes nearby it. The Hotel itself is old but well kept. The rooms are small but nice. The restaurant Flores is poor and small to the size of the hotel. But the bar on the top is very good with a nice 360º view of Lisbon. It is a Leading Hotel but not at the same level of other hotels of LHW.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OASette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAH_Manager, General Manager at Bairro Alto Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Mr. OASette,

Greetings from Lisboa.
Thank you for your review.

In fact the hotel is not old. The builing is ancient but Bairro Alto Hotel is pretty much brand new, with only 8 years old, but as the comfort of our guests is of paramount importance to us, we have decided - last December and January - to close the hotel for total restoration and conservation works. We have also acquired new TV's, new matresses, new rugs, furniture and woden floor restoration, staff intensive trainning, etc.

We are quite sorry you found our Restaurant poor and small in syze, but the heritage of being an historical building and a Lisbon and European prestige landmark with over 200 years old do not allow the spaces of a modern building and modern architecture. But again, with our last winter 2 month conservation works we gave a totally refurbished and new restaurant to this award wining boutique hotel and even increased seating capacity.

Kind regards,
Jorge Cosme
Bairro Alto Hotel - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel has almost uniformly good qualities with just a few downsides. Their strong suit is the amazing staff. Most of the staff is on the young side which usually means trouble, but not here. They are both professional and friendly, without being inappropriately familiar. They remember you and greet you by name throughout your stay. They were knowledgable about restaurants, sightseeing and transportation. Be sure to try the restaurant and the rooftop bar. The rooftop bar gets filled to capacity quite easily so go up early. We went twice and never got a seat, but did take a quick look at the view.

The location of the hotel is a good news/bad news story. The good news is that it is near the water, and lots of shops and restaurants. You can walk to many things. The bad news is that the plaza just outside seems to be a favorite late night spot for people who like to bang on drums and to engage in animated discourse (yelling). Nothing a set of earplugs wouldn't cure. So if you are sensitive to noise, call the hotel and see if there are any demonstrations, football games etc that are likely to draw a noisy crowd during your stay. It may be a constant issue, but I cannot be sure since I was only there 3 days. Rooms could be freshened up a bit, but no real issue with that. Mentioned only for the sake of accuracy.

Room Tip: Call hotel and ask about rooms as far from the plaza as possible if you cannot tolerate noise. Or just use some foam earplugs.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OB1canOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews